We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pango Brasserie at the Fairview

Pango Brasserie at the Fairview
Ranked #55 of 475 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

the ambience was very tranquil. great service.
food was amazing - except for the ravioli which was a bit raw. the only thing about it is that it doesnt have prices on the menu... so when you get the bill its a bit of a shocker... would go back again though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S0nki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best european standards? Really...?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Unfortunately Pango seems to be wallowing in some halcyon age of 1950s paternalism. The management and waiters are apparently oblivious of the idea that my wife could earn more than me and present us with a menu with prices (for him) and a menu without prices (for her), on the understanding that money is too rough a subject for the delicate sensibilities of the gentler sex. On the other hand, it would have been more useful if my wife had been aware of the kind of money we would be paying for the flavourless rubbish we were served over the next 2hrs.

How can a restaurant be taken seriously if they have only one 'option' for wine by the glass? Are we expected as a couple with my wife breastfeeding and me driving to polish off a bottle of wine? The 'open' wine was sour and almost undrinkable and served in a soup bowl sized glass, which can accommodate half a litre... Is this to drown my sorrows as I chew through three utterly tasteless steroid-enhanced king prawns? Or were they emperor prawns, perhaps? What's bigger than emperor? Pope prawns? Big in the prawn world does not mean tasty. Far from it.... And why does every dish come with the same side plate of insipid over-cooked vegetables?

As we tasted some of the chocolate candies at the end of the meal (which are not so bad...), it was 09:30 and we were the last people in the restaurant! Maybe people here really have been transported from the 1950s, heading off to bed at 9pm. When the bill arrived (presented to the man obviously) I realised I could have eaten two far better, tastier, more inventive meals elsewhere in Nairobi without sharing the vapid conversations emanating from heaving tables of khaki-clad tourists. One to avoid.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional and classy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I've been to Pangos a few times and it has always impressed. The food is delicious, prepared in a french style and the service is excellent. I recommend ordering tea at the end of the meal and enjoying the complimentary desert treats!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Starush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geldrop, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good service and high quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This restaurant which is also open to other visitors as hotel guest is one of the best restaurants which I experienced in Africa. This restaurant is at a higher price level but the quality meets the best european standards and for the service it even exceeds this standard. Highly trained and friendly employees in the restaurants. We already visited this restaurant the third stay in Nairobi and are planning to go back with a group of businessmen next year. Thanks again!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hansencarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A classy restaurant with good class service. Makes you feel like you deserve what you pay for. Here he customer is KING. kudos to the team. Going on will be diluting the good standards here

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Waryblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pango Brasserie at the Fairview also viewed

 

Been to Pango Brasserie at the Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing