We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“what happened to my change” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #19 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“what happened to my change”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I must say the location is fantastic,..first time round we had buffet sunday lunch ,while enjoying the beautiful view of the park which was beautiful.To my surprise after paying my bill in cash i was not given back my change.i inquired from the waiter who was serving us WHAT HAPPENED TO MY CHANGE .To be replied that the hotel does not give back change in coin.I just could not believe this.The manager was advised of my fury and also comfirmed NO CHANGE IN COINS.He was going to complementary us with a cup of tee.My second time round was in August for massage and lunch.the same thing happened again NO CHANGE IN COINS.I was going to give a tip or even leave the change,I JUST COULD NOT BELIEVE IT WAS HAPPENING TO US FOR THE SECOND TIME, Please do not come with search an excuse in a 5star hotel.i have been to many hotels in the world. This is my first time to hear that a hotel does to give change in coins.I would kindly want to know if this is the hotel policy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I thank you for takign time to give us your feedback.

Allow me to apologise for the NO CHAGE given back to you. I am sure it was a one off situation which we are addressing right away. Under no circumstances is the waiter allowed NOT to give out what is owed to the guest after the bill is settled.

I will personally take up this issue and ensure it is not repeated gping forward.

May I request you to reconsider our services during your future travels to Nairobi and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    429
    175
    68
    53
See reviews for
119
227
62
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have now stayed there twice for business and can highly recommend this hotel.
The staff, although slow at times, are extremely helpful and friendly.
The location is of course amazing as right next to the national park so if you are lucky you can spot wild animals from your room or restaurant terrace.
The gym has the latest equipment and the spa offers a great selection of treatments.
It is also quite close to the airport which is convenient for my type of business activities. The shop has a wide selection of gifts but the prices are on the high side. The food is also excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christel88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am very pleased to know that your stay was a pleasant one apart from Slow Service which we are addressing right away.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed for 1 night, with meetings at the airport, the perfect location, and you avoid the manic traffic in and out of the city.
Room very pleasant, if a little small, and always good to have free wifi.
Buffet dinner very good and plenty of choice.
Only moan would be the tardy check in/check out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colincraig100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am pleased to learn that your stay was pleasant apart from the slow process at the reception.

We will address this concern right away.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
275 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for a night while travelling out to the Maasai Mara. Security is good at the hotel. We stayed in the Maasai Suite which was a beautiful suite. The only complaint is that the bed is extremely uncomfortable but that was the only complaint we had for the room.

Unfortunately, we didn't have time to use the amazing bathtub but it really was beautiful. The bathroom was very nice with a great shower.

The hotel itself is beautiful and if you eat at the restaurant you can overlook the park which is so peaceful. They have some great statutes and it is decorated very nicely. Service in the restaurant was extremely slow when we ate and the staff wasn't overly attentive.

Room Tip: Maasai Suite was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santucci1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback which is very appreciated.

Our sincere apologies on the bed discomfort and the slow service in the restaurant. We will have these concerns addressed right away.

We hope you will consider our services during your future travels to this part of the world.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Ole Sereni is around 15-20 MInutes from NBO international airport and next to the city's own national park. The rooms are nicely furnished and clean, my view from the small balcony unfortunately faced the adjacent parking lot. The hotel's restaurant has a good selections of menues, the local beef was so delicious I had it twice for diner. Breakfast was served on the terrace with a great view over the park, the buffet selection did not leave any wish unanswered. Through the local travel desk, I booked an early morning safari to the park where we spend 4 hours watching giraffes, buffalos, zebras, gazelles, rhinos, ostrich and lions. Definitely a trip to be recommended, especially if you don't have a lot of time but still feel for some African adventure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZurichBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
I sincerely thank you for taking time to give us your positive reviews.

You have given us Top Marks across the board and for that we are greatly humbled.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights. We choose it because of the location next to The National park. Our room was small but very nice. The first night we had a lovely meal in The Eagle restaurant on the 4th floor. The staff were excellent. When we asked for a wine recommendation they matched the wine superbly to our chosen meal. The only down side of our stay was the noise. It sounded like table and chairs being dragged across the floor from very early morning. That said we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishtroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am glad you found Eagle's a fine culinary experience.

We do however apologise for the noise pollution on the floors and will address is right away.

We look forward to having you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for several nights last week. I went on 3 safaris with the hotel. We saw so much wildlife at Nairobi National Park. We even saw a pride of 11 lions stalk and kill a zebra! Amazing. Our game driver was Benson, he was amazing, knowledgeable and he knew where to take us for the best safari experience.
This hotel is more than just a great place to stay, it is a destination for great safaris!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jungleRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your raving reviews.

I recollect us watching those extra-ordinary images of the Nairobi National Park especially the one with 11 LIONS!!!! I have not met any of our guests who had a game sighting as you did.

Thank you for acknowledging 'Benson's' efforts and we wlook forward to welcoming you back.

You just might see 12 LIONS next time:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#48 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing