We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“All a backpacker trying to meet other backpackers need” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
Ranked #23 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“All a backpacker trying to meet other backpackers need”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The backpackers can be easily reached with public transport from the bus / train stations in town. Nairobi's public bus system in general is quite good (and a lot cheaper than haggling with the cab drivers for a fair fare).
We stayed before and after a group of American missionaries had booked the whole place and therefore got to test two different dorms.
The dorms were clean and with enough space. Please note that there is a cheap cheap dorm in a tent which I didn't get to test but heard horrendous things about. Apart from the dorms there are also doubles.
One of the dorms I stayed at came with en suite facilities. Both the en suite and the shared bathrooms were clean and with hot water but the showers in the shared one are a bit inconvenient: there is no private space apart from the shower itself so that you have to show some artistic skills to get dressed in clean clothes without exposing yourself to fellow guests.
There is a bar / restaurant with a wide range of drinks and dishes and a cozy fireplace. Prices are ok. But if you're on a budget budget go to the eatery / market place behind the backpackers (leave backpackers, turn left, left again and up the little alleyway).
WiFi and computers with internet are available against a charge (200KSH per day). Wifi only works in the common areas and - if you're lucky - the first dorm on the left (aka the girls' dorm).
The backpackers has a travel desk where you can book all sorts of tours to popular Kenyan tourist destinations. I didn't try them but the ladies seemed to be quite capable.

Room Tip: Stay away from the dorm tent. The Pink (or Ladies) dorm is en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    25
    8
    15
See reviews for
3
20
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Milimani Backpackers is safe, central and friendly. During the day you can easily walk into the city and the gate is always locked and guarded at night. The bar at the premises with the bonfire is cozy and frequented by patrons of all ages and nations. Great place to pick up tips on do's and don'ts. If you want to feel the local pub vibe a little closer there's an excellent sportsbar just left with only 100m to go which is safe to do on your own or with a friend.

Bedbugs are a drawback..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brwatne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I only stayed in Milimani for one night, and it was okay. The food and facilities were mediocre. They said that they had wireless, but it wasn't working when I was there, so I made due with 2 ancient computers they had off to the side. The TV room was nice, but the outdoor areas were damp and dirty, so it was difficult to sit out. But, the compound felt safe and secure and the price was right.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopycat781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The staff are wonderful, cheery, and so welcoming. They are knowledgeable and willing to help with things even beyond their job duties. They absolutely made staying here worth it! The facilities aren't great for the price, it'soften over-crowded and there is very little community space but you can't beat the location (just a 20 minute walk from downtown Nairobi).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I much preferred this hostel to the youth hostel. But they make a lot of mistakes, and my friends didn't even have beds even though they were booked in. Same happened to us the night before, luckily there were some spare beds. Also one guy came into our female dorm and claimed he'd been booked into my friends bed!
The food system is strange, you have to write down your order, go somewhere else to pay, then back to the chef. And it takes ages, I waited an hour and a half for ugali, and paid a little too much.
However, the place is good to meet other travelers, and it is comfortable with a tv and the atmosphere is friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliola91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Unfortunately this place has left a bad taste in my mouth that won't be gone any time soon. While I was staying here I and another guy had stuff stolen including an IPOD, and some money. We are almost certain it was some non guests who came in to use the restaurant but were wandering around. The owner had no sympathy saying we should have used the lockers which surprise, surprise had to be rented from her. The icing on the cake was one night at dinner we saw the chef drop food on the ground and put it right back in the pot.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I try to stay here whenever I'm in Nairobi, because it's really fantastically located and the price is the best you will get for anything in this area of town. It's walking distance from the center (a pretty decent walk, but still beats paying for a taxi).

The rooms are, to be perfectly honest, not very nice. The ones inside have mold growing on the ceiling and are a bit damp. The outside ones are better, but you'll not get much sleep as the next door bar can be clearly heard.

The atmosphere is great though, always lots of friendly travelers and the staff is lovely and very helpful. There is a nice hang-out area outside with an open fire most nights, and I always enjoy the food here as well.

All in all, it's nothing spectacular, but the low prices, great staff and excellent location make it one of my favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTravelFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
7.9 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#38 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
1.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre

Property: Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre
Address: St Hellen Ln Off Langata Road, Karen | P.O Box 21289, Nairobi 00505, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide budget oriented, sociable accommodation for guests; Travel and Tourism related services & a Location for hosting events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milimani Backpackers & Safari Centre Hotel Nairobi
Milimani Backpackers And Safari Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing