We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Felt like home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hibiscus Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hibiscus Guest House
Ranked #23 of 235 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Felt like home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Phyllis and her staff will make you feel like the Hibiscus is your home while in Nairobi! It's on a quiet street within a short walk of Ngong Road, one of the main thoroughfares in the city. The house is lovely with a large lounge area, dining room, and extensive gardens for relaxing. The bedrooms are simple but neat, with clean bathrooms. There is also free wifi available.

Breakfast is nice and filling, with eggs, sausage, and an assortment of cereals, fruits, juice, coffee, and tea. I was travelling with two friends, and all three of us arrived in Nairobi at different times. I arranged separate taxi pickups from the airport for all three of us and everything went off without a hitch.

It's the staff though that really make the Hibiscus shine. Everyone there was so friendly and helpful and made our short stay in Nairobi so memorable. Asante sana!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
11
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

What a truly wonderful staff. This place makes you feel more like family than like a paying guest. I highly recommend it - and the prices and internet are also really great!

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank losglobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed at Hibiscus for about 2 and a half weeks during a business trip to Nairobi, and it suited my needs perfectly. The wi-fi at Hibiscus is great and you have free access to it anywhere inside the house. Breakfast is fantastic, with some combination of eggs, sausage, pancakes and fresh fruit, usually served, as well as tea , coffee, etc. For meals, there's a great restaurant called Katanazi right across the street (the back patio is nicest) or even better, get Sos, the chef, to cook for you. He made dinner for me almost every night and it was delicious, butternut squash soup, beans and rice, chicken and chips..it was all very good. The best part about Hibiscus really is the staff, they are so devoted to their jobs and always happy to help any way they can. Over the course of my time at Hibiscus, I have come and gone a bit, so I've stayed in 3 different rooms. I thought all of them were great. The rooms are clean and well maintained, and I felt perfectly at home in each of them. Each of the staff members has been lovely to meet. On this trip alone, I've stayed in 4 different hotels throughout Kenya (Nairobi and Western Province) and I can honestly say that Hibiscus has been the nicest experience of all of them, and I would recommend it to anyone wanted a clean room and great quality at an affordable price.

Room Tip: My favourite room was the pink room with the 4 poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duketravelcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangui
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Everyone is entitled to their opinion, however, I do believe that the other posts extolling the Hibiscus Guest House are "plants" purposefully written to shield the truth about the accommodations. My husband and I were to stay at Hibiscus before going on safari. As we were arriving at different times, we had arranged airport transportation for each of us. The taxi driver never showed at either time causing much confusion and worry.

After hiring a taxing from the airport and arriving at Hibiscus, I was was very much underwhelmed by the accommodations. The house is quite dated and thus gives of the impression of being unclean. There are spots on the carpet, holes in the ceiling, sparse furnishings and the bathroom looks like a public bathroom of an out of the way gas station on a lonely road.

While Hibiscus may be located in Kilimani, it is very much out of the way and off the beaten path making it difficult for taxi drivers to find and not easy to walk to local amenities such as restaurants and shopping.

I would not recommend this place to other travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sweets8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Hibiscus Guest House for 2 nights, as we were entering and leaving Kenya. Both rooms were very clean, the beds comfortable, and the staff is very accommodating and helpful. On the way in, we had a very early flight out the next morning and had to be at the airport by 5:30 a.m. However, Phyllis, the manager, got up early and had breakfast waiting for us at 4:30, despite being up after 10:00 p.m. the night before to greet us when we arrived. On our return visit, we had a day in Nairobi before our flight back home. We went downtown and walked around a bit, but decided to return to the Hibiscus house and just sit in their pleasant yard and enjoy the peace and quiet for a few hours. They also provided storage for our luggage and allowed us to use their facilities to change before leaving for the airport, even though it was late afternoon and well beyond the typical "check out" time. They even asked if we wanted to take a shower one last time before leaving! Overall this is a great place to stay and also a great value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillfromMichigan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webuye, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in January 2012 for a night. We flew into Nairobi late at night and had another flight out the next afternoon, so we stayed here for a night during our stopover. We were so impressed with everything about this location. The staff was incredibly friendly and went out of the way to do everything for us. The room was perfect, and a nice bed and warm shower were just perfect after several hours of flight from the US. The breakfast the next morning was just perfect. Overall, it was a great, great location that I am recommending to all my friends/family who need a place to stay in Nairobi. The staff alone make the place amazing - thank you for your warm welcome and for all you did for us!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linköping, Ostergotlands Lan, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights while traveling from Sweden to the west of Kenya in December 2011. It was a wonderful 2 nights and even though I were just passing Nairobi, Hibiscus Guesthouse had a really good impression on me. The staff is very friendly, the food was great and the location of the guesthouse is ideal for reaching JK international airport fast!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Ndemi Place
#50 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
Amber Hotel
#20 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Godial's Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 235 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Guest House

Property: Hibiscus Guest House
Address: 195 Kirichwa Road | P.O. Box 47663, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hibiscus Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Guest House is a comfortable and refreshing place offering the business,leisure and family traveler all contemporary comforts at an affordable rate. We are located in a serene neighborhood near Yaya Centre, Prestige Plaza, Junction Mall, Java House and many more. Rooms are clean, fresh and comfortable with unique aesthetic appeal specifically designed for guest comfort. We have family room with connecting door. We have 24hr security, electronic safes in the rooms. There is one large beautiful room that can host a group of between 4-6 traveling together at a discounted rate and with shared bath. The place is ideal for guests looking for a quiet environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hibiscus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing