We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #21 of 170 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stopped here for one night at the start of our trip and for us, the hotel was superb. We flew into Nairobi in the evening, and the hotel was a perfect stopping off point for the evening. Outside of the city proper and close the airport, sits on the border of the Nairobi National Park.

We were greeted at the door by efficient porters and handed a glass of fresh mango juice in reception while our check-in was being sorted.

Rooms were large and well-decorated and equipped, and ours at least was very clean.

Breakfast was a large buffet with a chef cooking certain items fresh on demand. Also, considering many reviews say there are no animals by the hotel, we were lucky enough to see giraffe and impala grazing nearby whilst we ate our breakfast, so I think it just depends on your luck!

Overall, a good choice for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

I thank you for taking time to give us your poitie feedback.

I am truly pleased to learn that your experience overall was a pleasant one.

Thank you for clearing the air on sighting of animals in the Park. Its not consistent but a matter of sheer luck andI am glad you got the opportunity to spot them.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two days for business. The location is perfect to enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of africa even if you stay only a few days in kenya. the hotel is facing the Nairobi national park and very near from the airport.
The rooms were clean and confortable. The restaurant offers a wide variety of tasty and fresh food. I would recommend this hotel. If you have a bit of time, I also recommend a game drive in the park.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carsonmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

I sincerely Thank You for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am indeed pleased to learn that your stay was pleasant and we will surely share your sentiments with the Team.

We hope you will reconsider Ole-Sereni during your future travels to Nairobi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I had no expections and was therefore really delighted with every aspect of this hotel. My only slight negative was that the mattress was incredibly hard but I still slept ok. The staff were fantastic and the food was delicious and there was a really good selection.


  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Ms. Rachel,

Thank you for taking time to give us your positive comments.

I am truly delighted to learn that your stay was a pleasant one except for the hard mattresses.

Please allow us to lok into it right away.

I thank you again for sharing your views and look forward to weloming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location, just a short ride from the international airport. The staff are superb and prices of food and drinks very reasonable indeed.
Rooms are comfortable and very well appointed. The rooms overlooking the National Park are better solely because of the view though there are not herds of animals passing by.
The restaurant service is good and the standard of food high. Excellent gym/fitness facilities.
All round, a great hotel with the same standard of service to be found in other first-rate establishments.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view of the park just because it is better waking up and opening the curtains t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you or taking time to give us your positive comments.

I am truly delighted to know that your stay was pleasant and you enjoyed our hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at Ole-Sereni for one day as we were connecting to Kilimanjaro the next day. This hotel is ideally situated between Nairobi airport and Wilson airport. I found the hotel staff to be helpful as we arrived a day late and did not meet up with our guide. They were helpful in getting us in touch with our guide(s) so we knew when to make our connections. I enjoyed our dinner and breakfast taken on the veranda where you could overlook the park.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Equinox03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking time to give us your positive comments which will go a long way in strengthening our services.

I am very pleased to know that your stay was pleasant.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My colleague and I settled on this hotel to be close to the airport for early morning leave the next day. The layout was a bit odd -- we were told that this was the temporary US embassy after the 1998 bombings and the developers revamped it. It is very modern with a huge bar and restaurant with view over the game park. Excellent food and generous portions. The staff followed our customization instructions to the letter. Apparently they have won awards for the resto and bar and I can see why.

Bargain note -- the Kenyan wine, Leleshwa, is great value for money.

Check-in was painless; we arranged for a car back to the aeroport next morning at $15 per head. Check out was similar. Bless them, they let us into the breakfast room half an hour early so that we could have a meal before heading to the airport at 0600. The car was on time, clean, and made the trip with alacrity.

The room was not huge, but OK, and functional and comfy. Nice bed; sound sleep. Quiet! Everything worked except the light over the mini-bar/coffee service unit, which was a nice mini-bar, in-room coffee service, and safe. The flat screen TV on the wall had the (for me) essential BBC World Service. A/C was great, but so was the cool, dry wind off the Park. Two quibbles: the on-off light on the telly was a bright blue, so bright that it kept me awake and I had to get up and tape a bit of cardboard over it! The hot water never got HOT-HOT; it was warm enough for a shave and a comfortable shower, but never really hit that wonderful point at 40 degrees or so. (My travelling companion did report that his TV was out of order, though.)

Wi Fi was good, easy to log into, not blazing, but that said, it never dropped.

I heartily recommend and will return when in a Nairobi transit situation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rover1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

I thank you for taking time to give us your comments.

I am truly pleased to know that your stay was comfortable and pleasant and you enjoyed our authentic African hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our travel agent (Extraordinary Journeys) placed us in this very nice hotel due to its location right near the airport. We had a nice room, but particularly liked the breakfast. It was really anything that you could want... omlets, yogurt, fruit, breads and pastries. All kinds of juice were available and the setting was great. I birded during breakfast! I also used the workout room which was completely outfitted for lifting, running, biking, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birder53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

I sincerely Thank You for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

Nothing is more rewarding than to hear from a satisfied guest and I am pleased that your experince was memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the ONLY hotel by the Gamepark..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.2 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 170 in Nairobi
924 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#8 of 170 in Nairobi
702 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 170 in Nairobi
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#55 of 170 in Nairobi
352 reviews
3.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 170 in Nairobi
1,100 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 170 in Nairobi
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $186 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing