We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for overnight stay”
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #16 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
uae
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good hotel for overnight stay”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

close to Nairobi international airport (20 minutes) as well as Wilson (25 minutes) airport. situated on the boundary of Nairobi National park, so you get to see animals if you are lucky. Rooms are clean and moderate size. Buffet breakfast good and even the dinner was good. Staff is friendly and service is prompt. Check out was quick. Quieter location then panari Hotel as panari is located on the main road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    497
    197
    73
    64
See reviews for
146
270
73
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

For those travellers who are basing themselveds in Nairobi or looking for somewhere to park themselves for a night or two before heading out on a Safari then this place will give you complete peace of mind. The hotel felt very safe, was of a very high standard and the food/drink was also good with a very wide variety to suit all tastes.

We stayed with our 2 chilfren and had a king bed with an interconnecting room with 2 single beds.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A very family friendly place where they even consider kid meals so that nothing goes to waste. Ambiance is superb and you are actually able to see antelopes at the national park if you are lucky. The food is fabulous since you even have a very wide variety and even snacks.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christysmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paolo
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you're just passing through Nairobi airport and don't want to deal with the traffic and go into the city then you'll probably consider this place. There isn't much choice in the way of airport hotels near Jomo Kenyatta and this is reckoned to be the best of the bunch. It's an expensive but safe option with big clean rooms. Ask for a view over the park and you might see a buck if you're lucky. Check in can take ages. There are hookers in the bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rexlombardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

When I say "close to the airport" it's bout five miles, but still probably the most convenient. I stayed for one night in transit from Uganda to Zambia and was really impressed. Its location is a little strange ... it looks as though it's been plonked in the middle of nowhere, just off he main Mombassa Road... but it does look straight out onto the Nairobi National Park.

There's not much you can say about the place which isn't good ... Good service, good room, good bed... extra toiletries provided very quickly, good food and just a nice place to be...

We took an airport taxi to the hotel and got the same driver to pick us up next morning, which seems the cheapest way to do it...

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the National Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was a welcoming visit after 10 days of seat bouncing, dust, early rising and late evenings in the Kenyan countryside. The 2 day stay prior to our departure for Europe provided excellent views of the National Park, patio area to have beverages/snacks, buffet breakfast, dinner menu not extensive but well prepared and exceptional Kenya gifts in the Gift Shop. Staff was attentive, friendly, room was well lit, A/C worked well and exceptionally clean. It's location provides easy access to both major Nairobi Airports.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the Reserve for animal watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Good hotel and excellent staff. Prices a bit high .For transport from the hotel I would advice to get a taxi from outside. Hotel transport is too expensive and charges per person using the same taxi. My partner and I  wanted to go to town and we used a public transport from the main road. 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njeri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.2 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 164 in Nairobi
742 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#9 of 164 in Nairobi
622 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.9 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
965 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Lazizi Premiere
The Lazizi Premiere
#13 of 164 in Nairobi
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing