We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“an oasis in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Hill Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Upper Hill Campsite
Save
You added Upper Hill Campsite to your Saves list
Ranked #54 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“an oasis in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Upperhill is a fantastic place to stay when in Nairobi. Whether you pitch your tent (which you can do on some super cool raised platforms), rent one of the little cabins (we stayed two nights in one, comfy bed, outlet for charging stuff, little porch, sweet) or grab a bed in the dorm, you can't go wrong. Upperhill has all the amenities you'll need. Hot water all more morning and all evening, WIFI, great restaurant (really nice burger for anyone needing a gut-buster fix) and an awesome little bar, The Drunken Geko.
Owners Jessi and Rich can help you find or do anything in Nairobi or further out in Kenya. Transport to/from the airport available and they can set up taxis and half-day/all-day car hire. They set up a full-day car and driver for us and we had a ball cruising around the city with our driver Eddie, he showed us all the sites and went out of his way to make sure we had a good time.Their staff are all friendly, helpful and ready to assist.
We found Upperhill relaxing, quiet and super affordable. Will definitely be back the next time we're in Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    20
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
17
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The location is somewhat away from central Nairobi but it makes up for it by being a place where people can feel safe and comfortable in Africa. The dorms are ok, can be a little cramped and dark but the tents are surprisingly cosy. Traveling to and from the site can be a little troublesome, it's either a taxi (Not cheap) or minibus. And the jams on the way to city central can be terrible.
Food is good, and beer is available. Also a nice lounge area too and Jessi, she is wonderful. She gives great advice and the staff are always kind and helpful.
Toilets are sometimes a little messy but TIA (This is Africa!)
I found the dogs adorable though, but it can be a little disconcerting to guests who are probably not used to 3 or 4 big sized dogs coming up to you.

Room Tip: If you were alone, just take a tent, more privacy although the toilet facilities can be a little inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennethSeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

About three weeks ago I had a night's stop over in Nairobi before a journey to Mombasa so myself and my two friends decided to give Upperhill a call and see if they had a room. We got Jessi and she was super helpful with directions and offering to send a taxi for us. When we arrived we were all amazed (having come from living with the Masai for two months it was serious luxury!) and even though the kitchen was about to close they agreed to stay open late and prepare us dinner. Jessi gave us tons of advice for Mombasa and before she went off to bed she gave us a slip of paper with numbers for accommodation, her favorite taxi driver and a restaurant she'd recommended where you have to book. We left a big bag in storage for our trip and promised we'd be back to stay again before one of my friends flew back to England the following week. After our amazing stay in Mombasa we were more than happy to go back and again chatted with Jessi, Rich and Jessi's brother for the evening. Jessi told us we should go down on the following Friday for a big night out (my last night in Kenya) and after our amazing times there so far we decided it was worth it to head down again. Unfortunately Jessi was too sick to go out on Friday night so the two of us went out alone but because she felt bad that my friend and I had come all that way on her account she gave us our accommodation on the house.... Upperhill is an absolutely amazing place, brilliant food and great atmosphere. I think the staff at Upperhill more than prove that it's the people who make the party! Would recommend it to anyone and I will be back there as soon as I'm next in Nairobi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tash288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Upperhill is a great place to stay...It is out of Nairobi and once inside the compound is like stepping into a relaxing garden atmosphere.It is a fair way out but taxis can be organised for a fixed price and there is the local bus near by.They can also arrange pickups from the airport.We also left our luggage there whilst on safari which was great.Food is great and the staff are very helpful and willing to assist. I stayed with my daughter and her friends in the big room with private bathroom which was great. As some of the other reviews say the dogs can be annoying..We had one night of little sleep due to their noise....would recommend earplugs..But the garden, price and staff more than make up for it.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kscs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Nyanza, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Upper Hill is great for its price, location, good food, and relaxing atmosphere. The problem is that a person stays at a guest house primarily to SLEEP and that was not possible given the four or five dogs that bark all night while jumping and crashing against a sheet metal fence. If not for the dogs, I'd be back without hesitation. Unfortunately with the dogs, I can't consider it or recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days and we felt very much at home and welcome. Jesse and Rich did an amazing job in building the place as well as in taking care of their guests. They provided us with information about things to do in Nairobi and Jesse patiently answered all our questions regarding safety. She organized our shuttle bus down to and even booked our accommodation in Arusha.

We booked a double room (#1). It was nice and clean. Although a little noisy when people leave early (sometimes before dawn). Apart of that we were very happy whith the place. The food was delicious, all employees were very friendly and outgoing, and we felt very safe.
The cab from the city center was about KSH1000.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekka_Troller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

First place that we stayed at when we landed in Kenya. Jessie is one of the owners, and she is a vibe! She will keep you entertained with story after story, if you give you a chance, of all the crazy things that travelers have done. I read the negative review of the backpackers, and I can state that there is hot water, however it is only between certain times (6-10 am & pm) and in the outside showers. There is an inside shower, but its powered by a solar heater, and does not keep that much hot water.

My only complaint would be the mattresses, some are more comfy than others... but there are lots more in the cup

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryIsDaSmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#40 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
The Ndemi Place
#45 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
Manyatta Backpackers
#22 of 185 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
#7 of 226 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Hill Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Hill Campsite

Property: Upper Hill Campsite
Address: Othaya Road - Lavington | PO Box 29886 00200, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Upper Hill Campsite Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing