We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“We loved the Boulevard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
Ranked #57 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
sheffield
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“We loved the Boulevard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

My wife and I booked three nights at the Boulevard in Nairobi as a stop off before and after our safari. I must say I wish we had stayed a few more nights. We arrived at 5am on a dark morning in July and were welcomed by a friendly lady at the front desk and after check-in procedures we were in our room within 10 minutes. As some people have mentioned, it is best to get a room on the agrden side of the hotel as this is away from the noise of the very busy Uhuru Avenue nearby. After our safari we requested a garden view and were granted with no problems.

Inside the hotel our room was nicely furnished plus contained an electronic safe (no extra cost) and fridge. Everything was clean and tidy with hot water in the bathroom. You can eat in the hotel at night and the food was just gorgeous and inexpensive. A bottle of Tusker was around 90p at the time of writing. Breakfast was buffet style with a mixture of everything including bacon, sausages etc just in case you want an English style breakfast.

Outside there is a swimming pool, tennis courts, outside bar and nice gardens. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from downtown Nairobi which you reach via the quiet Harry Thuku Road frequented by locals going about their everyday business and various learner drivers which was amusing. At the end of this road there is a Barclays Bank and ATM machine which gives a much better rate than the hotel.

The Boulevard and its staff are all so friendly and helpful and we just loved the place. I would thoroughly recommend it. Next time we go to Nairobi we will book with the Boulevard again

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff, cleanliness of room, great food
  • Disliked — Traffic on the Uhuru Highway (road side of the hotel)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank walkleytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    100
    121
    35
    26
See reviews for
31
94
49
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

My three friends and I stayed at the Hotel Boulevard the night before a safari and then for 4 nights afterwards. It was a great Hotel to stay in a city that is deemed unsafe at the moment. The staff were fantastic as they 'looked after' their white mama's. They were very protective and couldn't do enough for us. They even stored the bulk of our luggage under lock and key while we were on safari. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and our valuables were safe at all times. The meals were great and well catered for. Even though the traffic was a bit noisy we accepted that we were in a busy city going 24/7. The gardens and pool are beautiful. We would highly recommend it to travellers, old and young!!

  • Liked — easy access and friendly accommodating staff
  • Disliked — noisy traffic
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideMzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

We stayed here just before starting an Overland Truck Tour, based in central Nairobi (which we were told could still be dangerous at times). However we felt safe as it was situated behind a perimeter wall with security guards at the gated entrance. The Hotel was pretty mundane, our room and bathroom were clean but the decor looked tired. The restaurant food was basic but ok. Staff were pretty indifferent most of the time. They have a swimming pool however you had to pay extra to use it which we thought was a bit cheeky. A room cost about $55 and is quite good value for money overall.

  • Liked — Covenient Location
  • Disliked — Extra cost to use the Swimming Pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfaFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2007

This facility should not be called a HOTEL as it does not even come close. the building is quite old but the Staff was great!. I arrived Sept 27 2007 for a 1 night stay. They sent a taxi cab to pick me up at the airport which was good ..(The cab fair is separate from the room price) The rooms have no air con but have a desk fan attached to the wall ..The fan does a good job of keeping the room clean but its rather noisy. There was a safe and small fridge in the room, a small tv attached on the wall almost close to the ceiling which didnt work so unless one is 5 ft 9inches or taller , you would have to get on a chair and change the channel. The Bathroom was the pits. It had a tub with hot water, a sink that and a commode(toilet) The floor was not clean or has probably seen better days .. The road nearby was very busy all night and I didnt sleep a wink.ON my return trip I changed hotels and got a better one for 4,500 Kshillings (Meridian Court) which was less expensive compared to this dump(HB was 5.400KShillings. I will not recommend this to anyone

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank InTransit07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Jacksonville Florida USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2007

My wife and myself checked into the Hotel Bouvelard on 8/24/2007 and checked out on 9/1/2007. The room was small, but clean. No air conditioners in any of the rooms, but the temperature was acceptable at all times. The hotel was well guarded and patrolled at all times. All the employees were very friendly and courteous at all times. Luggage was transported to and from the room with no problems. The breakfast that was included with the room rate was excellent, full menu plus any special orders. Bread baked at the hotel was some of the best ever. Lunch and Night meals were excellent as well. Our arriving impression on first going to the room was not good, but the hotel grew on us as the week went on. The grounds were nicely kept and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Overall, a highly enjoyable stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank JBJxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2007

I was looking for a budget hotel for a night's stay in Nairobi and found this to be reasonable. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms big with hot and cold water. The only problem is that the rooms facing the main road are a bit noisy . Would recommend this place for a nights stop over...

  • Liked — Just right for a night's stay
  • Disliked — small rooms and the price paid for them
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kkbelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHague
Level Contributor
159 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2007

Situated on the edge of downtown Nairobi, not far from the much grander Norkfolk Hote, the Boulevard is a slightly run-down and faded place but reasonably clean and tidy. The tacky African tribal/safari decor in the corridors adds to its charm. There's a helpful tour desk, internet access, handy shop for everyday groceries and a surprisingly good (by Kenyan standards) restaurant. Breakfast is also not bad at all with superb English sausages, great fruit salad and delicious Kenyan coffee, my only complaint being that the food is generally cold to lukewarm. Perhaps it would be an idea for the chef to put the lids on the hot food trays on those cold Nairobi mornings ?

Bedrooms are cramped with awful looking 70's furniture, the bathroom toiletries never seemed to be replaced and like all hotels in Africa there aren't any coat hangers. The TV didn't work but at least the fridge did.

The hotel is located in beautiful gardens next to a river, which you can hear but not see due to a high hedge. These gardens are lovely for morning and evening strolls, they are also completely safe due to good security and fencing. The pool is pretty good too, although being unheated its a bit chilly early in the morning.

Staff were friendly if a little incompetent. Our room key card, like everyone elses, was invalidated during breakfast EVERY morning. The hotel told us our stay was for 2 nights when in fact we had been booked in for 3 nights. Ordering food or drinks was a little challenge as often the order bore little resemblance to what was asked. Example: ordering a sparkling mineral water with a slice of lemon resulted in getting a bottle of Sprite ! As has been said above, nobody ever replaced the toiletries, all I had was a sad half-empty bottle of hotel conditioner sitting on my bathroom shelf for 3 days.

So far so good, but why only 3/5 ? The NOISE ! We had the misfortune to be on the side of the hotel next to the main road and boy was it noisy. The rooms aren't the slightest bit soundproofed and the constant noise from one of Nairobi's busiest roads goes on 24/7. Even at 3am on a Monday morning the traffic was roaring past, I used to live next to a main road and am used to coping with traffic noise but this was something else, it felt like I was sleeping in the central reservation ! In 3 nights I never got more than a snatch of sleep.

Other people commented on prostitution at the hotel - absolutel rubbish, the only people here are Western tourists and the occasional local and very respectable Kenyan coming for a meal or drink. No disco either, just a bar in the grounds with a bit of music, it was normally way too quiet to keep it open later than 10pm.

All in all a safe and relaxing place to start an African safari, just a shame they can't make the road-facing rooms quieter.

  • Liked — Pool, breakfast, gardens
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casualist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#111 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Nanchang Hotel
#93 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#47 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#38 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Property: Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Jovago.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing