We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfectly good business base for down town Nairobi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
Ranked #62 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Rolle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Perfectly good business base for down town Nairobi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Downtown Nairobi hotels can be pretty pricey and my usual haunt, the Nairobi Safari Club was sold out so to the Boulevard I went. Its location is a stoones throw from the Fairmont Norfolk (probably the best hotel in Nairobi) so that was a good start. It turned out to be good value, in a good location, in a nice garden setting. The room was spacious, clean but not airconditioned - and a window left open resulted in mosquito bites and road noise disturbance, but then lets not forget this is a 2 star hotel, no I am not saying this is a negative, just to manage expectations. The outside bar area overlooking the gardens is very pleasant. For a vacation I would not stay here but for a business trip where a minimal amount of time is spent in the hotel - this suits because it is clean and convenient.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    95
    118
    34
    26
See reviews for
29
91
48
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We only stayed here one night, but the rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The hotel is located in an upscale neighborhood right next to University of Nairobi and you're fine to walk or jog down the street (which is not true for most other parts of Nairobi). It's not one of the luxury hotels, but something I would recommend if you're on a budget, but want safe and clean.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleMary_Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ophoven, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

It's an okay place for a short stay in Nairobi. Good walking distance to Nairobi center.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HCP266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We only stayed for one night at the Boulevard hotel and although the decor is quite outdated, this is a good hotel for a stay in Nairobi. The room was clean with comfortable bed, flat screen TV, quiet (we were facing the very pleasant gardens) with a good bathroom (good pressure on the shower). We ended up eating there and the food was very nice and very reasonably priced. The outdoor bar is also welcoming and we drank our Tusker beer watching the birdlife settling in for the night - very pleasant. Staff was friendly and efficient. Can't fault them at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delphine73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Nice and simple, well situated, close to the city center. Clean and nice staff. Secure and safe.
I would recommend to stay here, a good budget alternative.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiiisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

A good hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are comfortable but could be improved with air conditioning. However, the fan did help a little. The restaurant is adequate but nothing special. The breakfast is good but don't come down late as some of the items ran out quite quickly. We would stay there again if we ever came back to Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gangad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We decided to stay in this hotel due recommendation from our safari guide on our return from Masai Mara. The initial impression was not so great but for a night at the center of nairobi, I guess it was ok. We liked the garden area behind the hotel. The room was a bit small with a decent toilet and shower. Our disappointment came because our room facing the pool side next to the busy main road. So it was a bit diffuicult to get sleep due to constant sound from the traffic. We ordered room service for dinner but they required cash payment and could not be charged to the room. The room furnishing was just basic and was not worth the price. Just for a night, it was OK and the breakfast was just normal.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anish_dxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#107 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#46 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nanchang Hotel
#67 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#39 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
The Hotel Emerald
#48 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Property: Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing