We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place close to National Museum of Kenya” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
Ranked #57 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice place close to National Museum of Kenya”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

This hotel is clean and has good service. Lots of folks who come to Kenya to go on safarai stay here. It is a bit pricey if you are staying more then a day or so. They do offer discounts if you are working at the museum. The grounds are very pretty, and the little bars and tiki places are nice. Food is OK. They have a stir fry set-up which is good. Service in both the hotel and the dining areas is decent to good. Nothing stellar but pretty good overall. They are on the same genarator - standby power system as the National Museum so they don't suffer from the ongoing power outages that most of Nairobi's hotels have to deals with. Overall is is a expensive place for decent accomadations with few bad surprises, kinda a middle of the road place. If you are traveling cheaply you can get much better value for your money at other spots and if you are not traveling cheaply you can get much more luxury ither places. Good place for business travelers who want to be close to downtown but not in downtown. Be careful walking after dark in this area!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmic_beancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    100
    121
    35
    26
See reviews for
31
94
49
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is an old hotel with no maintenace or renovations since the 1960's. There is basically no service: you may ask for a wake up call or for someone to come and repair a non-functioning lamp and they would just NOT act upon their words. Then there is the issue of mistrust of their own clients: you will be asked for a significant deposit if you want a remote control and a hefty non-remboursable fee for using the internet.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MexicanPerspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

I chose to stay at the Boulevard hotel, although it was a bit above my price range (the price quoted by my tour company was $95US & prices were similar online) as this was the adjoining point for my tour which left early the morning after i´d flown into Nairobi airport. However, when i arrived i was surprised to be told the price had gone up to $130US, which was extortionate for a hotel of this standard & my room didn´t even have aircon & i had a terrible nights sleep with the fan on! In europe i could have stayed in a 5star luxury hotel for less than this (having travelled around europe also).

I also had a problem with one of my US $ notes not being issued after 2004 & the hotel said they couldn´t accept this. Being on a budget & having limited funds, this was not a good start to my holiday.

However, when i returned from my tour i stayed at the Comfort Inn which was a 2star but more than adequate for my needs & at $55 for the night, including breakfast, was much more affordable & i would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget. It was only a short taxi ride from the Boulevard hotel or you could walk it in about 10mins. Being a solo traveller i was a bit wary of my safety & would not have walked alone perhaps but getting a taxi was fine.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hot1hel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed 2 dayes on this hotel, and we have never been on a hotel where so many
things not is working or is broken. The rooms are very worn and not so clean.
The restaurant and bar is very good and they made splendid food to good price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingolf1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

We used this hotel as a base for our various Kenya travels and came back three times, leaving various baggage in the left luggage room. The rooms (we were given a garden room every time) were good, clean. Constant hot water in showers. Buffet breakfast was good. We had several evening meals which were okay. The gardens were pretty and well kept, the swimming pool excellent. We could walk into the centre of Nairobi easily. The hotel had security gates and felt very safe. Staff were helpful and really friendly with one exception - the nighttime receptionist who was offhand and disinterested.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Safariwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

Book online and pay part upfront and you will find yourself paying the full price all over again - this hotel happily shows you they have your confirmation that the room is part paid and still refuses to honour it. The hotel itself is not pleasant and is overpriced even without the double charge. The rooms are dated (c. 1974), dirty and shabby. The television had no remote and there is no sound proofing in connecting rooms, the fan is noisy and there is no aircon. I understand there are some rooms updated but mine was in a very sorry state. I have travelled widely in Africa and I don't need five star but this really was a new low for me. On the upside the car I pre-arranged was at the airport, the driver friendly and the price ok but otherwise I would say this is a big recommendation to avoid.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jude2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

Horrible hotel for the price. We pre-booked with a travel agent and they wouldn't honor our voucher until that evening when we got a hold of the agent in North America (due to time change) when they said we were confused with another customer. No screens on the windows or nets over the beds so my husband woke up full of mosquito bites as we had no choice but to leave the window open because it was SOOO HOT in the room. Only a ceilig fan and all this for $254US / night. We negotiated a rate of $271 with the Notfolk Fairmont 5 Star Hotel only two blocks away WAY BETTER VALUE and hospitality. Don't stay here unless every hotel in Nairobi is booked.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaGirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#111 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Nanchang Hotel
#93 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#46 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#40 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel

Property: Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
Address: Harry Thuku Road | PO Box 43436, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also form the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which translates to "the place of cool waters." However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in theSun." Location: Sentrim Boulevard is located at the end of Nairobi’s Harry Thuku Road, an oasis of peace and quite with beautiful manicured gardens and lawns. There are 70 rooms in 2 stories. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, Restaurant and bar. The Mezzanine floor has the conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing