We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, lethargic staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #18 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good food, lethargic staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had lunch at big five restaurant. Food took a long time but was worth the wait. Restaurant staff very slow and lacking in energy. Plates not cleared from table long after we had finished. Tried several times to catch eye of any waiter and eventually got one to give us our bill. For prices charged, the service is average.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Glojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    415
    172
    65
    52
See reviews for
117
219
60
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good location for both airports some rooms have nice views over the national park which we were lucky to have. The hotel its self is very nice with good facilities however it is severley
let down by incompetent staff and management

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally_farrington7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed one night at the Ole Sereni at the recommendation of my travel agency, True Africa. I needed a place to stay while waiting for a flight to Addis the late the next day. True Africa arranged for all my transfers and lodging and everything went very smoothly. The hotel is very nice, modern and the public rooms are beautifully decorated. Front desk service was very good and the restaurant was excellent. I spend most of the late morning and afternoon on their veranda overlooking the park. Don't expect much in the way of wildlife viewing however. I only saw one antelope and an ostrich in the distance. The Ole Sereni is a bit expensive, but its location , nice rooms, and good restaurant make it a very pleasant stay for people flying in or out of Kenyatta airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nice clean and good hotel with good service. The room was good. Check-in was good and fast. Food in the restaurant is excellent, well presented and the service is superb. Kindly note i am a regular visitor to this hotel and member of the Gourmet Club. They have nice theme nights in the restaurants esp for Friday and Saturday. The hotel is conveniently located on the main road to the airport and Mombasa. You will definitely love the experience.

Room Tip: Choose park facing rooms, there is a watering hole where you can chance to see some animals early mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had stayed on 3 separate nights in Ole Sereni, at the end of September 2012. The hotel is great for an overnight or short stay, however as the rooms are small, it would not be ideal for a longer visit.

The location of the hotel is ideal for onward travelling, it is about halfway between the International airport and Wilson Airport. If you not going into down town Nairobi, best to stay outside as the traffic can be horrendous, 2 hrs for a couple of miles of journey.

We first arrived in the evening from Heathrow, with a morning flight to catch from Wilson to Mara, the second time, we booked in lunchtime after returning from Mara, with a morning flight to catch from the International airport to Zanzibar. Finally another evening arrival from Zanzibar and returning following night to UK. The staff was at all time very friendly and helpful. For our final day we have arranged a late booking out from the hotel at 6 pm, so we could relax and meet up with some friends for lunch.

The decoration of the hotel is beautiful. The terrace overlooking the National park is great place to eat, drink or just chill out. There is an outdoor swimming pool, which looks inviting, however we did not had time to try it out.

As I mentioned the rooms are on the small side, but they where very clean, and tastefully decorated. There is a mini bar with free mineral water, tea and coffee making facilities and a safe. Also shampoo, soap and shower gel provided and a hair-dryer. We stayed 2 nights in rooms facing the National park. This rooms are a bit larger and more expensive, but the view of the park is great and we have seen giraffes, zebras and ostriches before getting dressed in the morning. Also the bathrooms have baths, instead of just shower cubicles. The rooms overlooking Mombasa Road are decorated same as the park view ones, slightly smaller and only showers.

We had 3 breakfasts, 2 dinners and buffet lunch in the hotel and both the service and the quality of food was excellent. The shop is well priced and we have bought some items for bringing home as presents.

All in all, it is a very good hotel, and would stay again. Already recommended it to friends who are going to stay there next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorset1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

close to Nairobi international airport (20 minutes) as well as Wilson (25 minutes) airport. situated on the boundary of Nairobi National park, so you get to see animals if you are lucky. Rooms are clean and moderate size. Buffet breakfast good and even the dinner was good. Staff is friendly and service is prompt. Check out was quick. Quieter location then panari Hotel as panari is located on the main road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

For those travellers who are basing themselveds in Nairobi or looking for somewhere to park themselves for a night or two before heading out on a Safari then this place will give you complete peace of mind. The hotel felt very safe, was of a very high standard and the food/drink was also good with a very wide variety to suit all tastes.

We stayed with our 2 chilfren and had a king bed with an interconnecting room with 2 single beds.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#48 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing