We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“We would definitely stay here again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Hill Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Upper Hill Campsite
Save
You added Upper Hill Campsite to your Saves list
Ranked #51 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We would definitely stay here again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days and we felt very much at home and welcome. Jesse and Rich did an amazing job in building the place as well as in taking care of their guests. They provided us with information about things to do in Nairobi and Jesse patiently answered all our questions regarding safety. She organized our shuttle bus down to and even booked our accommodation in Arusha.

We booked a double room (#1). It was nice and clean. Although a little noisy when people leave early (sometimes before dawn). Apart of that we were very happy whith the place. The food was delicious, all employees were very friendly and outgoing, and we felt very safe.
The cab from the city center was about KSH1000.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekka_Troller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    20
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
17
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

First place that we stayed at when we landed in Kenya. Jessie is one of the owners, and she is a vibe! She will keep you entertained with story after story, if you give you a chance, of all the crazy things that travelers have done. I read the negative review of the backpackers, and I can state that there is hot water, however it is only between certain times (6-10 am & pm) and in the outside showers. There is an inside shower, but its powered by a solar heater, and does not keep that much hot water.

My only complaint would be the mattresses, some are more comfy than others... but there are lots more in the cup

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryIsDaSmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Amazing hot showers, good food, reasonable prices for accomodation, food and bar, comfy beds, very clean showers,toilets etc... What else could you ask for? The owner Jessie is a star! She'll help you out and give you advice on al, things Kenyan. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place... Would be good if they got some wifi happening though!

Room Tip: The cabins are good with really comfy beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I planned to stay at Upper Hill for five nights but left after two. The buildings and location were great, with very nice hot showers outside and comfortable beds in the tents. However, the food was inconsistent and a little pricey, and I had two major problems with this accommodation. First, I asked for a second blanket as a result of being a little cold the first night and was informed that they had no spares and would not take one out of another tent for me, despite the fact that only 2 of the (roughly 15) tents were occupied and it was 9PM at night. Second, I was woken up early both mornings by staff carrying out construction, and the consistent barking of three or four dogs, one of which was fenced in. I appealed to the staff at the reception desk to deal with the dog but they were unwilling. At this point, I asked to speak to the manager, who was then unavailable and un-contactable on her phone for the next two hours meaning that I was unable to communicate my disappointing experience to her before I left. This place has a lot of potential, but they need to improve their customer service and control the dogs better.

Room Tip: Big tents are only 200 KSH more than small tents. Avoid anywhere outside because of dogs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I've stayed at Upper Hill repeatedly over the last 3 years (about 5 times) and it feels like coming home every time! Jesse is amazing and even woke us up one day when we slept through our alarm and had to catch a bus! I will return every time I head to Nairobi. Only downfall is the lack of Wifi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alissaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was my second stay at Upperhill, and it felt like home away from home straight away. The staff are great - helpful and friendly. I stayed in the dorm - clean and comfortable - very good value. Good food, well-priced. Clean facilities. Good security. The communal lounge and the bar provide a fantastic social scene, where I met some great people and had some great times!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

during my time there I felt that they were looking too much at the money, they charge you for everything, also no internet in the place, the cabins are small and cery budget...had a terrible beds too, hot water not alwais working, they do not allow any food (anyway cannot cook, no guest kitchen) or drinks from outside, I dont understand, their business is going very well, almost alwais full, why do not improve the quality? people will get tired in the future especialy if Kenya will increase the tourism and of course the number of hostels... why not change the pillows? our mattress was 1cm hight...
will not be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank javier f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.9 mi away
The Ndemi Place
The Ndemi Place
#44 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palacina Residence & Suites
2.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
4.5 mi away
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
2.0 mi away
Manyatta Backpackers
Manyatta Backpackers
#21 of 181 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Hill Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Hill Campsite

Property: Upper Hill Campsite
Address: Othaya Road - Lavington | PO Box 29886 00200, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Upper Hill Campsite Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing