We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A CENTRAL BASE TO EXPLORE THE CITY FROM.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sentrim 680 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sentrim 680 Hotel
Ranked #115 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Craigavon
Level Contributor
186 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A CENTRAL BASE TO EXPLORE THE CITY FROM.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We, (myself and two adult sons) arrived at the hotel and were warmly welcomed by the doorman, Jared and porters were quickly on hand to take care of our luggage. Checking in was a painless process with pleasant and helpful receptionists. Although we did not book directly with the hotel we did correspond before we arrived with Mercy in reservations who was most helpful and even organised our tour of Nairobi National Park and other places on the itinerary.

We had two bedrooms and these were spacious and comfortably furnished and included a fridge and a free safe. Extra marks for that. Reception and choice of channels on the TVs in both rooms were extremely poor but then we were not there to watch TV!

Breakfast is served in the large dining room and provides a vast selection including really good porridge. Eggs cooked to order whatever style one wants. Plenty of fresh fruit and breads. Like most hotels - the toaster takes an age and usually requires a few passes before one gets golden toast! The service is really excellent but it would be nice to see the table being cleared between each course.

I always have an issue with hotels that charge for Wi-Fi and internet access and the charges in the 680 are high and the speed very low. We recommend that you use the internet shop around the corner in Standard Street where it is much cheaper and faster.

Taxis are availablle outside the door and we were there from Thursday to Monday and the first taxi we used the driver Geoffrey was affable and helpful and we used him during our entire stay including the return to the airport and discovered that by doing this it cost a lot less. We recommend Geoffrey and can provide his number!

The 680 is a large hotel and reasonably priced. The little 24 hour coffee bar in the foyer is really good and ideal for a coffee and a snack. If we return to Nairobi we would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irvine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    48
    74
    31
    26
See reviews for
20
36
32
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hackensack
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

I was at the 680 hotel late 2011 and the rooms were out-dated, the staff wasn't very friendly and spoke English that wasn't very easy to comprehend. I wanted to talk to the manager but when I did see someone I was told was the proprieter he seemed to be flirting with one of the girls. Definitely under new mis/management because the first time I was there in the mid 90's at least the staff was very friendly and professional. I am never going back to the 680 again.

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Aimee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night in the beginning of April. It is located in the centre of Nairobi, which is good if you have some business around, so you don't have to take a taxi all the time. We walked to a nearby travel-agency and to Java Coffee bar, no problem. We felt quite safe walking around during the day. Would not do it in the night though. Can really recommend Java, in my opinion they have the best coffee in Kenya! The room was small and outdated, but clean, and ok for a night. The breakfast was not so good, but with a nice view of the street outside from the restaurant. Don't buy breakfast if it is not included.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heggvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lagos
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

this is the most old fashioned hotel i have been to. there are no recent airconditioning,no pool, the tv is archaic with extremely limited unclear channels,the duty manager is rude. kenyans generally are not hospitable people.
i practically had to beg for hot water to shower. if for anything, it is only good for one night stay as its in the centre of town.
overall,it's below average.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lilianlagos e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I chose this hotel for my first stay in Nairobi. It is well located, although if you are not local, you will realize that you need to take taxis for almost any visit you may need to do (so it is not essential to sleep in downtown). The room was OK with a general old-fashion appeareance, but it was noisy, even if we asked for a silent one. The breakfast was good enough to keep you going the whole morning!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RM00184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huldenberg, Belgium
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

I have stayed at 680 for now over ten years (between 15 and 20 visits), everytime as a stop for one night, en route to other places.

The rooms are OK, but security can still be improved a lot. The bar is a place where you will find businessmen, locals and prostitutes. I certainly would not recommend for a longer stay.

Rates are OK, rooms clean. Ask for a room at the back side of hotel, not in front of Simmer's, at least if you want to sleep...

Room Tip: Avoid front side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wpatrickdewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

680 is located right in the center of Nairobi business district (CBD) which is great positive for business travelers and it sort of fills up for all other negatives. The rooms are simple and neat. The TV set is archaic and you need to get the remote to operate the TV from the reception (!!). There are very few channels so dont bother to go out and get the remote. If you are paying by credit card they charge you an additional 5% on the agreed rate. If you paying using local currency, the conversion to $ rates is a rip off. Please carry US$ or Euro currencies. The internet is charged for. I have heard that in some rooms the wi-fi signal is quite weak. The break fast is good and they serve healthy food. The alacarte menu has limited options.
The key negatives are - there are a number of women going arround and you need to be careful. There is a nighclub 'Simmers' just opposite the hotel which blares music till late into the night. In some rooms it can become quite a disturbance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subbu_Rajagopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
LAICO Regency Hotel
#60 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Oakwood Hotel
#127 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#63 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Sentrim Nairobi Boulevard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim 680 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim 680 Hotel

Property: Sentrim 680 Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Muindi Mbingu Street, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sentrim 680 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim 680 Hotel is located in Nairobi CBD, 30-minute drive from JKIA. The recently refurbished rooms have views of Nairobi. Each sound-proofed room features a digital flat screen TV, digital safe, electric fans / coolers and a fridge. The rooms also have private en-suite bathroom with hot / cold water and free toiletries. Some of the rooms have a private balcony. A restaurant, coffee shop and the Sentrope Bar & Lounge are also on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Jovago.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sentrim 680 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing