We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located”
Review of Sentrim 680 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sentrim 680 Hotel
Ranked #122 of 165 Hotels in Nairobi
dar es salaam
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Centrally located”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is in the middle of Nairobi's CBD, ideal for business travelers. If you are on holiday this is not a place for you unless you are casino-type guy.
Checking in was smooth, room was clean. Bathroom clean, small but adequate.
I did not eat at the hotel so cant comment about food other than breakfast which was always superb. On my check out day they even provide me with breakfast before opening time!
The bar is fairly stocked and services at the bar was just above basic. (read not so good)

Room Tip: avoid rooms opposite to a Simmers nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    49
    75
    31
    27
See reviews for
20
37
32
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The 680 Hotel is located in town and would be great for those that need to take care of business in the area. For those on vacation, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Pros: The room was very clean; security on each floor; a convenience store near the lobby if you've forgotten anything; affordable rooms; and if you ask, the front desk person allows you to check out at noon instead of 10am at no additional cost.

Cons: Small bathroom (water runs over and wets most of the bathroom); need to leave a deposit at the reception in order to get the tv remote, which they refund upon return; no room service; customer service isn't the greatest (we got a double & there was only one towel. it took quite a while for someone to bring the second one); and quite a bit of street noise (which is obviously out of the hotel's control).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ad Dawha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I've stayed one night at 680 and it wasn't good. The last time service at the reception was very poor. The fact you need to pay for internet is also poor and complex. The hotel lobby is quity noisy and chaotic. The hotel staff don't care whether you have good service or not - thats the way i see it.
The hotel was expensive and had power blackouts! I would never recommend anyone to go there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

perth
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is right in the heart of Nairobi very convenient for all things in town.Had a good coffee shop in the entrance with excellent service and good coffee.Some staff at reception not very helpful
but on the whole all were very good,rooms clean and fairly big .Overall good for a few nights in the city.

Room Tip: Only stayed one night so not really able to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Excellent location in the heart of the city so foreigners like me find it very convenient and secure to roam around even at night. Very good service, neat and clean rooms and yes you have electronic safe in every room, which is quite essential in places like Nairobi. Break fast spread may not be that great compared to likes of Hilton, but its' not bad by any standard. The lady on the travel desk is quite helpful and is available, probably for 22 hours a day. And yes, I got a good deal at $70 per night (speak to Veronica at accounts)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chadha_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I've stayed multiple times at 680 and its a mixed bag. The last time service at the reception was very poor. The fact you need to pay for internet is also poor and complex. The hotel lobby is quity noisy and chaotic.
On the positive side, value for money (especially if you book via website offers) is ok. The rooms are quite large and clean enough. Bathrooms are fine. The hotel is centrally located and the noise problem can be a problem for some areas but certainly not all. The restaurant is quite pleasant and the buffet breakfast is good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martijn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acqui Terme, Piemonte, Italy
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Hello. I want to give my contribution to the Trip Advisor about 680 hotel in city center Nairobi. I often go to Nairobi to work, and I always go in 680 hotels. I never had any problems. Just once, I had a problem with my room key card, but quickly resolved. So, quality accommodation, clean, quiet and silent. You can eat and spend little to Simmers, a typical and very nice place opposite the hotel. I never ate at the hotel, but breakfast in the morning is good and plentiful. The reception provides a great service, and the casino Babylon, near the hotel, offers good exchange rates. Therefore, good quality / price ratio. Remember: You can visit the center on foot, because 680 Hotel is in city center.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parodi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#74 of 165 in Nairobi
212 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kenya Comfort Suites
#64 of 165 in Nairobi
59 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#30 of 165 in Nairobi
1,253 reviews
LAICO Regency Hotel
#68 of 165 in Nairobi
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim 680 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim 680 Hotel

Property: Sentrim 680 Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Muindi Mbingu Street, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 165 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sentrim 680 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim 680 Hotel is located in Nairobi CBD, 30-minute drive from JKIA. The recently refurbished rooms have views of Nairobi. Each sound-proofed room features a digital flat screen TV, digital safe, electric fans / coolers and a fridge. The rooms also have private en-suite bathroom with hot / cold water and free toiletries. Some of the rooms have a private balcony. A restaurant, coffee shop and the Sentrope Bar & Lounge are also on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sentrim 680 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing