We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #17 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location is the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I've been to this hotel several times due to work trips. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic, right next to the Nairobi National Park, you get stunning views, and can spot wild animals occasionally. The city centre isn't too far either. The rooms are cosy, nicely furbished but there have been a couple of issues. Once I had to change room as the lock on the balcony door was broken, and on other occasion I could not lock the main entrance door. Last time the sheets were dirty, and I mean there was something on it that looked like blood stain. But they have improved a lot during the past two years, finally they invested money in buying new fresh looking towels as the old ones were quite grey. Also they put mattress covers on the beds, so they not as hard as they used to be. There used to be a lot of noise from the corridor but now there is carpet on the floor so you don't have to listen to every step. The pool area is lovely, the gym is nice but can be very busy in the evenings and there's no air con.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view at the National Park. Besides the lovely view, these rooms are also quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am sincerely pleased that you have noticed the upgrades we have incorporated in the past two years.

There are more upgrades hich we are planning to unfold in the nea future.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    408
    165
    61
    51
See reviews for
110
211
59
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fresh Meadows, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

coming off a 7 day safari I was provided with a day room here as part of the package....great hotel...nice rooms.....restaurants overlooking game land.....not far from hotel.....enjoyed a bit of rest and cleanup before heading back to USA . Free internet and computers available and a secure hotel......definitely recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am pleased to learn that your stay was a pleasant one.

Hope you had a pleasant journey back home.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

At the end of a 2 week trip to Kenya and the prospect of a 6 hour layover in Kenyatta airport which is decidedly less than accommodating, a friend suggested we spend those hours at the Ole-Sereni Hotel on the restaurant's terrace overlooking the game park. A 10 minute taxi ride (about $12) brought us to the modern hotel where we checked our bags with the concierge, ensconced ourselves at an open-air table overlooking the park (where 2 Elan obliged by making an appearance), and proceeded to enjoy several hours of relaxation before the grueling return trip home. Check out the gift shop on the second floor across from the restaurant - good prices!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am pleased to learn that your quick stop over was upto your expectations.

We hope you had a pleasant journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Booked a one night stay for a stopover en route to the Mara for a safari. Arranged a hotel car to meet us at the airport $30 USD for 2 passengers. We were met with a nameboard on arrival and taken to the hotel which took about 15 minutes at approx 10.00pm.

Checkin was painfully slow but this was apologised for... no real reason though as we were the only people checking in.

Room was ok, clean and spacious. Bed was like concrete though!!! Probably the hardest bed I've ever slept on.

Breakfast next morning in the Big 5 restaurant was great, fresh, appetising, prompt service and friendly waiters. We departed with a hotel car to Wilson airport which had been prebooked and was prompt and efficient, again $30USD.

Room Tip: away from elevators. Overlooking game park (though I'd be surprised if you see anything) and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maldivesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I have taken note of your concern on the bed mattress and the slow check-in process. we will address it right away.

We hope you will consider our services during your future travels to Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I've been here for over a week and love it. The staff here is very nice and accommodating. I love the opportunity to wake up and view the African wildlife from my room. I would recommend a stay here to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
I sincerely appreciate you taking time to give us your positive feedback.

We wish you a continued memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno NV
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We kicked off our African honeymoon here and really liked it. It was close to the airport -- convenient since we arrived in from the US late. Nice rooms, modern and tasteful. Stable wifi and very friendly and helpful concierge. The highlight for us was breakfast. It was probably the best breakfast we had in Africa. Lots of choices: omelet/ egg station, health foods and cereal, charcuterie, pastries, fruit, fruit juices and great coffee. Service is slow at the restaurant but that's normal in Africa. We had a park view room; it was a lovely view but we didn't see any animals.

Room Tip: Get a park view room. You may not see animals but it's still a prettier view than the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martini_A_Go_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am very pleased to know that we added an extra charm to your Honeymoon.

Wish you pleasant and memorable travels through Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, located close to the airport and the Kenya national park, where you can see animals roaming around.

You may never see the animals as its a large expanse of land, but its a quiet serene area.

The hotel food is very good, they serve food 24hrs and have a good transport service to and from the airport. The hotel service fairly good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladeeh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am pleased to learn that your stay was a pleasant one and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#40 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing