We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great hotel in the Central Business District.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim 680 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sentrim 680 Hotel to your Saves list
Sentrim 680 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Muindi Mbingu Street, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great hotel in the Central Business District.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Good hotel, reminded me of a large 1980s style business hotel.
Lots of function rooms with talks, meeting & shows going on, A Miss fabulous beauty competition was on while i was there! There is Security on every floor & I was soon on first name terms with the ever present security guards. Which I found to be easily more helpful than the reception staff.
Room was quite big, clean with a sky rise view of Nairobi. Breakfast very good, lots of good food to choose from. Plus a nice little Coffee shop downstairs too for a Kenyan tea & a quaint bookshop next door.
With a mixed variety of guests it was nice because I met a few fellow Tourists & some friendly Business folks over breakfast.
Its very centrally located & easy to walk within the CBD by day. A Taxis desk is at reception and security will encourage you to only go out at night if you go by Taxi & they know where you are going. Which as I was traveling alone made me fell very safe.
Not sure if I would stay here again as I noticed a few traveller/backpacker type places down the road which may have suited me better...but I wanted somewhere central & reasonably priced and this def is.
Also beware of tourist information touts hanging around in reception shop around first.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoey047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    43
    68
    28
    25
See reviews for
19
33
30
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lithonia, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

old style hotel rooms clean restaurant good 2 female lobby staff arrogant but respectful whilst I T guy and male members were excellent and a little embarassed .cashier excellent . security pleasant and helpful. location good worth while recommending to ordinary folks colleagues?? perhaps the other sentrim - has the pool and gym the safe was working but 3 days i asked for a workable fridge from lobby staff before replacement. Yes it was adequate and served my purpose

Room Tip: if you want flight details or tickets go to a travel agent-- the airlines are continuously changing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stay here often whilst on business, the service and staff are great, Achieng's smile in the coffee shop is a real boost every morning. Fantastic if you are working in Nairobi town, you are in easy reach of everything, so you have no traffic jams, clean warm bedding, Hot water, DSTV, fans and mobile air con units, great value. If you are with a young family you might prefer the sister hotel ( Hotel Boulevard ) only five minutes away but it has out door grounds and a swimming pool.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room ask for a room away from Simmers ( the bar next door )
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We had hopes that the hotel would provide a clean room and safe- all that was required by us. There was no working safe when we arrived and our room was already occupied by cockroaches. The cost of the hotel was 130USD per night- very expensive for the room and service received.

The rooms were old and outdated with a view comparable to a Russian prison.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manilla
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is just in the city center. It's good if you have business to do focused only in the city. Even if to go far from the center, the taxis are easy to get once you move out of the hotel. The rooms are quiet ok. Good services. Food with buffet breakfast. During the night, the side closer to the front road is a bit noisy, bar-cabaret with music all along the night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very good hotel. Normal price, normal room, normal breakfast. I will stay here if I will visit Nairobi again. Espesially I like beatiful street girls which cost about 20$. Please be informed that 20 $ is extra charge for hotel if you will bring with you lady into room for night or some hours. It is a little dangerous at nights but very amazing:) and it is not so good hotel for travellers with family..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yashar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is centrally positioned in the center of Nairobi's central business district.Check in was fast.The hotel is old but rooms been refurbished.At least the ones that I saw were refurbished.Food service was fast.Had dinner on la carte.In the morning had buffet breakfast.The room had a fan which was inadequate for the west facing rooms given that Nairobi is close to the equator and the sun is overheard around 21st march.The heat in the room was unbearable despite the fan being full speed.I was in room 1029, on the 10th floor.There was a little respite at night,though still uncomfortable.The hotel has a casino(I did not visit this as I dont gamble).There is also a bar next to the restaurant which is frequented by non residents as well.At every floor was a sentry posted which was quite comforting in terms of security.All in all , a ideal location in order to avoid the traffic gridlock.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the east,they are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#24 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Oakwood Hotel
#62 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#68 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#104 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#58 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim 680 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim 680 Hotel

Property: Sentrim 680 Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Muindi Mbingu Street, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sentrim 680 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim 680 Hotel is located in Nairobi CBD, 30-minute drive from JKIA. The recently refurbished rooms have views of Nairobi. Each sound-proofed room features a digital flat screen TV, digital safe, electric fans / coolers and a fridge. The rooms also have private en-suite bathroom with hot / cold water and free toiletries. Some of the rooms have a private balcony. A restaurant, coffee shop and the Sentrope Bar & Lounge are also on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sentrim 680 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing