We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“decent hotel & location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“decent hotel & location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for a few nights in between our volunteer and safari tours. We had a decent stay at this hotel. The hotel’s décor isn’t as modern both inside and outside, however our room was clean and spacious including the bathroom. We were very happy that WIFI was complimentary, but it was a little spotty from time to time that we would have to stand by the room’s door to get connection. The breakfast buffet served had a good selection of food and was very delicious. The hotel’s staff was friendly. The hotel location is decent, just a short walk (~10mins) to the city centre. The drive from the airport to the hotel is a little bit of a distance, but shouldn’t cost more than $25 USD for a ride. Despite this hotel being a little on the expensive side, we had no problems starting and ending our trip here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    90
    114
    34
    25
See reviews for
27
90
45
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean, basic rooms which were a welcome relief at the end of a 56 day camping overland tour. Just don’t plan on getting the hotel to do your washing here – they tried to charge a friend a whopping US$180 to get hers done! The included buffet breakfast was ok and dinner at the restaurant was surprisingly pretty good even though a little on the expensive side.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flippy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 8 years ago and then again in August at the beginning and end of our safari trip. Last time I stayed on the ground floor and it was terrible. This time I was on the second floor both times with a garden view. The difference was amazing.

Nice clean room, bright and airy - no fly screens but they do provide plug in mosquito repeller which worked fine. The mattress was firm but not uncomfortable. The shower hot and pressure good. Ok breakfast, Ok dinner - but you don't come here for the food.

It is a convenient gated hotel/property in a great location. I had no problems starting and ending my trip here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_girl033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel has a lovely garden, pool and helpful staff. The location is convenient to the Nairobi Museum It has security at the gate and controls who enters and exits the property. Restaurant has both in door and outdoor seating. Food was acceptable for both breakfast as well as dinner. There is a full bar available as well.
The rooms on the first floor are dated and lack a deadbolt lock which is disconcerting if you are traveling alone. Upstairs rooms are a bit more modern. Showers have somewhat limited flow of water compared to what Americans are accustomed to. Beds are of average comfort but nothing to brag about. Spread blankets and pillows are very basic. There is no elevator so if you arrive when multiple others do you either carry your own bag or wait for a porter to be available.
Also, there is no air conditioning so be prepared to open your window, which has no screen.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the garden upstairs and have porter carry your bags up and down the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moxie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here before our safari and it's a nice place - we had a lovely room with a comfy bed, tea / coffee making facilities etc and the evening meals and breakfast were very tasty. It's also handy for the museum and snake pit.
However, there were two important things they got wrong... Firstly, reception failed to relay an important message to us concerning a change to what time our driver was coming, meaning we missed out on a full night's sleep. Even so, we were still impressed enough with the place to make a reservation for the end of the trip, but this was the second thing they messed up as it did not get recorded and we ultimately ended up staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bod123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

After a whole week of travelling around Kenya, this place was a big let down to say the least. The room service was decent, but the food was not up to the mark. Very basic. The staff is really always trying to find ways to extract money from you for any and everything possible. We had a flight at 5 so we requested to check out around noon instead of 10 a.m. and the staff just did not oblige. Even though we reached only at 4 p.m. the previous evening. Not much variety for vegetarians for breakfast.
The only plus side is its proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shahneer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here because our safari began the next morning from this hotel. The rooms were basic and clean. The hallway and rooms have ceramic floors so sound does travel. The bar was okay and the breakfast was fine. Certainly not the nicest hotel and the do charge for everything they can, but it was clean and functional.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#50 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#24 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Nanchang Hotel
#56 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#95 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#49 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Emeli Hotel
#69 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Property: Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing