We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful meal presentation n Wide Range of wines” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pango Brasserie at the Fairview

Pango Brasserie at the Fairview
Ranked #82 of 536 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal presentation n Wide Range of wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were welcomed with a glass of wine n if you don't drink they offered cocktails instead (non alcoholic). Their food had a wonderful presentation, though what I asked for duck meat was not very well cooked (well I cant remember saying I wanted it rarely done but well done). If you are a person who loves your food in large quantities then this is not the place, unless you will have starters before and dessert after. The food is not usually a lot, I remember one of us after dining there went back home and immediately went to the fridge to look for more food as they weren't satisfied. They also close very early, my dad had had a delayed flight and they assured us that if he was not there by latest 10pm, the kitchen would have been closed. So I think they should adjust their flexibility on the times as many people dine up to around 11pm if not later. They are also abit pricey, but if you love an elegant and classy ambiance this is the place to go. Not to mention, we had a guy playing for us the piano downstairs the whole time we were dining. Its a nice venue for a romantic time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JudithMbogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    25
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

A pleasant and good dining experience. The meal was tasty and very well presented - staff were friendly and the service was excellent

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Timeless elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The decor is stunning, from the wood-inlay mosaic of ocean fish to the doors open over the garden. The service is over the top: unobtrusive yet timely. Then there's the food: wow. After a tasty salad (dates, pecans, green apple and blue cheese), I had the duck (cooked just right). Then, for dessert, I had the Crepes Suzette -- complete with table-side preparation just like it would have been done in the '50s. From the complementary glass of red wine to the "floor show" dessert, top rate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant food, brilliant service. A timeless classic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience there back in May. Best food in Africa. Met the chef, a charismatic Irish chap, with a passion for his work that shone through in the menu. Truly humbling when a chef with such dignity and pride cares about his customers so much. Will always come back! A true classic, European cuisine and standards!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Schibeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo,
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“If you like excellent food in an excellent ambience-this is the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Excellent ambience-excellent food-first class service-that sums it up. The dutch chef they have now has gone back to some of the old recepies. HURRAH!!
The sommelier however missed completly and recommended a wine which would benefit of 3-4 years more. Although he said it would taste like the welcome drink. We had to pay for his mistake!
But all in all: we are comming back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abut0ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pango Brasserie at the Fairview also viewed

 

Been to Pango Brasserie at the Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing