We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
Ranked #74 of 165 Hotels in Nairobi
Heilbronn, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights and was pleasantly surprised. Nairobi does not have much in the way of 'midrange' hotels, and after reading reviews of some other 3-star accommodations, I was nervous.

The staff at Boulevard are professional and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and quiet. The shower water was always hot, almost too hot at times! Sure, the rooms don't have air conditioners but considering I was going home to -25 weather, sleeping in a warm room didn't bother me at all. There are small fans provided, just aim it over you and you'll sleep fine :)

The hotel is conveniently located close to downtown and is a 5 minute walk from the National Museum (a must-see!), The restaurant service is very good and very fast! I couldn't believe how quickly our meals were prepared. Excellent food and drink prices as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaROK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    105
    129
    38
    27
See reviews for
37
100
52
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Rooms were clean, everything worked and staff were friendly and efficient. All in all a good value stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garth k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night before starting our overland tour of Kenya and Uganda. The cost of the hotel is high for the type of rooms that you are staying in. The hotel can organise taxis for you but be very careful. On our first day we got a taxi driver who quoted us $8USD to take us two minutes down the road to an ATM and then back. It seemed quite pricey but we agreed. It wasnt until we got back that the taxi driver told us that he was charging $8 each way. The hotel staff told us we had to pay the $16 for our 5min round trip. On the other hand we had a different taxi driver later that day (also through the hotel) who was excellent and charged a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Booking through an online hotel booking service is often much cheaper than booking directly through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmjames07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

West Baldwin, ME
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The Sentrim Boulevard can provide a quiet, relaxing experience or a night punctuated by road noise, depending on whether your room is located off the right or garden side of the corridor and overlooking a lawn bordered by the Nairobi River or off the left or pool side that faces Uhuru Highway. Rooms are a bit larger following the renovation that replaced balconies with interior space and are still of modest size, but quite comfortable with good beds, TV, and ample storage space. The small, ensuite baths are equipped with adequate shower and towels. The restaurant serves good, reasonably priced meals. Grounds include a tennis court as well as a good pool and ample parking. Security is very good as the hotel, restaurant, and grounds are a gated complex with a guarded entrance. The location is near the university, National Museum, International Casino, and even within walking distance (via Harry Thuku Road & Muindi Mbingu Street) of the City Market. Though not luxurious, the Boulevard offers many amenities not available at comparably priced hotels. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Insist on a room facing the river, not the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afriCATreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed here at the start & end of my trip around Kenya. The hotel organised my transfers from and to the airport at a reasonable price with pleasant drivers in reasonable cars.

The hotel itself has good facilitiies, a nice clean pool with good sunbeds, great restaurant with a good variety and quality of food, at a reasonable price. Inclusive breakfast was also great - good choice and regularly replenished

The rooms look like they have recently been re-done - good bathrooms and they were re-painting the corridors whilst I was there. Don't expect loads from them, they are clean, functional and comfortable The only draw-back was the lack of air conditioning in the rooms - they were very warm!

For a mid-priced hotel, would definitely recommend and if you are travelling on your own - I felt safe here (which is a good thing especially in Nairobi)

Its well situated, near the Norfolk Hotel and univeristy & a short walk from Kenyatta Avenue

Room Tip: Ask for rooms closer to reception end and at the rear of the hotel (facing over the gardens not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanneDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed there before and after our "Safari" and would do so again. The Hotel is located within an easy and "safe" walk into the city where you can get all you need before heading off on your adventure. Great pool area, good bar and restaurant, and very good spacious rooms which I think have mostly been refurbished recently.
Front Office staff very helpfull

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the back garden area rather than the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one week in late September with my Son and 9 yr old Grandson Charlie and had a really good time. This is a very nice hotel with lovely friendly staff. We had a triple room with a great walk in shower. Enjoyed a good breakfast each morning with a choice of specially prepared egg dishes with fruit, cereal and pastries.
Had dinner at the hotel on several occasions and thought it good food and very good value with no added charges like the more expensive hotels. Drank Tusker lager at about £1.60 for a large bottle in the outside bar with large televisions showing a South African sports channel. My Son said this was his favourite bar in the world.
The Boulevard was in the city centre next to the Norfolk Hotel and Nairobi University. We always felt felt very safe when walking around and when the locals saw Charlie with his Manchester United shirts on they all gave him the thumbs up.
There were three internet stations in the hotel charging about £1.50 for half an hour. Charlie’s treat each night was to have his time on them. The girls in charge took a like to him and he always seemed to get more time.
The swimming pool was large and very clean if not a little cold but lots of people used it.
Visited Nairobi National Park, The National Museum and Snake Park, Lake Naivasha and the Great Rift Valley and 14 Falls where a lot of movies are made including Tarzan films. We all enjoyed our holiday very much thanks mainly to having a lovely hotel to return to each day.
This is an honest evaluation and we did not find it tired or run down but a great place to stay for a city visit.
Special mention for Jackson, who was the lobby attendant and dealt with the suitcases. Charlie built up a special friendly relationship with him.

Room Tip: We were on the swimming pool side and our room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliottness696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#38 of 165 in Nairobi
272 reviews
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#122 of 165 in Nairobi
193 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#43 of 165 in Nairobi
57 reviews
Emeli Hotel
#69 of 165 in Nairobi
32 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#73 of 165 in Nairobi
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Property: Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 165 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. There is a swimming pool and tennis court for your relaxation and enjoyment. For meetings, conferences and family gatherings facilities are readily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing