We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“There is more than one Pango!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pango Brasserie at the Fairview

Pango Brasserie at the Fairview
Ranked #77 of 522 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“There is more than one Pango!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My friends and I were a bit confused when we visited Pango on its great reviews.
We enjoyed mid week cocktails in the lounge and watched semi naked girls dance. None of which was mentioned by any of the previous reviewers.
It turns out that there are TWO Pangos! One on Moi Av (strip club one side/actual club the other) and then there is Pango Bishop’s Rd. Great food, great service.
Just make sure your taxi driver takes you to the right place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BikiniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    25
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Gastronomic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

An absolute MUST for foodies! Completely unexpected experience in the middle of Africa. Michelin worthy food and service. Fantastic wine selection. Pricey, but soooo worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SA_Business_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

the ambience was very tranquil. great service.
food was amazing - except for the ravioli which was a bit raw. the only thing about it is that it doesnt have prices on the menu... so when you get the bill its a bit of a shocker... would go back again though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S0nki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best european standards? Really...?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Unfortunately Pango seems to be wallowing in some halcyon age of 1950s paternalism. The management and waiters are apparently oblivious of the idea that my wife could earn more than me and present us with a menu with prices (for him) and a menu without prices (for her), on the understanding that money is too rough a subject for the delicate sensibilities of the gentler sex. On the other hand, it would have been more useful if my wife had been aware of the kind of money we would be paying for the flavourless rubbish we were served over the next 2hrs.

How can a restaurant be taken seriously if they have only one 'option' for wine by the glass? Are we expected as a couple with my wife breastfeeding and me driving to polish off a bottle of wine? The 'open' wine was sour and almost undrinkable and served in a soup bowl sized glass, which can accommodate half a litre... Is this to drown my sorrows as I chew through three utterly tasteless steroid-enhanced king prawns? Or were they emperor prawns, perhaps? What's bigger than emperor? Pope prawns? Big in the prawn world does not mean tasty. Far from it.... And why does every dish come with the same side plate of insipid over-cooked vegetables?

As we tasted some of the chocolate candies at the end of the meal (which are not so bad...), it was 09:30 and we were the last people in the restaurant! Maybe people here really have been transported from the 1950s, heading off to bed at 9pm. When the bill arrived (presented to the man obviously) I realised I could have eaten two far better, tastier, more inventive meals elsewhere in Nairobi without sharing the vapid conversations emanating from heaving tables of khaki-clad tourists. One to avoid.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional and classy restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I've been to Pangos a few times and it has always impressed. The food is delicious, prepared in a french style and the service is excellent. I recommend ordering tea at the end of the meal and enjoying the complimentary desert treats!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Starush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pango Brasserie at the Fairview also viewed

 

Been to Pango Brasserie at the Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing