We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and so convenient for air travellers.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #18 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Clovelly, Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great hotel and so convenient for air travellers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having been through the chaos of Nairobi before the fire at Jomo Kenyatta airport, we were very pleased that our next stay was conveniently situated between the smaller Wilson airport and the main airport. The hotel met all the criteria that we would expect from such a modern establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    415
    172
    65
    52
See reviews for
117
219
60
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Tables overlooking savannah, nice and private. Waitrons attentive, not rushed. Ideal for a stop over while in transit.
The menu is varied and reasonably priced, including grills and seafood as well as asian cuisine. The portions are reasonably sized and well-priced.
The restaurant has a full bar and inside dinkng is an option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Errol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback which we truly appreciate.

Ole-Sereni's Biggest Strength is its unique location and we are glad to learn that you enjoyed the setting and the service levels.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ex pat in Ct
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on two occasions overnight between flights. For anyone who has endured or is aware of the traffic congestion and delays in Nairobi this is ideally situated between the international (now tent) airport and Wilson airport. The rooms are well appointed but extremely small. Service in the main restaurant is extremely slow and inefficient which left a very poor impression on what I would have considered an 'average' hotel.
So, ideal between flights but don't expect more than a basic airport overnight

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsDeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your constructive feedback.

I do apologise for the Service delays you faced which are unacceptable to us and we will ensure gets attended to right away.

We do hope you will reconsider our services during your future travels to Nairobi.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed here with my three kids for just one night 8th August. It had meant to be 7th August, but due to the fire at JKIA and no flights from Dar, we got into a taxi and spent a loooong time on the road...so when we pitched up at the Ole mid-morning I was very impressed that they simply 'rolled' over our booking to the Thursday for the two rooms. The people on reception were friendly and extremely efficient, dealing with 4 very tired, hungry and travel-weary characters. About an hour later we were tucking into the glorious buffet...the food choice was tremendous, and the food freshly cooked. The pool (fantastic) and deck overlook the Nairobi National Park, but we didn't see any animals from there. The hotel is one to relax in..and as it is near the airport, it is a good choice for a last stay before a flight elsewhere. In summary, the place is highly efficient, very comfortable and luxurious. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the club rooms which were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topofkilimanjaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to give your positive feedback.

Thank you for acknowledging our Teams efforts as we will share your sentiments with them.

We thank you once again for choosing Ole-Sereni and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Recently was in Nairobi. After a not so great visit to Lagos was pleasantly surprised with everything the hotel had to offer. The hotel is next to Nairobi National park. from the hotel rooms you get to see the park and if you are lucky can see wild animals grazing, hunting etc. I could spot wild buffalows and few Zebras. The restaurant has excellent multi cuisine offerings.

Room Tip: Please ask for park facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rndsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I sincerely thank you for giving us your raving reviews.

I am glad you got the opportunity to spot some game in the park.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
208 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ideally loacted at about 10 miles from the airport this hotel is facing noational park and from the terrasee you can enjoy viewing the girafes if you're lucky or aother aninamls and many birds.
Staff is great and very friendly , the breakfast buffet and lunch buffet are also great.
We were not lucky though as construction outside the hotel were noisy and we had to wake up at àèhàà when the wrok started !
Shame as this would have been a realxing stay... Check construction is over before going
Visited 08 to 14 AUG

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rv0365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I however do apologise for the noise pollution you faced due to the adjacent road construction which is concluded now.

We hope you will reconsider our services during your future tarvels to Nairobi.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We only stayed here one night before flying down to Dar Es Salaam. The hotel is very good. British Airways crew were all staying here too. We arrived very late, but had a speedy check-in and great breakfast overlooking the national park. The bar and restaurant areas were very clean and the waiting staff were very efficient. The room décor is a little dated, but I would stay here again if I was travelling to Nairobi

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am glad that your stay was a pleasant one and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#51 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing