We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Looks much nicer on the inside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #18 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Looks much nicer on the inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Driving past this hotel I didn't think much of it but once we got inside it was beautiful.
I stayed here for 1 night with my sister and my dad as our flight to Tanzania left very early the next morning.
We ate lunch and dinner in the hotel and both were very nice.
The buffet lunch had lots of variety and the balcony had a nice view over the game park.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Rooms were very clean and quite roomy i though. Everything was well stocked and the tv had a good variety of channels. Not a lot of sound proofing though, I could hear the people next to us and above us all night but it didnt bother me too much.
The gift shop was very good as well. Not overpriced and still had a good variety of knick knacks for sale

Room Tip: Ask for one that overlooks the game park. Its nice to look out the window and see something run past
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback.

We are in the process of installing sound proof windows.

I am truly pleased to hear that your stay was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    415
    172
    65
    51
See reviews for
117
218
60
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel had been chosen by our Travel Company for an overnight stay before flying onto Tanzania. Unfortunately our flight did not arrive in Nairobi until 9.45pm so we arrived at the Hotel around 11.15pm, in the dark, which is not the best way of seeing it.
The hotel was well situated, with guarded gate and strangely enough an airport type security scanner for baggage at the reception entrance.
We were all very tired and the hassle of booking in did nothing to endear us to the Hotel. It was slow to the extreme despite there being four desk positions, but only two attended, I suspect it was lack of staff.
Everything got worse, since the electronic door keys failed to work and this meant a queue of guests at reception attempting to get assistance to enter their rooms.
You soon found out that everything is quite laid back and a "hurry-up" mentality just does not exist.
The room we were given however was the Masai Suite which was just heavenly but we could not open the windows due to the mosquitos and other flying insects.
Also having to be collected at 6am the following morning did nothing to allow us to appreciate this great ex-American Embassy building.
I am told that a game park comes right up to the Hotel but being dark on arrival and departure, nothing could be seen.
Under other circumstances, I am sure this Hotel would be great, we just hit the ground running so did not have the chance to experience the pleasures and daylight.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowdlerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

My sincere apologies on the series of inconveniences you faced during the check-in process.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greatexpectationss
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

A very disappointing visit.....

Staff were slow and inattentive, and tried to overcharge me in many ways, from food i had not ordered, to overcharging certain items.

So i left disappointed and it got worse after that. The overall bill was put through multiple times on my card. I believe that this was done deliberately based on the earlier unsuccessful attempt to overcharge me.

No response from the hotel when i wrote to complain.

There are far better options in Nairobi - I suggest you go elsewhere or pay in cash. Do not trust this establishment with your credit card.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greatexpectationss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

In regards to your complain we did investigate the matter and strict corrective measures have been taken to ensure they are not repeated.

We sincerely hope that we don't lose you as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Recently in Nairobi and we selected the Ole Sereni; close to the airport, was the former US embassy with tight security and is quite stunning. The best part is that it overlooks the National Game Park and we saw giraffe while having breakfast. I found the staff accommodating.

Room Tip: try for a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The view from the hotel is absolutely stunning and the service quality is great. I stayed at the hotel for three nights for business and I will return if my road leads back to Kenya. I did however expect more from a 5 star property - everything is on par with a 3/4 star property. Room was clean, restaurant was good quality and good wifi, but nothing exceptional...

Good location to the airport.

Room Tip: Task for a room with a view of the National Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aucamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your positive review.

We are in the process of adding value on all levels of hotel operations and I am sure your future visits will be memorable.We look forward to welcoming you. back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

While the hotel itself was OK, the service was really not good.

- I made the reservation online. When I needed to add another night, and another guest, I had to make multiple phone calls. I was told that the reservations dept doesn't deal with internet bookings. How can they not deal with bookings made on their own website?? When they finally agreed to add a night as one off thing, I had to call 3 times before they finally emailed me a confirmation.

- On arrival I was told I can't get a twin room (even though I had a guest joining on the second night). Was told I could have a king, and switch to a twin on the second night. I was then led to a smoking room. The bell boy (who was very good by the way) then called, and got me transferred to a non-smoking twin room. Apparently they did have twin rooms!!

- That night I dined at the eagles restaurant. I was sat and told that it would take a while to take my order. Someone finally showed up after 10 minutes!! This is the fine dining restaurant. I was given an iPad to order drinks. I ordered one. Nothing came. The waiter then told me the iPad system doesn't work. Why give me one in the first place??

- On checkout, I was given a really confusing bill, which didn't add up to the total I was being charged. I even had to go back to the reception and they finally gave me an itemised bill, albeit still very confusing.

Room Tip: Park view, non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikhil_Advani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback.

We truly apologize for the inconveniences you had faced and assure you that your future stays will be memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Ole Sereni is close to the airport, has amazing service for travellers - from the friendly and helpful porters to the quick and efficient desk staff. I stayed one night which was a pit because my trip was very rushed. However for a business traveller the restauart is open 24 hours so breakfast before the very early flight is a possibility. Ask for a park facing room so you can see the animals in the morning (I hear but had a city facing room). Clean and well furnished rooms although the one bedroom was a tad small for my liking. The bathroom kind of feels like its inside the bedroom. Overall though about 10 minutes away from the airport (20 in some traffic) and I will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a door away from the passage entry door - the sound of cards in that door kept me awake for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
I thank you for taking time to share your positive experience.

We are truly pleased to know that your stay was memorable and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#47 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing