We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stimulating and original”

Anselm's Kitengela Hot Glass
Ranked #11 of 44 Shopping in Nairobi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Kitengela Glass split into two separately owned glass companies 20 years ago. Anselm's glass blowing studio. Kitengela Hot Glass, (with 28 years of expertise) in the planetarium dome makes blown & cast items, beads, lighting and architectural installations in an eco-friendly environment next to the Nairobi National Park. He also has a small cafe serving snacks, coffee and juices. Alternatively Nani's company offers stained glass, occasional rudimentary glass blowing, accommodation and animals. A visit to both companies is recommended, as they have very different ethos and products. The road is all weather, but rocky. Tarmac has been promised - we wait with bated breath. Welcome!
Reviewed January 3, 2013

although not easy to reach (we got briefly stuck in mud and had a long stretch of terrible road) this blast of creativity was a highlight of our Nairobi visit. It is really a theme park of playful art, with 36 artisans in various crafts taking full advantage of the freedom to dream. Probably chaotic for some people, but constantly surprising and full of goodies. Gorgeous location. Like falling into the brain of a hyperactive imaginer. Unique and cool.

1  Thank twisted?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 62 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Not only are the products sold here amazing and diverse (from ash trays to ornate chandeliers), but the setting is awe-inspiring and it includes the most ornate latrine you'll ever see / use. Wander the grounds, buy some souvenirs and be sure to cross the bridge!

Thank margaretelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great if you are interested in learning about glass blowing. The furnace and workshop is open for a tour and demonstrations.
However, the trip to get there is long, rough and dusty. Not sure if the area is in a very safe location as quite off the beaten track.
We visited with our children and not a good idea as breakable glass products everywhere, combined with the long drive made for a very stressful day out.
The products are lovely though and handmade. I would suggest to visit their shops instead to buy these, bear in mind they are fragile so not the best souvenirs!

Thank v s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm's Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thanks for your visit and kind comments.
The last 3.5km of the trip is indeed bumpy and dusty, but we are aware of a contract issued to repair it within the next year, at least to good smooth dirt status. We have daily community police vehicle patrols, a local police post and administration police in our neighbouring village.
We are also revamping our toilet facilities (finally) to a deluxe level, and have recently completed a picnic/seating area.
With regard to children, we regularly host school trips without any mishaps (so far!).
By the way - the window glass we use to make our products is surprisingly strong, and we've successfully shipped all over the world. We'll be happy to 'export pack' whatever you like. Even the largest and most ornate chandeliers and tables can be dismantled for transport.
Warm regards, Anselm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This was my 6th trip to Kenya and I had never really thought about visiting the glass centre, I do not know what I had been waiting for. Here is a perfect day- lunch at Rolf's which over looks Nairobi National park- incredible views, great food and then you can walk over to the Glass factory, it is great walk (have your car meet you at the glass factory).

There is so much creativity in this place! Much more interesting than I would have thought!

We followed this with a trip to the ostrich centre for some ostrich riding :)

2  Thank Jacquilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm's Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2016

Thanks very much for the visit and review - sorry it took me so long to respond. Warm regards, Anselm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

WOW!! Getting to the factory is a mini safari, the "road" has to be one of the worst I have ever driven on so be prepared. You are rewarded with a visit that can only be described as like being inside an artists imagination. A workshop and shop where children are actively encouranged to get up to the first floor by climbing a rope, everything is made of glass and pottery, strange shapes and colours are everywhere, it was great. If you think of the trip as part of the adventure you will have a really fun trip.

1  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anselm's Kitengela Hot Glass also viewed

 

Been to Anselm's Kitengela Hot Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing