We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ole Sereni
Nearby Hotels
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$170
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$208
$155
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,453)
Filter reviews
1,453 results
Traveler rating
509
567
214
83
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
567
214
83
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkgame parkclose to the airportgame reserveeagles restaurantpark viewwild animalsinternational airportmombasa roadan airport hotelbetween flightsnairobi trafficwilson airportgift shoprooms are niceshort staybusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
989 - 994 of 1,453 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

There is a constant cacophony of noise from a road being constructed outside and the cleaners who are quite happy to Hoover outside your room early in the morning even though the "do-not-disturb sign is up".
Asking for drinks in the bar in the evenings depends which waiter you get as to whether they have your beverage of choice or not. Drinks orders can take 40 minutes to materialise, even when there are only two other customers there.
General attitude of the hotel is to be lazy and unhelpful.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Fairy-Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for taking time to give us your feeback.

My profound apologies on the inconveniences you faced on the slow service and the noise on the floors.

I have taken this concers with my team and we will ensure they are not repeated going forward.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and i stayed at Ole Sereni on two occasions, both were fantastic. Great food, great service by all staff and they were very accommodating when we needed the room till late in the day. This place is a must if you are in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Chose a room that faces the Nairobi National Park.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy53Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am very pleased that your stay was pleasant.

We look forward to welcoming you both back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed the hotel, the main attraction being its location, its right next to the game park. Consequently we breakfasted watching zebra, herds of buffalo and an amazing variety of bird life and with binoculars the giraffe were visible, wonderful!
The service was generally good, the staff were lovely, the bed was a bit hard for my other half, but fine for me, the food was good particularly breakfast, great choice and wonderful fruit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

We are pleased that your stay was a pleasant one.

We are in the process of changing the bed mattress.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Arriving around 4am to this hotel felt suitably exotic in the quiet pre-dawn. We loved our clean, comfortable room overlooking the park. We found all staff were very friendly. We enjoyed the food very much. The iced tea with syrup on the side was delicious! The breakfasts were really good. Restaurant service was a little uneven, though. We had fun shopping in the gift shop. We liked the decor and the vibrant atmosphere created by the variety of people passing through the hotel.

The best were our three days of safari, arranged by the hotel. Two days at Nairobi National Park, and one at Nakuru. Some of the most memorable days of our lives. We met our guide Benson through the hotel, and he was beyond outstanding. Among so many other breathtaking highlights, he found a group of eleven lions, who were walking right toward us, then past us, then just beyond, where they took down a zebra, in Nairobi National Park.

The hotel may be popular for a stopover, but there is also the opportunity for a great safari experience right from this convenient and beautiful place.

Room Tip: Facing the park.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2tulum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

I thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am truly pleased that your stay was memorable and that we were a part of making it happen.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Last Monday, Nov 11th 2013, for the first time me & my friend fresh on vacation from the U.S decided to have breakfast at Ole Sereni. Nice serene atmosphere, highly given accolades. However, at 10am the waitress stated they had no menu for breakfast; we went ahead and ordered a light breakfast; even though she was nice, she didn't quote the prices either. The scrambled eggs were mundane and looked like morsels.

When she brought the bill, apparently, they have no entry for sausages hence they substitute it to show you had cereal which by itself depicted Four sausages substituted as cereal as $11, upon inquiring to talk to manager (Kanana) who had no empathy, lacks any expertise when it comes to being a Manager; no empathy to our concerns, not seemed to be bothered by our questions/inquiries. To her, it seemed like we were just a bunch of looney locals with the usual hullabaloo. She stated that the price was actually less and she needed to refund us around $4(which was good) but for a 5 star hotel where is the conformity on prices? Who is in-charge.*** She went on ahead to make amends to the receipt and 30 minutes after, she wasn't back. We had to go looking for her.after which 38 minutes later she showed up with the change and had the look that "this is not money", she didn't apologize for taking her time and actually, she was frowning upon asking her.

This is bad reputation for a first timer. This kind of ignorance exhibited by a Manager is quixotic, brusque and archaic for a high repute 5 star hotel. I the local, I the little customer who spent a meagre $50 for breakfast makes the overall experience/name of Ole- Sereni
So, for us, seems like Kanana is bigger than the customers, It's a wrap!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

My profound apologies on the incovenineces you faced.

As you are locally based, I request you to consider choosing our services with an assurance that your experince will be far superior.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews