We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ideal location with amazing views and great atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ideal location with amazing views and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

I had a 24 hour over layover in this hotel and was very impressed. In Nairobi we have always stayed at the Intercontinental before which is slicker but this hotel is much closer to the airport and ideal unless you need to be in the city. The hotel is very aesthetically pleasing with a lovely atmosphere. Many of the public areas in the hotel overlook the game reserve. You may or may not see anything. I saw zebras during my short stay. On my first night I had room service on arrival about 10:30 PM and it was excellent. Red snapper on a bed of delicious pasta. The next day I had a late lunch in the bar, food again very good but service friendly but slow. I had to ask for the bill about four times, On checking out in the evening for the flight back to London I was itching to stay as the bar area was buzzing and there were a couple of live jazz musicians. Generally very impressed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwokypoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    450
    177
    70
    58
See reviews for
133
242
65
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Doberan, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

Booked in advance via internet. Arrived in the evening but no vacant room could be found. We had to pick a very early flight next morning and just wanted to sleep. After one hour we got our keys. When we entered the room it was occupied. Went back and had to wait again. Finally got a vacant room, had some overpriced food in the restaurant (poor attention by the staff) ordered early breakfast (was promised by staff at the desk) and went to sleep. Beds are terrible hard! Very small bathroom! Went down for breakfast in the morning. They just started to prepare. Had to wait for 30 min. At the time of checking out they delayed us again with wrong room charges. We almost missed our flight to SA! Never again this hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catsailor61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
219 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

I have stayed at many Nairobi hotels (InterContinental, Serena etc) and this is now my favorite, for many reasons:

It is close to the airport. The drive from the airport to a downtown hotel in a taxi at night is not the way to start your African stay. This is the closest, nice, hotel to the airport.

It is beautiful. Tons of glass and natural wood. Very modern and yet still African.

It's located on the Nairobi National Park, as in RIGHT ON IT. I ate breakfast and saw giraffes walking about. Nice. You won't find that anywhere downtown.

It is not downtown. Nairobi is a dangerous city. If you're downtown you'll take walks and that can get you into trouble, especially after dark. So, out here, there is nothing close to walk to!

The rooms are not large, but comfortable, The bed was great. Nice and firm.

There were very few electrical plugs in the room and they were only the Kenyan style so plan ahead.

great shower

The internet wifi is not free and connection is slow - even in the business center

TIA - this is africa - nothing happens quickly and discussions about anything that needs to be changed takes a big discussion = be patient

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joesindorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

We chose this hotel based upon the location (near the airport) and the good reviews we saw on TA. We were advised to stay near the airport because of the heavy Nairobi traffic getting to the airport, so this was the final hotel of our itinerary before returning home.
BIG mistake. Very disappointing! The hotel itself looks lovely. BUT
#1 I requested a room overlooking the "park", but it turned out that I was also overlooking the restaurant. The restaurant has a terrace, which in itself was noisy, but at night they had musicians playing out there, which made it impossible to sleep. The musicians were horrible, they need music lessons!!
#2 The room was very tiny, but ok. The bed was as hard as a ROCK, I'm not kidding, I am pretty sure there was no mattress, just plywood. The pipes in the walls constantly made noise. The rooms are on these long hallways that are not carpeted, so every noise in the hall is amplified!
#3 The pool area is very nice, it overlooks the Park. BTW we only saw an ostrich the whole time we were at this hotel, don't expect to see much in the park. The side of the hotel where is the pool is located is ALSO the side where the giant (5 stories high) cooling fans vent, so when you are at the pool you have this constant roar of the fans. The hotel is very poorly designed in so many ways!
#4 I could have lived with the rest of the problems, but when they served us hamburgers FULL of worms, that was really the last straw. I immediately brought it to someones attention, and to their credit, they apologized alot & assigned us a "personal" server who took care of us. But I was afraid to order any meat or poultry, so we only ate plain pizza after that. My poor daughter was starving the whole time, but I was afraid to eat there. If I have worms, I'll know where I got them.
In retrospect, I wish we had gone back to the Tribe Hotel for the end of our trip. I would rather have enjoyed my last days in Nairobi & just take a little longer to get to the airport.
The only good thing I can say is the room had nice ammenities & nice towels & it was clean.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank witwisAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the wonderul Baraza Hotel in Zanzibar and had previously spent a single night at Giraffe Manor (outstanding place!). We had to spend one night on Friday 17th September in 2 deluxe rooms before our flight back to to the uk . As a family and as a couple we have stayed in hotels all around the world and this was the worst hotel we have stayed in. We had asked for rooms next to each other as we had our 2 daughters (19 and 13) with us and although we were assured there was just a gap between the rooms this was not the case and they were a room down from us. We ordered room service which took over an hour to get to us and when it arrived it was stone cold. My husband ordered a burger which looked like someone had taken a bite out of it and the buns were burnt. The steaks we had ordered medium to rare was not cooked, veg was raw and the chips (all 6 of them) were also not cooked properly. The drinks arrived with no bottle opener. They tried to send up a replacement meal - the burger was an improvement but my steak was even more raw (we expencted it to run off the plate!) and inedible. My eldest daughter was so hungry she had eaten hers. The beds were like sleeping on a table and when my husband queried this in the morning the girl said that there weren't mattresses on the bed they were coming next year and that most people asked for more pillows to sleep on. We did not pay for our meal but had to pay for my daughter's but I am very unimpressed with this hotel. On the plus front security was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliecat606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

Staff, views, and room all fantastic! The restaurant has a great selection with an international buffet during breakfast and lunch. The staff is very attentive and friendly. Rooms are large and clean with great view.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Billfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

The location of this hotel is perfect to avoid the traffic of Nairobi.
The hotel is close to the airport, which makes easy access, and an ideal location
Staff were very accommodating to our needs (3 year old daughter) with an excellent choice of restaurants and bars overlooking Nairobi National Park.
The rooms were clean and spacious with all the expected facilities of a new hotel.
Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaljBansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#13 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#46 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing