We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and the staff is nice but clueless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
Ranked #15 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Reviewed March 5, 2011

It is very cold at night
the staff is nice but the girl who worked when i arrived did not know anything about the place or about Nairobi
the internet was always down
i bought breakfast there in the morning and it was awful
the sheets were dirty
there is no hot water even though they say there is and there is a switch to turn on for hot water, it doesn't work

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 118 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2010

my first experience in a back packers environment. the place has a cozy restaurant and bar, comfortable and economical. it is clean, with all the facilities including internet.in nairobi a safe stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ykd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This place is clean and nice, probably the best place to meet backpackers. The bar/restaurant is nice.

The staff is friendly and bar plays good jams, and they have a nice dog called scooby.
You can get hot showers if there is electricity.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

When we first arrived, the staff were lovely and friendly and made us feel right at home. We had originally booked to stay in a "permanent tent" but after seeing they were literally no more than a tent, upgraded to a double cabin, which they were happy to do. The food was cheap and decent, as were the drinks, and we ate there most nights. The bar area had a fire and a good backpackers vibe.

On our first night, we came back to our room to find it literally crawling with slugs - we counted 11! There were large gaps all around the skirtings so they were getting in from outside to warm up (it was VERY cold in Nairobi, like our cold Scottish weather in the evening; it was African winter whilst we were there). When we complained, we were given masking tape to stick our skirting boards down and had to gather all the slugs up ourselves.

On top of that, our room didn't lock as a previous guest had left with the key and the staff had no replacement. This meant that every day we had to go out with our door unlocked, which we were not really happy with, but every time we asked about it, we were told it would be fixed "tomorrow" - it never was. The slugs, although less of them because of the masking tape, continued to appear every night, some were the size of a pork sausage!

The bathrooms were hideously dirty, the sinks were constantly blocked, the water was cold (when there was any) and there was only 1 shower working to a place that sleeps at least 50 people!

The following day, we were told the double cabin was being used that night by other guests so we would need to move into the permanent tent that we'd originally booked, which was fair enough, After looking inside the tent and seeing it was like a disco ball because of all the snail trails up the sides, we managed to get into a different double cabin with an additional spare bed (which we didnt need but were told we could have it for the same price.) On the same day, they had overbooked in the dorm and needed people to get out of the room to make space, so we kindly offered the spare bed in our cabin to a guy we'd been speaking to.

The next day, we got talking to a couple who were going on safari to Masai Mara and Lake Nakuru for $90 a day. We had already showed interest in the exact same safari offered by Millimani themselves, but had given no money towards it or any definite answer that we wanted to go on it, but their one was $120 a day. Being new to Kenya, we had no idea of prices and had trusted Millimani to be offering a fair price. Obviously though, we wanted the cheaper option, but I felt it was fair to first sit down with the woman in charge at Millimani to explain that we'd been offered a cheaper safari to the exact same places for the exact same time and including the exact same things, to see if she could offer it any cheaper. She flew off the handle, saying it would not be of the same quality and it would be a con and blah blah blah. We told her we were booking it through the other company (East Africa Expeditions - which turned out to be FANTASTIC and our tour guide James was the nicest man ever!). We then got ignored by the staff and heard them gossiping about us in their office... very professional! They weren't half as friendly now! That night when we went to the settle the bill, they tried to charge us extra for our room and for our safe, and even said we had to pay the equivalent of an extra tenner for having an extra person in our room for that night we offered our spare bed to another guest when the staff had overbooked the dorm!! We also noticed the lock on our door had been changed within half an hour of us moving out! Then they told us we couldn't come back to Millimani after our safari because they were fully booked, even though we had reservations for over a week after we got back from safari. We showed the manager the booking confirmation we had printed off and she accused us of typing it ourselves (it was completely legitimate and had all the correct details on it). They persisted that we could not return (basically they kicked us out for booking our safari with a cheaper company), leaving us in a mad panic because we left at 6am the next morning to a non-network zone and would return late at night to the centre of Nairobi with nowhere to sleep that night! I am 17 years old and was travelling with just my boyfriend, so this scared me considerably and I cried myself to sleep that night. To make matters worse, we saw mice running across the kitchen counter that our food had been prepared on for the past few nights!! I was so glad to be getting out of there. Luckily, the next morning, our safari guide knew people and got us booked in at Upperhill Campsite and Backpackers for the night we got back. This place was so much better, even though a little more expensive, it was definitely worth the price difference.

Positives: We met lots of nice people and enjoyed the backpacker vibe. The barman was a teenage boy who was lovely, chatty and always happy to help.

Negatives: Internet was really slow and barley ever worked! The pictures on the website are very deceiving - there is now a massive old run-down truck on stilts in the driveway that guests can sleep in - it looked ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING inside and out!! Everything else I've written about!

In regards to Nairobi, there's not an awful lot to do - we had more or less exhausted it in a few days. It's not very cultural I don't think, it's just like any other noisy, dirty city. I can't say I really enjoyed it there and I didn't feel very safe, but the Giraffe Sanctuary is definitely worth a visit - cheap to get in and you can feed the giraffes from your hand from a raised roof terrace. Brilliant experience and great photo opportunity!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AfricanAdventure17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I stayed in the Milimani Backpackers for total of 6 nights and had a great time with both employes and other guests.
There was a nice mix between guests of 1-2 days and others staying for longer.
Only price I heard cheaper in Nairobi was a "brothel", so also here the Backpackers is a fine choise.
If you are a light sleeper you might have problems with the sounds of the neighbourhood (Music & animals).

The kitchen was fine, and despite of mices none was sick.
Cleaning was fine.

There was some problems with electricity and internet, but not more than I did expect.

Since they also are selling safaris and excoursions, go slow and scilent on sharing barking/pricing information with others.

There is not much to do at the hostel besides the two computers,but there are netcafés in the area and a bar/dance hall next door.

I would definately recomend others to go there and have a look for them selfs!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shortyDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We had booked because in general it had received ok reviews. In reality i found it completly different. The staff were lovely and friendly when they were trying to get us to book trips and excursions with them but as soon as they found out we had booked much cheaper alternatives they literally said that we could only stay one more night. We had a confirmed reservation for 2 weeks!
There were mice all over the kitchen and on the first night we woke up to a room full of slugs crawling everywhere. There was no working lock on the door to our room and we were constanly told it woudl be fixed in an hour. This went on for 4 days. NO elecricity, internet or hot water for most of our stay. I saw a member of staff wearing clothes that I had "lost" and my washing was no where to be found when I tried to retreive it before I left. They added extra charges and put up prices as it suited them. When they realised that we were not going to spend any more money with them then turned very hostile and we found it quite intimidating. The hostel is about a £10 taxi ride into the centre and there is absolutely nothing to do near by. The complex is guarded but a couple of difference intuders had got in, a group of other travellers were threatened with a bottle of acid by one thug demanding money. We met some lovely people but mostly everyone was passing through , staying only for 1 or 2 nights. We have stayed in some very poor places in asia and in Tanzania and our other stays in Kenya were all fine (basic but fine), this place was just horrible and that was largely down to the staff and their attitude. DO NOT BOOK THIS PLACE

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon_paul_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

This is a really fun backpackers, I stayed here with my 2 sisters, we stayed 5 nights and made loads of fun, the backpackers has a small bar and really cheap restaurant/cook. We stayed in a private 4 bed dorm and it was pretty tight with our 3 rucksacks. the staff were fairly helpful, but most of our washing went missing and we took it off the line wet after 4 days (it was rainy season).
I would go back there if i was travelling alone, because I felt safe there was they have security on the door 24 hrs

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary-81-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
6.1 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
502 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,288 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 167 in Nairobi
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 278 in Nairobi
470 reviews
6.0 mi away
Manyatta Backpackers
Manyatta Backpackers
#66 of 213 in Nairobi
67 reviews
13.6 mi away
Nairobi Transit Lounge
Nairobi Transit Lounge
#20 of 213 in Nairobi
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre

Address: St Hellen Ln Off Langata Road, Karen | P.O Box 21289, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range: $12 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide budget oriented, sociable accommodation for guests; Travel and Tourism related services & a Location for hosting events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre Hotel Nairobi
Milimani Backpackers And Safari Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing