We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent hotel right by safari park and city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #17 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel right by safari park and city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Don't be put off by the location seeming to be just off a road junction- From the other side the hotel looks out onto a game reserve! The staff are excellent; the bars restaurants and rooms all look out across the park. It's not quite like being on a full safari, but you will likely see deer, and possibly a buffalo or two.. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and there's free wifi too. A great place to break your journey.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pete J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
I sincerely thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

We hope you will consider our services in your future travels and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    415
    172
    65
    52
See reviews for
117
218
60
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We spent one night and one day (day room) here on our safari to Kenya and Tanzania. The night we arrived we were there from about midnight to 6:30 AM. The room is small but comfortable with AC (yea!!). The day we spent there was nice also – they have pretty good wifi so you can catch up on the world.

The food was surprisingly good – the breakfast and lunch buffets were excellent and the dinner we had was fabulous – a huge menu and everything basically prepared as you order it.

The location near the airport is super – this is a great business/travelers hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panamaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for your positive review.

We look forward to having you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Excellent property , right next to the Nairobi national park!! The staff is efficient and helpful and food is very good.
Safari organized by them is the best part! Excellent guide Ben who was not patient but extremely knowledgeable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shwetamogha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am very pleased to learn that your stay was memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
168 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

On the edge of the Nairobi Park, close to the airport and far enough away from the chaos of downtown Nairobi, the Ole Sereni is in an ideal location. The only drawback is the construction work at the front of the hotel - but this only really affects the aesthetics. I found the service to be friendly even if the receptionists were not the most efficient, my room furnished to a high standard and clean, and the restaurant/ bar areas pleasant and comfortable. Breakfast was great, and dinner above average compared to other meals I have eaten in Kenya.
The hotel offers a transfer service to/ from the airport which is expensive, so if possible try and arrange for a local taxi service. Booking rooms directly through the hotel can be complicating and frustrating, so make reservations through hotels.com or some such site. (Note, however, that the prices do not differ.)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park may afford you views of buffalo at the waterhole and promise to be quieter. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am pleased to learn that your stay was a pleasant one. We will address the booking concern you raised.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

First let me qualify this by saying that we did not intend to stay here as we were booked at a lodge in Nairobi Park. The Kenyan Wildlife Service decided that very day to ban night driving to deter poaching and we were re-booked at the Ole Sereni, The hotel is quite large and borders the park. It is very convenient to the airport which is a great plus in Nairobi where you can sit for literally hours in traffic. I believe it is also a meeting and conference hotel.

The rooms was quite nice and you would have everything that you might expect and need.
We left very early and the restaurant was not open at that hour so I cannot comment on the breakfast. We did have dinner in the Big Five restaurant the night we arrived and that was good. We ate on the patio.

Which brings me to the only caveat - we did have a room that was over the bar. This is not the best idea as people are in the bar out on the patio at all hours as it seems to be a popular place. (even at 1 a.m.) I would request a room as far away from the bar as possible.

Otherwise - a fine place to stay especially if you are hitting the airport early.

Room Tip: Try Not to get over any outside dining or drinking patio - although those are on the park view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback.

I am pleased that your stay was a pleasant one apart from the noise from the patio area and for that we do sincerely apologise.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights in Feb 14 (my 3 stay in 6 months) and remain undecided about where on the mix of good and not so good Ole Sereni represents. Generally the staff are excellent, cheerful and very helpful. The hotel is clean and the fabric well maintained.
The not so good, the bedrooms are small; I mean Japanese small; the bedroom air con makes a lot of noise but doesn't really affect the temperature. The same can be said for the mini bar.
Prices are not cheap at US$250/night. What shocked me even more was the breakfast at KES3,000 which came to over US$35. It used to be hearty buffet, but now all meats are portion controlled by staff; you can't have it both ways and expect guests to put up with it. Time to try a new hotel in Nairobi.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

We have taken note of your concern on the Room & Breakfast pricing. We believe we offer value for money and our aim is to continuously enhance the product. On the room size front, we are in the process of revamping the interiors.

We hope you will consider our services in your future travels.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

How disappointing a hotel this was. Lovely setting although the new highway running alongside it will not enhance the views of the national park. Could not reserve a room online or by telephone with the reservations department. Ended up using booking.com. Not enough staff on duty at reception, porter etc. complete shambles.
Restaurant. Was great - good food and lovely setting.
Massage superb.
Deluxe room overlooking the park quite small and in spite of advertising "small" balcony it was only bars outside the windows. View was lovely though.
Wanted to charge 3000/- for a 20 minute taxi ride to the airport. We called one locally at half the price.
All in all an extremely disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms overlook the park. Standard rooms overlook the highway being constructed extremely clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

My sincere apologies on the service lapses you faced while booking the room. I have taken this up with my Team and we assure they are rectified now.

May we request you reconsider our services during your future visits to Nairobi as we assure you a superior experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#47 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing