We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base to explore Nairobi from”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
Ranked #17 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ideal base to explore Nairobi from”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Milimani backpackers is an ideal base from which to explore Nairobi or the rest of Kenya.It is in a nice secluded compound South of the centre, has a beautiful garden, and relaxed atmosphere to find other travelers to explore Nairobi with. I made some great friends there, and drank many a relaxed beer on the patio. The food is decent, (especially some great breakfasts), the rooms are clean and comfortable, and staff is super helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    35
    24
    11
    15
See reviews for
3
24
50
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hostel itself was ok if you are looking for a cheap place to stay in Nairobi. Nothing too special, not too clean, not too dirty. It is located in a peaceful area some kilometres from the city center and easily reached from the airport.

The service was sometimes really weird as they wanted to charge us phone calls we never made and breakfast we never got. When trying to solve the problem, they just told us we are wrong.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

GOOD: Third-party safari destination that they send you too is everything a safari should be!!! Peter, our driver, and Asmon, the chef, were a true delight. Fairly clean, average hostel.

BAD: Barely a common area to meet with other travelers, and an office-sense about the entire thing. Worst experience I had in Africa was not getting all my things stolen (bc our driver left the van unlocked where they brought us for lunch), but instead dealing with the wolfish owner after the fact. We lost over $800 in cash, all of our photos, a journal with 4 years of experiences, $1500 worth of gear, ALL of our gear, and medicines. I reasonably asked that her business not profit ($300) off of our misfortune (due to their employee) and maybe extend a hand to help us realize the rest of our plans --I was met with 3rd World stone-walling. $100 slap-in-the-face refund was offered so that we wouldn’t “blackmail” her with a bad (TRUE) review. It was particularly disturbing when she raised her hands to the air exclaiming, “I have done right in the eyes of God.” I 100% would tell anyone thinking about staying here not to support such a person as this. Oh and if she punished or fined the employee that messed up and her pockets saw the gain, how incredibly gross and even more unethical. Bad business, lady - and bad karma for your avarice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I absolutely LOVED my time at Milimani. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. The other guests are very nice as well. The kitchen and chef always had delicious food. I've stayed with Milimani numerous times while in Nairobi, and I've always been happy with my stay and sad to leave!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hostel is a beauty. The staff are very friendly and informative (George is true legend), there are all the facilties you need and it attracts a nice group of people who are up for some fun. I'll be back one day Georgey :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was a great Hostel in a great location!! Close enough to walk to town and to several markets for buying gifts and eating places! The staff was supper friendly and the food was so good there as well!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi-An H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I love this place! The staff are super friendly and make it a point to serve you well! They have great food and wonderful facilities! One of the favorite things that its located close to the mall and Nakumatt as well as several coffee shops and there's wireless. Check it out!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alecia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.0 mi away
Karen Camp
Karen Camp
#15 of 204 in Nairobi
66 reviews
6.0 mi away
Manyatta Backpackers
Manyatta Backpackers
#71 of 204 in Nairobi
65 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 262 in Nairobi
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Nairobi Transit Lounge
Nairobi Transit Lounge
#16 of 204 in Nairobi
15 reviews
7.7 mi away
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 262 in Nairobi
203 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hope Guest Hotel
Hope Guest Hotel
#51 of 204 in Nairobi
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre

Property: Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
Address: St Hellen Ln Off Langata Road, Karen | P.O Box 21289, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide budget oriented, sociable accommodation for guests; Travel and Tourism related services & a Location for hosting events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre Hotel Nairobi
Milimani Backpackers And Safari Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing