We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Absolutely fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #19 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel with my job and absolutely love coming here.
The staff are friendly and are always more than happy to help, the food is absolutely delicious and the rooms are clean, a lovely size with all the facilities you could want.
On arrival the staff give you a lovely welcome and your rooms are giving to you immediately.
There is a lovely pool area with a pool bar and on Sundays they do great entertainment which is a live band and dancers too. You can enjoy the entertainment when sitting by the pool enjoying the sun or whilst eating your lunch.
The restaurant - there is a buffet style for breakfast and lunch which is so reasonably priced at about £12. And for dinner its an al a carte style dining. For lunch They have fresh juices, soups, a salad bar, pizzas, Kenyan curries, rice, chips, meat, vegetables and also a barbecue outside where the cook your food to order. They have the most amazings deserts including a chocolate fondu, cakes, ice cream, pancakes the lot! And to finish tea & coffee.
There is also a lovely bar area on a terrace outside, where you can also order food from the menu. The terrace over looks a safari park where we have spotted giraffes, gazelles and elephants before. It's so lovely to sit out there with the gentle breeze and the sun beaming down on you.
There's a fantastic gym here too!
Everything you could possibly want and more at this hotel - I would absolutely recommend it and I always look forward to coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice_Rosex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Ms. Alice,

I sincerely thank you for taking time to give us your extensive positive comments which will go a long way in fine tuning our product and services.

It is truly rewarding to see a guest who had a pleasant stay on every level.

I thank you once again for sharing your experience and we look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    428
    175
    68
    53
See reviews for
119
227
62
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a few days Rand R after a grueling trip overland from Egypt and found it excellent the staff are super friendly without being too intrusive. The rooms are clean and the ones overlooking the park are very restful you can't imagine that you are so close to a capital city. The food is very varied Indian Fusion and western all cooked in the open kitchen.
The park is just outside your room I didn't see any animals apart from ostrich but am assured that they do come to the water hole nearby. All in all a great hotel I would certainly come back whenever I am in nairobi

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a park view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Ms. Maggie,

I thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am glad to know that your stay was a delightful one minus the poor animal sightings. I am sure your future visits should spot some. i'll make sure:)

Once again, I thank you for sharing your views and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is excellent. The staff are just so attentive and friendly always smiling and willing to assist you. The food is just glorious. The setting is wonderful overlooking the National park. Yet only a few kilometers from the city and the airport. My friend and I have been here for 7days for a rest between traveling and it has just been faultless. Would recommend it to anybody for a couple of days or like us longer.

Room Tip: worth paying the extra for a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gay363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
I sincerely thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

We hope you enjoyed our hospitality as much as we enjoyed having you with us. Your comments will go far in fine tuning our services.

Once agin, I appreciate your views and we look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmount
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Definitely the best place to stay in Nairobi, close to the airport and far from the tangled traffic of the city, but most especially with an expansive view of the African savannah from the terrace bar, restaurant and swimming pool. Just the soft air and breeze is rejuvenating. Inside, the hotel is spacious and comfortable with tasteful African/Kenyan decor and art. The gym and spa facilities along with the swimming pool are excellent. The staff is friendly and helpful. And WiFi works (even though a higher capacity would be appreciated). In sum, I would only want to stay here when returning to Nairobi in transition to the coast or game parks or also as now, spending a few days in, yet much better, next to the city.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Ms. Barbara,

Thank you for taking time to give us your positive comments.

I am truly delighted to know that your stay ws a pleasant one.

We look forward to wlecoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I had to overnight in Nairobi on my way between two other cities, and a colleague warned me not to try going in to the city (too much traffic, security issues). This hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport, and it is grand! It is next to a game park; rooms facing the park have a sweeping view, and though I didn't see any game (arrived in the early evening and left at dawn), I did see flocks of little birds, two of which lighted on the railing facing my room.
There is a bar and restaurant on the patio, with lovely sunset views. Food was good, view was terrific, and internet connection strong. I sat on the patio sipping my beer, working on the computer, and feeling as though I was having a mini-vacation. Another good thing, for an airport hotel, is that the restaurant is 24/7. The rooms were very nice too; comfortable beds, good, working shower). I would love to have been staying longer.
Only complaint (and it IS a complaint) is that I reserved a car to the airport early the next morning, and no one told me it was taking other people ... so when I ran up to my room because I'd forgotten something, no one told me the car wouldn't wait! I was lucky enough to find someone going to the airport with a company car, but I could have been in real trouble.
Still, if you're looking for a place convenient to the airport, I don't think you could do better than this.

Room Tip: Facing the park, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
I Thank You for taking time to give us your positive comments.

Nothing is more staisfying than seeing a satisfied guest and moreover being acknowledged for it.

My sincere apologies on the de;ay you faced on airport Transfers. i have taken up this concern with our Travel Services and we assure this issue never crops up again.

Once again, I thank you for sharing your views and we look forward to wlecoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanyuki, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel has good facilities and very warm and welcome, they smile a lot which is very heart walming when away from normal environment. Would recommend other families from British army to come here. Helpful from the enter to your destination. Thank you very much

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Ms. Sarah,

Thank you for taking time to give us your positive comments.

It is truly verwhelming to know that your stay was a pleasant one.

We hope that you will continue to patronise Ole-Sereni during your furture visits to Nairobi.

Once again, I thank you for sharing your views and look forward to wlecoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breukelen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I come to Nairobi on a regular basis and have been in a couple of hotels here.
The Ole Sereni is the best and most beautiful hotel so far.
Really nice staff, good restaurant and great views from the terras.only down side is maybe the hard matras on the beds, but they are working on that.
Hotel taxi is expensive, but they are working on this as well .
Rooms are nice, free Internet and the gym is one of the best in Nairobi.
Overall a real pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
I thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

It always rewarding to learn that our guest had a memorable experince.

We are in the process of addressing the hard mattresses and i can assure you that your visits will experience a superior comfort level.

Once again, I appreciate you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 588 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#48 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing