We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly, cheap & the wi-fi works” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hibiscus Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hibiscus Guest House
Ranked #23 of 235 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Friendly, cheap & the wi-fi works”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a small guest house in a converted bungalow with 7 or 8 rooms, most of them en-suite. It's just off the Ngong Road and well located for the Kilimani/Hurlingham area, with loads of places to eat in the immediate area - cafes and sushi within 3 mins walk at the Greenhouse mall and the adjacent Adams arcade, the food court at Prestige Plaza (10 mins), and various restaurants on nearby residential roads.

The building is perhaps 50 years old but well maintained with most of the original fittings (parquet floors, Shanks sinks and taps, metal bathtubs). The big selling point are the staff, who are really welcoming and friendly. I also found the wi-fi to be fast and reliable, and when the power goes off they quickly get the generator going. Breakfast is fairly basic with instant coffee, local cereals and a cooked option to order. The price is very competitive and perhaps 25% lower than other guest houses of this standard. They also have a taxi driver permanently on site who does airport runs, and he's friendly and drives safely.

My reason for giving a 4-star rating instead of 5-star is mainly due to the hot water arrangements. There is no central heater and each shower has an overhead instant heater. These don't seem to be powerful enough to heat the water when on full flow, so you have to 'throttle back' the tap if you want the water to be anything more than luke warm (and then you have a meagre shower but hotter). Meanwhile there is no hot water at all in the sinks, which makes shaving a bit rough. I also think a Kenyan hotel should serve real Kenyan filter coffee, but that's partly a personal preference.

Overall the friendliness, price and location make this a great base.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Africahand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
11
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel accommodation can be expensive in Nairobi, but Hibiscus Guest House offers a clean, comfortable, less expensive alternative with a wonderful, friendly staff and free WiFi throughout the premises (both in the common spaces and in the bedrooms). The guesthouse is located in Kilimani, which is a little ways from the Central Business District, but it is easy to get into town by bus or taxi (the guesthouse staff will also help you with this if you ask), and the Green House, Yaya Center and Prestige Plaza are all within walking distance and offer grocery shopping, restaurants, shops and a cinema. The location is also quiet and secure. I had hot water every time I showered and slept warmly even in chilly early August. I will definitely be back if I get the chance to return to Nairobi soon!

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 are outside of the main house but have little refrigerators and TVs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GcmT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed at the Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast in July. It was very cold then, and while most hotels use duvets, the Hibiscus has blankets. The extra blanket provided was soft and warm and also very clean as was all their linen.

I enjoyed the space in their rooms and also the peace and quiet in the compound. Hibiscus has a serenity about it which makes it an ideal place for anyone who hates noise and crowds. The food is nice and made as you like it. I had a really nice tomato soup one night; thick, hot and filling. The staff is also courteous and attentive to guests. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Book early if you want your own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the comfort of the guesthouse and very friendly non-stop service of Phyllis and her team. A garden of Eden in the middle of bustling Nairobi. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

B&B's are my fave places for accommodation, and Hibiscus came highly recommended. Very good service and, for me, most important was that it provided a peaceful environment: garden setting and on a side street away from the bustle of the city. The rooms are comfortable and quiet and the location is a safe brisk walk away from attractions and restaurants. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimmeeCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have stayed at Hibiscus a number of times when needing somewhere for a few days in Nairobi. The staff are lovely and very friendly, the rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Its much nicer than anonymous hotels, and the garden is pleasant to sit in if you need to do some work or reading. Good value given Nairobi prices. Breakfast is ok with eggs to order.

Walking distance to the Yaya centre for shopping and restaurants.

Make sure your taxi driver knows the side street it is in, as not all can find it right away.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms in the main house instead of the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I'm not sure why my experience of Hibiscus differs so much from other reviewers. Maybe because we were arriving at 10 pm and leaving at 7am, we were given an unrepresentative room, but room we were given, although large was very scruffy and expensive what the standard provided. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom adequate.

Communication was excellent when arranging our room and our pick up and drop off at the airport were very smooth.

The staff were very friendly.

Breakfast was extremely limited.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim_H_from_Lincs_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Ndemi Place
#50 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
Amber Hotel
#20 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Godial's Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 235 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Guest House

Property: Hibiscus Guest House
Address: 195 Kirichwa Road | P.O. Box 47663, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hibiscus Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Guest House is a comfortable and refreshing place offering the business,leisure and family traveler all contemporary comforts at an affordable rate. We are located in a serene neighborhood near Yaya Centre, Prestige Plaza, Junction Mall, Java House and many more. Rooms are clean, fresh and comfortable with unique aesthetic appeal specifically designed for guest comfort. We have family room with connecting door. We have 24hr security, electronic safes in the rooms. There is one large beautiful room that can host a group of between 4-6 traveling together at a discounted rate and with shared bath. The place is ideal for guests looking for a quiet environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hibiscus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing