We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel-Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
Ranked #57 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel-Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one week in late September with my Son and 9 yr old Grandson Charlie and had a really good time. This is a very nice hotel with lovely friendly staff. We had a triple room with a great walk in shower. Enjoyed a good breakfast each morning with a choice of specially prepared egg dishes with fruit, cereal and pastries.
Had dinner at the hotel on several occasions and thought it good food and very good value with no added charges like the more expensive hotels. Drank Tusker lager at about £1.60 for a large bottle in the outside bar with large televisions showing a South African sports channel. My Son said this was his favourite bar in the world.
The Boulevard was in the city centre next to the Norfolk Hotel and Nairobi University. We always felt felt very safe when walking around and when the locals saw Charlie with his Manchester United shirts on they all gave him the thumbs up.
There were three internet stations in the hotel charging about £1.50 for half an hour. Charlie’s treat each night was to have his time on them. The girls in charge took a like to him and he always seemed to get more time.
The swimming pool was large and very clean if not a little cold but lots of people used it.
Visited Nairobi National Park, The National Museum and Snake Park, Lake Naivasha and the Great Rift Valley and 14 Falls where a lot of movies are made including Tarzan films. We all enjoyed our holiday very much thanks mainly to having a lovely hotel to return to each day.
This is an honest evaluation and we did not find it tired or run down but a great place to stay for a city visit.
Special mention for Jackson, who was the lobby attendant and dealt with the suitcases. Charlie built up a special friendly relationship with him.

Room Tip: We were on the swimming pool side and our room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliottness696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    100
    121
    35
    26
See reviews for
31
94
49
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights before commencing an overland tour of Africa. Staff were friendly and welcoming and provided good service. The room was of a good size and it was spotlessly clean. The beds were really comfortable, which was a blessing after our 26-hour trip to get to Nairobi. The bathroom was quite large compared to most hotels, and it was nice to have a windown (a small window strip along the top of the wall which faced out into the corridor - it was high enough that no one could see through it at all!). We were on the first floor overlooking the pool, and a porter happily carried our luggage upstairs for us.

The breakfast was of a good standard, with a good choice of food available. We ate lunch and dinner at the restaurant as well, the service was a little slow but the food was good. We arranged transport out to the giraffe sanctuary and Nairobi National Park with reception, and we had a fantastic driver/guide for the day.

The hotel itself is located quite close to the city centre. To get there, you need to walk down a street which is home to the University and some other hotels - so there are plenty of people around! You do need to cross quite a busy road to get across to the CBD - we asked some locals to guide us across the road (much to their amusement) but they did so happily.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Austell Cornwall
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed here before catching flight back to UK. A good hotel - clean and good sized rooms. Great showers!! Felt safe as there was security to get into the complex. A few little shops/stands were at the entrance to the complex - ideal for getting last minute souvenirs.
Had a very nice evening meal here and prices very fair. Good atmosphere and ideal base to get to the airport the next day. Good hotel!!

Room Tip: overlook the garden where possible - a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lake3_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights before and after safari. It was one of three choices offered by our safari company. Small, garden like atmosphere. Clean, comfy, staff very helpful. Currently doing some upgrades and renovations. No air conditioning, but didn't need it (September). Close to downtown, but security was plentiful-felt totally safe. We enjoyed it!

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor and no elevators. Staff were very eager to carry our luggage. Not sure if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omaumeg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We got a good price deal on the hotel from a website, the published rates are v.high and can get much better hotels at that price. The rooms were neat and clean. Stayed there twice, both times the rooms were clean and staff was v. polite and nice. No TV remote and No AC. Got really hot on 1 night, had only table fan in the room. Fridge was noisy so switched it off. Secure parking and good area. Building looks old but rooms have been renovated and balconies included in the room area to increase room space. No Lift. Can get on to highway A104 (if i remember name correctly) easily to go to airport or towards other cities of Kenya. GPS will show "Boulevard Hotel" only, not Sentrim, even there board doesn't have Sentrim on it.Breakfast was excellent. When we requested fro early breakfast they arranged for that too. Would recommend this over Sentrim 680 which was our biggest confusion due to location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank excaliber82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

My tour operator booked me into this hotel for the night before I flew to Amboseli. The hotel room was small but clean. I had no problems with hot water early in the morning. The staff were very helpful when i wanted to check out some local food and I enjoyed my dinner. The next day I had an early flight and was there 5 minutes after the breakfast buffet time. Everything was in place so I managed to have breakfast and leave in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g_viswam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karachi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Nothing negative about this hotel; good service, great location, nice rooms.....though the building seems a bit old, but i guess thats the old city charm of it.

Room Tip: Book online!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pakistanitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#111 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Nanchang Hotel
#93 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#47 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#38 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Property: Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Jovago.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing