We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rolf's Place

Rolf's Place
Ranked #316 of 465 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
173 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

If you are going to Kitengela Glass factory then Rolf's is pretty much the only place nearby to eat. So, it's also the best ...haha... for the cost of things quality was a little disappointing and sometimes they don't have things available -not surprising, it is so remotely located I am not sure how they stay open. However out of the two times we have been there it's been a mixed reaction -half the meals are pretty good and the other half are so-so. Service is fine. I just would never go out of my way to eat here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KTrigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    20
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Be Transported to Another World”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

You park your car and walk across a gorge on a (slightly) swaying suspension bridge, to the hotel. The restaurant is on a windswept verandah that overlooks the gorge you've crossed on your way in and then further ahead, the Nairobi National Park.
The restaurant is a few kilometres outside town, so it's best for lunch on weekends. The service is a bit slow but you probably wouldn't mind that given the gorgeous view. The food is a bit above average.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NirmalyaKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what I expected”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was excited to be invited to a special dinner here but found the food to be very disappointing. The waiters did not get our order correct, the food that was ordered was so tough it was inedible. Many of the menu items we were told were not available. The waiters started clearing the placemats off the table before we had finished eating which was rude.
I am sorry I went. And the road to this restaurant is very rough. Overall a terrible experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from dinner with a business group at Rolf's. The entire experience was a terrible disappointment. Starting with the road to Rolf's. The paved roads in and around Nairobi are bad, twice as bad in Rongi. Unpaved roads are often nearly impassable. The unpaved road to Rolf's is impassable if you care about your vehicle at all. A washboard road with foot deep potholes. It's foolish to put a vehicle through that for such poor results.

The service staff was reasonably attentive, though they never asked to refill drinks, but placing our orders was slow, waiting for the food to be delivered was long, 45 minutes or so. Then one of our group of 11 did not get his order, nothing special, until most others were finished. The staff was completely confused. The fillet was tough, filled with inedible gristle, the steamed vegetables and dollop of mashed potatoes were simply nasty!

After what seemed to be an unreasonably long time the table was slowly cleared. There was a nice desert selection, but when the waiter came around to take orders we were told only two of the choices were available. We chose the chocolate cheesecake, which was served WARMED! We have never had warmed cheesecake. No matter, one small bite and the plate was pushed back, not worth lifting a fork for. Very, very, bad!

Suffice to say, out first visit will be our last! Save yourself! Stay away!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappoinment Galore”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The only good thing about this place is the location, the wooden bridge that brings chills to your body and the ambiance. As for the food and service, i wouldn't advice anyone to go there. I took my party there and that was the worst experience i have had in my life. The waiter took long to notice that we there and when they finally did he tried to get us drunk. Bringing us drinks that we hadn't ordered for. When it came to meat, they served us half what we ordered and upon raising concerns, we were literally abused by both the waiters and their supervisors, it had to take top management intervention to sort this out. I wouldn't advice anyone to go there much less take their party there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Acy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rolf's Place also viewed

 

Been to Rolf's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing