We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ole Sereni to your Saves list
Ole Sereni
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
eastbourne, england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed the hotel, the main attraction being its location, its right next to the game park. Consequently we breakfasted watching zebra, herds of buffalo and an amazing variety of bird life and with binoculars the giraffe were visible, wonderful!
The service was generally good, the staff were lovely, the bed was a bit hard for my other half, but fine for me, the food was good particularly breakfast, great choice and wonderful fruit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ardy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

We are pleased that your stay was a pleasant one.

We are in the process of changing the bed mattress.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    407
    164
    61
    50
See reviews for
109
211
58
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Arriving around 4am to this hotel felt suitably exotic in the quiet pre-dawn. We loved our clean, comfortable room overlooking the park. We found all staff were very friendly. We enjoyed the food very much. The iced tea with syrup on the side was delicious! The breakfasts were really good. Restaurant service was a little uneven, though. We had fun shopping in the gift shop. We liked the decor and the vibrant atmosphere created by the variety of people passing through the hotel.

The best were our three days of safari, arranged by the hotel. Two days at Nairobi National Park, and one at Nakuru. Some of the most memorable days of our lives. We met our guide Benson through the hotel, and he was beyond outstanding. Among so many other breathtaking highlights, he found a group of eleven lions, who were walking right toward us, then past us, then just beyond, where they took down a zebra, in Nairobi National Park.

The hotel may be popular for a stopover, but there is also the opportunity for a great safari experience right from this convenient and beautiful place.

Room Tip: Facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2tulum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
I thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am truly pleased that your stay was memorable and that we were a part of making it happen.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Last Monday, Nov 11th 2013, for the first time me & my friend fresh on vacation from the U.S decided to have breakfast at Ole Sereni. Nice serene atmosphere, highly given accolades. However, at 10am the waitress stated they had no menu for breakfast; we went ahead and ordered a light breakfast; even though she was nice, she didn't quote the prices either. The scrambled eggs were mundane and looked like morsels.

When she brought the bill, apparently, they have no entry for sausages hence they substitute it to show you had cereal which by itself depicted Four sausages substituted as cereal as $11, upon inquiring to talk to manager (Kanana) who had no empathy, lacks any expertise when it comes to being a Manager; no empathy to our concerns, not seemed to be bothered by our questions/inquiries. To her, it seemed like we were just a bunch of looney locals with the usual hullabaloo. She stated that the price was actually less and she needed to refund us around $4(which was good) but for a 5 star hotel where is the conformity on prices? Who is in-charge.*** She went on ahead to make amends to the receipt and 30 minutes after, she wasn't back. We had to go looking for her.after which 38 minutes later she showed up with the change and had the look that "this is not money", she didn't apologize for taking her time and actually, she was frowning upon asking her.

This is bad reputation for a first timer. This kind of ignorance exhibited by a Manager is quixotic, brusque and archaic for a high repute 5 star hotel. I the local, I the little customer who spent a meagre $50 for breakfast makes the overall experience/name of Ole- Sereni
So, for us, seems like Kanana is bigger than the customers, It's a wrap!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

My profound apologies on the incovenineces you faced.

As you are locally based, I request you to consider choosing our services with an assurance that your experince will be far superior.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have been staying in this prestigious, historic and wild hotel for more than one week and the ambiance was unique, the overall decor is impeccable and exceptional, got a red carpet welcome with my friends and and escorted to the reception with our luggage's safely taken care of. at the reception, service was fast and warm, much friendlier than i expected, we were offered with a welcome drink i understand it was a non alcoholic drink called 'ndawa' which was waaaaah! we were escorted into our respective rooms, the room orientation was detailed, safe was secure for all my valuables, bath tab ensured i was in my relaxing mood, bed was comfy and incredibly comfortable, internet was fast and reliable.
Restaurant service was great, despite the packed guests, the chefs and the waiters coordinated perfectly, it was a professional service worth my mention. The waterhole terrace was fabulous and the park view was great with wild grazing as you have your sumptuous meals or drinks.
I personally appreciate the personalized And unique service and i received from the guest relations team, sheila and shadrak, they portray genuine customer service and professional ethics as par, they organized the memorable managers occasion where we were spoiled with complimentary beverages and snacks. i thank the management for the game drive. This hotel is worth and should never be missed by any guest who is security conscious for the entire hotel is safe guarded, warden camp inside the park, heavily security monitoring gadgets and most of the officers are alert as per my interrogation as a senior officer. i recommend all to have their own experience.

Room Tip: ask for park facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
I sincerely thank you for taking time to give us a very thorough feedback of your stay and delighted to know that your stay was pleasant.

It is our constant effort to ensure we provide the finest of comforts and services and we are happy to learn that you appreciate it.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

First time as flight crew member in this lovely hotel. Its location is the best possible for Nairobi hotels. Close to the airport, but most important, best views over the Nairobi national park.
Only a one day layover, but got at least a bit of that safari feeling.
Hotel offers all the comfort one could wish, and hotel personell is really friendly!
JUST GO THERE on your next Nairobi visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a park side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mvdhum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
I thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

We are extremly delighted to learn that your stay was a pleasnt one.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great service and delicious food served up at a wonderful location overlooking the National Park. Nairobi traffic can be really hectic and gridlocked at times so, if you're only stopping over, you'll appreciate this hotel's close location to the airport which will minimise your commute time. Large selection of breakfast on the buffet and served from 6am which is really useful if you're doing an early safari.

Room Tip: The hotel bar and restaurant overlook the National Park so I'd recommend saving money by booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TessBless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to give us your raving reviews.

We are very pleased to learn that your experience was memorable and you enjoyed our product.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a convenient hotel that many business people use as it is close to the airport and industrial areas. Better hotels can be found in Nairobi city centre but when you have to travel to work each day, the one hour plus to get in and out effectively rules them out and this is a safe viable option with views across the national park (avoid the side overlooking construction of a new highway)

Staff are friendly but generally not very efficient and you may have to ask twice; be it asking for your food bill, an ironing board or someone to fix the noise on the fridge.

The food is however very good and gym facilities are also of a good standard. I have stayed here 3 times between August and October and to be fair i have noticed improvements both in the service and the views from the dining terrace. My first two visits i saw no animals but on the final visit i saw many giraffe a few hundred feet away while eating breakfast. The introduction of a watering hole close by is no doubt starting to pay dividends in this respect.

I believe this hotel is sometimes referred to as 5 star but it is no more than a competent 4 star most suited to business people.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Briwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am pleased to know that you have noticed improvements from your past visits and we will continue to put more efforts in improving the hardware and service delivery.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#43 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing