We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish hotel in a great location between the two main Nairobi airports”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel in a great location between the two main Nairobi airports”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on the way back from a safari holiday in the Central Highlands of Kenya.

The hotel is clean, stylish and located in a great position between the two main Nairobi Airports which meant travelling to and from it was effortless.

I was genuinely impressed with its outdoor bars and restaurants, its swimming pool overlooking the game reserve as well as the attentiveness of the front desk staff.

My room was very clean, comfortable and most importantly quiet which ensured a proper night's sleep

The hotel has been adept at displaying its African roots at the same time as appealing to the international traveller set.

My only development point is that the free WI-FI signal needs to be stronger throughout the hotel rather than in a few pockets.

I would certainly consider staying here again next time I am passing through Nairobi

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW19man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am very pleased to learn that your stay was pleasant and upto your expectations.

I have taken note of the concern you raised on the WI-FI strength and we will address it right away.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    484
    192
    72
    64
See reviews for
144
267
71
534
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The reception was very good. I received a warmly welcome by the friendly staff. All the staff members that I have interacted with have displayed proffessionalism, friendliness, passion for their work. A great deal of respect has been displayed by all. I have noticed high standard of hygiene within the rooms as well as the dinning areas. The staff really make you feel important. This is particularly important for people that are on business as the business environment can be very hectic times. That been the case, nothing is more refreshing than being received with warmth, respect and dignity by the hotel staff. This just rejuvinates you and you feel recharged after a hectic day.

This unexpected invitation to the evening with the Managers was just a cherry on top, as it really made me feel important and most valued indeed. Keep up the good sense of appreciation of the what keeps you in business, and that is the people. This just affirmed by believe on the reason why we are in business and that is my own way to keep customers happy contrary to popular belief that we are in business to make money. Making money to me is the measure of how well we look after our customers.

Thank you and keep up the proffesionalism that is displayed by your employees and look after them as they ensure that they represent you well,which is sign of goog management and leadership behind.

Thank and I look forward to the next stay with you.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Blessing M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to give us this overwhelmingly positive review.

I coudn't have described it better and I sincerely appreciate it.

Comments like these make us very proud of our trade and only reassures us that we are on the right track in treating our customers the way we always envisioned.

I hope you will continue to patronise Ole-Sereni during your future travels to this part of the world.

Once agin, thank you for sharing your sentiments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Pretty, clean. Very "African" feel for first night in Nairobi, and extremely convenient to Nairobi International Airport. We spent night and flew out of Wilson next morning. Good restaurant with traditional and ethnic African food, also nice menu, including a children's menu. Spacious, updated roomed to a great nights rest:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience.

Ole-Sereni promotes everything Africa and I am glad you had the opportunity to feel it.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

A good hotel with very comfy & modern interiors. They could improve on the food- some meats can be very rare for Kenyans used to Nyama Choma. The service was way top notch. The views of the nearby national park were quite good but the dust from nearby road construction project ruined an otherwise perfect day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadiel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience.

I am glad you found our product appealing.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I've been to this hotel several times due to work trips. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic, right next to the Nairobi National Park, you get stunning views, and can spot wild animals occasionally. The city centre isn't too far either. The rooms are cosy, nicely furbished but there have been a couple of issues. Once I had to change room as the lock on the balcony door was broken, and on other occasion I could not lock the main entrance door. Last time the sheets were dirty, and I mean there was something on it that looked like blood stain. But they have improved a lot during the past two years, finally they invested money in buying new fresh looking towels as the old ones were quite grey. Also they put mattress covers on the beds, so they not as hard as they used to be. There used to be a lot of noise from the corridor but now there is carpet on the floor so you don't have to listen to every step. The pool area is lovely, the gym is nice but can be very busy in the evenings and there's no air con.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view at the National Park. Besides the lovely view, these rooms are also quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am sincerely pleased that you have noticed the upgrades we have incorporated in the past two years.

There are more upgrades hich we are planning to unfold in the nea future.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresh Meadows, New York
Level Contributor
244 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

coming off a 7 day safari I was provided with a day room here as part of the package....great hotel...nice rooms.....restaurants overlooking game land.....not far from hotel.....enjoyed a bit of rest and cleanup before heading back to USA . Free internet and computers available and a secure hotel......definitely recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am pleased to learn that your stay was a pleasant one.

Hope you had a pleasant journey back home.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

At the end of a 2 week trip to Kenya and the prospect of a 6 hour layover in Kenyatta airport which is decidedly less than accommodating, a friend suggested we spend those hours at the Ole-Sereni Hotel on the restaurant's terrace overlooking the game park. A 10 minute taxi ride (about $12) brought us to the modern hotel where we checked our bags with the concierge, ensconced ourselves at an open-air table overlooking the park (where 2 Elan obliged by making an appearance), and proceeded to enjoy several hours of relaxation before the grueling return trip home. Check out the gift shop on the second floor across from the restaurant - good prices!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am pleased to learn that your quick stop over was upto your expectations.

We hope you had a pleasant journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.2 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 162 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#8 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing