We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
Ranked #19 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place with great staff!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was really positively surprised by this place. The rooms are pretty basic; you can choose a dormbed for approx 14 dollars a day or a privat room for 35 dollars (which is a better deal if you're more than one since you get your own room with a key) and the toilets are decent - there are three big bathrooms so it has a homely feel to it. But the big draw are the common areas! There is a big room inside, which is divided in an eating area and a living room area, where there's a tv, and a big outside area, which is really lush and green and where there's a nice pool!
The breakfast menu is good and cheap; you can get yoghurt and fresh fruit for less than 1,5 dollars but for other meals I would go out to eat, since we never really managed to get a good meal at Milimani.
The place is a ten minutes walk from Yaya Centre, where you can find western goods and restaurants; especially the Italian restaurant in the foodcourt is recommendable. And there are other good options in the area, for instance Habesha, an ethiopian restaurant.
But the really big plus about the place are the people working there. So friendly and helpful! I wasn't hesitate to recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    35
    24
    11
    15
See reviews for
3
24
50
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The new Milimani Backpackers in Nairobi is a great stay. The hostel has moved into a spacious, clean and modern house. Great and affordable food readily available, wi-fi works, and not too noisy. If you are going around the time of this review, make sure to call ahead and ask for directions - lots of road work with detours in the neighborhood make getting there a bit tricky.

Room Tip: There are two overflow rooms that presumably are rooms for the guards/staff. There is not a bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wh1984cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Was only there for one night before leaving for safari but the place was pretty central (only a 10/15 minute walk to central nairobi) and it was clean with friendly staff. Wouldn't rave about it especially as it was a little bit pricey for Kenya, but definitely a safe place to stay for a short period of time in NBO.

Room Tip: The outside rooms are smaller (for 2/4 people usually) and I found them quiet and safe enough. Sligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

A nice, secure place in Nairobi. The staff is mostly nice and helpful, especially the kitchen staff. Good food, but it can be found cheaper in town. I slept in the 8 person dorm, beds are nice, but the rooms are a bit small. All in all it was a good experience

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Well, I travel a bit in the region and found this great place in Nairobi called Milimani Backpackers. I was at the old place where they no longer are, but the new place takes this backpackers spot really to new heights. Serious, the guys are friendly and help you out a lot. They listen to problems and you will not find super quality with such great price as here. They moved now to Dennis Pritt Road, at the very end of it....totally green and quiet environment with a pool and sunbathing area...basically the best place to relax when you are going for safari or if you are on your way back home. The place is cleen and the food is great as well. Glad to have been with you guys!!!!!!!!!! Scooby (the dog) is the best;-)

Room Tip: simply ask the staff for a quiet dorm or room, and they will help if they have one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abenz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had not been to Nairobi before and so I don't know how it compares to the other hostels but this was very basic. I paid extra for an outside single room however it was very noisy from the hotel next door. It probably would of been quieter inside in the shared rooms.
The staff were extremely friendly and knowledgable and the bar area was a great little place to sit and meet other travellers.
The food was basic and cheap - 50ksh for a cup of tea, 180ksh for a beer. Not too bad at all!

I can't comment on the distance to the city but it's well known with the taxi companies and around 2400ksh to the airport which wasn't too bad split between 3 of us

A decent place for one or two nights. Don't expect luxury, or decent bedding but it's not bad

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisebean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place does the bear minimum in serving their guests but they do the maximum in trying to scam every dollar out of them. The facilities are terrible and the price is high. Everything costs alot here. The place was dirty and broken. My bed had definitely been slept in there were obvious stains, hairs and skin in the sheets. I could barely get the surly staff to replace them. I did not feel welcomed or respected whatsoever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.0 mi away
Karen Camp
Karen Camp
#15 of 204 in Nairobi
66 reviews
6.0 mi away
Manyatta Backpackers
Manyatta Backpackers
#71 of 204 in Nairobi
65 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 262 in Nairobi
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Nairobi Transit Lounge
Nairobi Transit Lounge
#17 of 204 in Nairobi
15 reviews
7.7 mi away
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 262 in Nairobi
203 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hope Guest Hotel
Hope Guest Hotel
#52 of 204 in Nairobi
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre

Property: Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
Address: St Hellen Ln Off Langata Road, Karen | P.O Box 21289, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide budget oriented, sociable accommodation for guests; Travel and Tourism related services & a Location for hosting events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre Hotel Nairobi
Milimani Backpackers And Safari Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing