We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre Hell's Gate” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
Ranked #19 of 196 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre Hell's Gate”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have never left a comment on Tripadvisor but decided to do so for the first time as my experience of the Milimani Safari centre was rotten.

I went to Hells Gate and Lake Naivasha. While it was marginally cheaper than some of the more-established companies every corner was cut to save on the experience.

First the tour left way too late in the morning so that we missed much of the morning wildlife. We only saw lake Naivasha from a car park.

In the park the itinerary was flakey so we wasted a lot of time trying to drive down routes the car could not manage. The packed lunch was pretty disgusting and we did not even get to see the highlight which is the geothermal area. We did not get to the right areas to see the animals.

For 12,000 KES it seemed pretty expensive. I understand that the company has only started safaris so maybe overtime it will get better. I don't like complaining but I felt short changed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    25
    11
    15
See reviews for
3
24
47
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Milimani Backpackers for two nights on either side of a Maasai Mara Safari. I organised a transfer from the airport and was met by a representative at the arrivals hall.

The accommodation is very cheap and free wifi is a bonus. They also run tours from the backpackers including city tours and safaris.

Dorms were very empty when I stayed, only one other person in the 6 person room. Bathroom facilities are average but offer hot water (at times) which is a bonus. Bar and common areas were very quiet both times and meals took an age to arrive each time, between 45 minutes and an hour. Located quite close to the CBD

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paulfgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp Province, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I think back with fond memories of my trip to Kenya. Milimani backpackers has played a huge role in this. Emmediately when I arrived I just felt at home in this place :)

The area is nice. The accomodation is good. The prices are fair. But those are not the reasons why I would return there. I would just return for the awesome vibe that floats around this cozy little place :D Meeting new people, exchanging travelling stories in the evening while having a drink, planning future endavours, everything is possible there.

So, If you are coming to Nairobi and are in in doubt where to stay. Doubt no more. You have found the perfect place!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank TravPa907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed at Milimani for one night in a dorm. The staff was very friendly, and so were the other guests. The dorms are clean and cozy, with lockers and mosquito nets. I don't understand why you need to pay 100ksh to use the locker, even if you have your own lock. I only noticed three bathrooms in the whole place (for those in dorms), which wasn't a problem because the dorms weren't anywhere near full, but I could see it being a problem if it was.

The common area is nice, though smaller than what you get at Upper Hill hostel, where I usually stay. There's a tv, books, and information for things to do around Nairobi or Kenya. I loved the free, fast wi-fi. I did not like the dog hair all over all the couches.

The restaurant offers decently-priced food (about 500ksh for an entree, 250-300 for a burger, 120 for fruit and yogurt). The location is fairly convenient, there's a matatu not too far to go to the city centre.

Overall, I had a great time there, it felt very home-y because it was a smaller place and not too busy. I would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niemx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

I have stayed here on two occasions, the first time was in a private room and the second time was in a dorm. The private rooms are clean, comfortable and quite and so too are the dorms but the lounge area could do with a renovation, however, it's still in acceptable condition. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The wifi is free which I think is essential for travelers. It is within walking distance to the city centre which is also important. There is no bar but beer can be bought. The food was average and the quantity could do with increasing. However, I would recommend this to people of any age. Very happy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

N.b. this review refers to the guest house in Oldeani Crescent. Milimani backpackers offers reasonable rates in very basic but comfortable rooms in a relatively quiet area of the city. They serve food, have a bar and organise tours. The staff is very friendly. Showers deliver warm (not hot) water. Wifi is available here but rather slow.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamb0p0a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I found a lot of the reviews on Tripadvisor about this place a little off-putting but I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived.

My partner and I shared a private double room and were happy with the cleanliness and presentation of the two rooms we stayed in although the showers are not hot no matter how long you wait.

There is free wi-fi which was a huge bonus in our eyes, the food is OK (the chef is lovely) and very cheap and it is nice to meet other people who are on their travels.

The customer service was good too, I found some of the staff helpful on a few occasions but on the whole very friendly and personable.

The laundry service there is also handy if you are traveling light!

I would stay here again and would recommend to friends who are looking for a base in Nairobi.

Lastly, we organised a couple of trips through Milimani, we were NOT at all happy with the guide we were given for our Mount Kenya climb and did leave feedback for Milimani to look for someone else to use as he was extremely dangerous and unsuitable unless you are a super experienced mountaineer-er.

The safari we did however was good and reasonably priced so I would recommend that!

Room Tip: I like having a private room and thought those were good but what I saw of the dorms was good too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetolife298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
8.0 mi away
Seldom Hotel
Seldom Hotel
#77 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Manyatta Backpackers
Manyatta Backpackers
#68 of 196 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 247 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
7.6 mi away
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 247 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre

Property: Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
Address: St Hellen Ln Off Langata Road, Karen | P.O Box 21289, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 196 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide budget oriented, sociable accommodation for guests; Travel and Tourism related services & a Location for hosting events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Jovago.com so you can book your Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre Hotel Nairobi
Milimani Backpackers And Safari Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing