We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in ole sereni”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in Nairobi
Queretaro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Living in ole sereni”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great experience in the hotel tell living for almost for six months, working and living very well and inserting live style in Africa. Aziz the marketing manager very good and friendly, a lot of friends from the hotel due the service that they bring to me. Good place to back for more vacations. And the safari very good experience in the natural environment. Rooms are ok and quiet.

Room Tip: Higher floors better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alserrblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Mr. Alvaro,

Thank you so much for taking time to log your feedback.

I am glad to know that your stay has been a pleasant one.

I hope you enjoyed our services as much as we enjoyed having you with us.

We thank you for patronising Ole-Sereni and look forward to welcoming you back.

Buen Viaje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    484
    192
    72
    64
See reviews for
144
267
71
534
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Proximity to airport is main thing. It is a nice enough place, recently remodeled. Rooms are small, but adequate, especially for overnight close to airport. Restaurant is good, service okay though not up to the price. Overall it is good for a late arrival or early departure. If I had need of longer stay thee are many other choices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Mr. Robert,

Thank you for taking time to log your feedback about our services.

You had mentioned about the 'Service' levels which were not up-to mark. May I please know in which way it was lacking so we can address it right away.

Once again, I thank you for your inputs and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here in October 2012. Hotel is located close to the airport, so you avoid the terrible Nairobi traffic on your way in. Means that for traveling into the city you have to have a lot of patience. Traffic jams can be enormous. Hotel is nice, former US Embassy. Right next to the Nairobi National Park. Woke up with views of grazing antelopes and beautiful birds. Food in the restaurant is okay, but nothing special. Service, both in restaurant and bar, can be very slow. But hey, you've got a great view to kill time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback which will go a long way in improving our service levels.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ole-Sereni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I arrived at this hotel, with a group of friends, late at night after a delayed flight from England, only to be told that they had sold our rooms that had been pre booked. They clearly had an arrangement with a nearby hotel that they moved us to, but when you arrive late at night and tired it is definitely not what you want to do. We had chosen this hotel as it is close to the airport and saved us going into the centre of Nairobi after a late flight, in future we will be going back to the hotel we have used before and always had impeccable service. The manager even stood in the hall as we loaded our luggage back into the taxis without so much as uttering any apology at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Ms. Jane,

Thank you for taking time to log your feedback.

May I profoundly apologise for the series of inconveniences you had faced during your experience with Ole-Sereni. We surely do not stand for it but obviously we failed to deliver our promise to you.

May I please request you to reconsider your decision on not choosing us. You have my personal assurance that your future travels will have my personal assurance on a far superior experience.

I really hope you will offer us this rare opportunity to make up for the recent experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ole-Sereni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night - and were treated superbly by the reception team and restaurant team.
The rooms were not big but comfortable and more than adequate, though we would prefer to have a bit more privacy with the tolilet in the bathroom

The food in the restaurant was superb and breakfast was excellent

The views from the bar on the verandah on the first floor was fantastic, and it was a bonus to sit and watch sunset while sipping a tusker beer

The only fault I could find was the verandah bar staff were not as helpful as the rest of the team - they were a bit arrogant and slow, acting as though they were doing us a favour

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeOgilvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Mr. Mike,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am thrilled to know you had a pleasant experince with us apart from the slow service in our Waterhole Bar.

I assure you that your future visits will witness a superior service levels.

Once again, thank you for choosing Ole-Sereni and i look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I book a room there because was close to the airport, coming back from a safari it is good to know that you don't have to go for a long drive againg the next day. We got upgrated because we where on our honeymoon trip, we needed an iron it was at our room in minutes and also a jacket that need to have clean we got it in two hours, dinner was good and we needed to leaved for the airport at 6:30 am , we had our breakfast and they made sure a taxi was at the hotel on time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Ms. Patricia,

Thank you so much for logging your feedback.

I am thrilled to know you had a pleasant stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I recently stayed at the Ole Sereni for four nights while in Nairobi on business. It’s fairly close to the airport and next to a game park, but entirely self-contained; there’s nothing else in the immediate vicinity. As others have noted, the rooms, while not spacious, are equipped with all the amenities. Those on the game park side have much the better view, although animals were not often in evidence during my stay. Breakfast buffet was better than average but some items on offer one day were not there the next. The verandah, accessible from both the restaurant and the bar, is a big plus in terms of leisurely dining or hanging out. On the minus side, the business center was way below par for a luxury hotel – often there was no one in charge, and even simple tasks like printing and copying were frustratingly difficult. The front desk staff generally seemed able to handle normal routine but was flummoxed by anything out of the ordinary, while the restaurant service ranged from adequate to slow. Given the prices it charges, the hotel could do a better job overall.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor on the game park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martymorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole Sereni, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Mr. Marty,

Thank you for taking time to log your feedback.

I have taken stock of your findings especially in regards to the Business Centre and the Reception and I aplogise for the inconveniences. We will ensure these lapses do not occur in future.

I sincerely hope you will consider our services in your future travels to Nairobi.

Once again, I thank you for your inputs and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.2 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 162 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#8 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#4 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing