We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but let down by the service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place, but let down by the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here before our safari and it's a nice place - we had a lovely room with a comfy bed, tea / coffee making facilities etc and the evening meals and breakfast were very tasty. It's also handy for the museum and snake pit.
However, there were two important things they got wrong... Firstly, reception failed to relay an important message to us concerning a change to what time our driver was coming, meaning we missed out on a full night's sleep. Even so, we were still impressed enough with the place to make a reservation for the end of the trip, but this was the second thing they messed up as it did not get recorded and we ultimately ended up staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bod123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    90
    114
    34
    25
See reviews for
27
90
45
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

After a whole week of travelling around Kenya, this place was a big let down to say the least. The room service was decent, but the food was not up to the mark. Very basic. The staff is really always trying to find ways to extract money from you for any and everything possible. We had a flight at 5 so we requested to check out around noon instead of 10 a.m. and the staff just did not oblige. Even though we reached only at 4 p.m. the previous evening. Not much variety for vegetarians for breakfast.
The only plus side is its proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shahneer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here because our safari began the next morning from this hotel. The rooms were basic and clean. The hallway and rooms have ceramic floors so sound does travel. The bar was okay and the breakfast was fine. Certainly not the nicest hotel and the do charge for everything they can, but it was clean and functional.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel. I still cannot believe I stayed there. Cockroaches were hiding behind the Mirror in the Bathroom. Sheets had stains, No Air conditioning. Went to the bar and was pestered by prostitutes. Meal was awful and i was sick all night. I ran away the next day and found another hotel in Nairobi. Everything was old , worn out and dated. Biggest mistake of my life. it is not a hotel to me , just a place where nightmares start.

Room Tip: I do not believe there are good rooms at that place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Hotel Boulevard in Nairobi was the first hotel I stayed during my vacation in Africa. I appreciated the friendliness of the staff. I loved the buffet breakfast....it had a great selection from hot sausages, bacon and eggs, hash brown potatoes, pancakes, cereal, you name it but I found the lunch and dinner menu expensive compared to other Nairobi restaurants. There is no elevator but the staff willingly take care of luggage. My room had a lovely view, bed was comfortable, garden bar was a fun place to hang out.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the rear garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warragul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Sentrim does not deserve the negative reviews. At the end of an 8 week 4WD trek in southern Africa this was a pleasant spot to finish. It does not pretend to be a five star hotel. The staff is very friendly, helpful, obliging and interested in its guests and the rooms are spotlessly clean. It is a 5 minute walk away from the museum and is surrounded by attractive and well maintained gardens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carruss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a basic hotel but supplied everything I required for a two night stay. No luxury and yes they will charge for an extra person. My son joined us for one night and I ended up paying $45.00 but they did not supply a cot for him - he slept on the floor.

Room Tip: Our room had a fan on a timer - check to see if you can get one that goes all night. We heard other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#50 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#24 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Nanchang Hotel
#56 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#95 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#49 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Emeli Hotel
#69 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Property: Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing