We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop gap visit”
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #19 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had stayed on 3 separate nights in Ole Sereni, at the end of September 2012. The hotel is great for an overnight or short stay, however as the rooms are small, it would not be ideal for a longer visit.

The location of the hotel is ideal for onward travelling, it is about halfway between the International airport and Wilson Airport. If you not going into down town Nairobi, best to stay outside as the traffic can be horrendous, 2 hrs for a couple of miles of journey.

We first arrived in the evening from Heathrow, with a morning flight to catch from Wilson to Mara, the second time, we booked in lunchtime after returning from Mara, with a morning flight to catch from the International airport to Zanzibar. Finally another evening arrival from Zanzibar and returning following night to UK. The staff was at all time very friendly and helpful. For our final day we have arranged a late booking out from the hotel at 6 pm, so we could relax and meet up with some friends for lunch.

The decoration of the hotel is beautiful. The terrace overlooking the National park is great place to eat, drink or just chill out. There is an outdoor swimming pool, which looks inviting, however we did not had time to try it out.

As I mentioned the rooms are on the small side, but they where very clean, and tastefully decorated. There is a mini bar with free mineral water, tea and coffee making facilities and a safe. Also shampoo, soap and shower gel provided and a hair-dryer. We stayed 2 nights in rooms facing the National park. This rooms are a bit larger and more expensive, but the view of the park is great and we have seen giraffes, zebras and ostriches before getting dressed in the morning. Also the bathrooms have baths, instead of just shower cubicles. The rooms overlooking Mombasa Road are decorated same as the park view ones, slightly smaller and only showers.

We had 3 breakfasts, 2 dinners and buffet lunch in the hotel and both the service and the quality of food was excellent. The shop is well priced and we have bought some items for bringing home as presents.

All in all, it is a very good hotel, and would stay again. Already recommended it to friends who are going to stay there next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorset1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

close to Nairobi international airport (20 minutes) as well as Wilson (25 minutes) airport. situated on the boundary of Nairobi National park, so you get to see animals if you are lucky. Rooms are clean and moderate size. Buffet breakfast good and even the dinner was good. Staff is friendly and service is prompt. Check out was quick. Quieter location then panari Hotel as panari is located on the main road.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

For those travellers who are basing themselveds in Nairobi or looking for somewhere to park themselves for a night or two before heading out on a Safari then this place will give you complete peace of mind. The hotel felt very safe, was of a very high standard and the food/drink was also good with a very wide variety to suit all tastes.

We stayed with our 2 chilfren and had a king bed with an interconnecting room with 2 single beds.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A very family friendly place where they even consider kid meals so that nothing goes to waste. Ambiance is superb and you are actually able to see antelopes at the national park if you are lucky. The food is fabulous since you even have a very wide variety and even snacks.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christysmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you're just passing through Nairobi airport and don't want to deal with the traffic and go into the city then you'll probably consider this place. There isn't much choice in the way of airport hotels near Jomo Kenyatta and this is reckoned to be the best of the bunch. It's an expensive but safe option with big clean rooms. Ask for a view over the park and you might see a buck if you're lucky. Check in can take ages. There are hookers in the bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rexlombardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

When I say "close to the airport" it's bout five miles, but still probably the most convenient. I stayed for one night in transit from Uganda to Zambia and was really impressed. Its location is a little strange ... it looks as though it's been plonked in the middle of nowhere, just off he main Mombassa Road... but it does look straight out onto the Nairobi National Park.

There's not much you can say about the place which isn't good ... Good service, good room, good bed... extra toiletries provided very quickly, good food and just a nice place to be...

We took an airport taxi to the hotel and got the same driver to pick us up next morning, which seems the cheapest way to do it...

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the National Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was a welcoming visit after 10 days of seat bouncing, dust, early rising and late evenings in the Kenyan countryside. The 2 day stay prior to our departure for Europe provided excellent views of the National Park, patio area to have beverages/snacks, buffet breakfast, dinner menu not extensive but well prepared and exceptional Kenya gifts in the Gift Shop. Staff was attentive, friendly, room was well lit, A/C worked well and exceptionally clean. It's location provides easy access to both major Nairobi Airports.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the Reserve for animal watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 169 in Nairobi
881 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Nairobi
#16 of 169 in Nairobi
1,072 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,188 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $157 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing