We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
36
37
27
11
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
37
27
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshady gardenmatatu ridehot waterlake nakurumasai marabudget optioncommon areasgalleria mallliving roomwifi worksgiraffe centrecentral nairobiclean roomskaren blixen museumhome away from homeelephant orphanagehostel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 126 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent one night here after getting a bus from Uganda. The bus was delayed and we arrived at 3am, after our driver had great difficulty in finding the place. It had moved location again and was not obvious where it was. We had also not been informed that they had moved. Considering we had phoned ahead to tell them we would be late, when we arrived they took a long time finding us a room, which was not ideal at 3am! The room was basic and clean. The prices on the website are not obvious. It is 2500 Ksh for a double room and 2000 Ksh for a double cabin (which have not yet been built!). The website was difficult to use although you can book a room by e-mailing them. It's ok if you need somewhere to stay but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kavi_860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

After travelling much around Kenya, i stayed at the hostel it pretty decent and was a short walking distance to the town center. the staff were really helpful and the price was much cheaper than most hostels in Nairobi, i also had a chance to meet up with fellow travellers in a nice and comfy atmosphere.

Room Tip: rooms outside are quiet and have showers.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allround t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place is AWESOME... the staff is great, the accomodation and everything, you are 5 minutes away from one of the Nairobi malls, you just have to call in order to get a reference of the location... but after that, I don't have anything else to say... 100% recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiegoX88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was really positively surprised by this place. The rooms are pretty basic; you can choose a dormbed for approx 14 dollars a day or a privat room for 35 dollars (which is a better deal if you're more than one since you get your own room with a key) and the toilets are decent - there are three big bathrooms so it has a homely feel to it. But the big draw are the common areas! There is a big room inside, which is divided in an eating area and a living room area, where there's a tv, and a big outside area, which is really lush and green and where there's a nice pool!
The breakfast menu is good and cheap; you can get yoghurt and fresh fruit for less than 1,5 dollars but for other meals I would go out to eat, since we never really managed to get a good meal at Milimani.
The place is a ten minutes walk from Yaya Centre, where you can find western goods and restaurants; especially the Italian restaurant in the foodcourt is recommendable. And there are other good options in the area, for instance Habesha, an ethiopian restaurant.
But the really big plus about the place are the people working there. So friendly and helpful! I wasn't hesitate to recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The new Milimani Backpackers in Nairobi is a great stay. The hostel has moved into a spacious, clean and modern house. Great and affordable food readily available, wi-fi works, and not too noisy. If you are going around the time of this review, make sure to call ahead and ask for directions - lots of road work with detours in the neighborhood make getting there a bit tricky.

Room Tip: There are two overflow rooms that presumably are rooms for the guards/staff. There is not a bathroom in that wing of the house, so guests have to walk outside and into the main house to use the shared bath. Try to avoid this.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wh1984cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews