We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax after safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #18 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax after safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here in a park facing room (more expensive but beautiful views) after an 8 day camping trip around Kenya; arriving here was like stepping into heaven after 8 days of camping and long journeys it was perfect. Everything from the welcome at the main entrance to the quick and friendly service at reception with fresh fruit juice and then being escorted to the clean and spacious room was fantastic and we couldn't have asked for more. The restaurant had a great selection of food and service was slow but with a smile. The steak was one of the best I've ever had. We did not use the pool area but it looked clean and comfortable, playing a funny selection of 90's hits that made us laugh. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic but we did get caught out having to pay extra for a cappuccino rather than filter coffee but that was a mix up over communication at 6.30am! A fantastic place to stay for a stop over as near to the airport (we would recommend using a local taxi rather than the hotels which charged double but was a fancy car!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    415
    171
    65
    51
See reviews for
117
218
60
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel has good looking and design. It is near airport and just across Airtel Parkside Towers.
You can order rooms that has beautiful view to Nairobi national park. The room has excellent bed, television, air-conditioner, and bath room. The minus points are bad wi-fi signal and experienced that the hot water from shower suddenly stops when being used.
Staffs are nice and friendly. However, you may need to do some attraction to call them in the restaurant. Also, beware that it took some time before the food come (around 15~20 minutes). The nice points are the food are delicious indeed!
Me and my friend got special discount because we book the hotel via tour agent.
Overall, it was very nice and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stdavidk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had some time on our hands before our flight back to the UK and fancied a meal. Our travel company in Kenya suggested the restaurant in this hotel and we weren't disappointed. The staff were very friendly and polite (as were most of the people we came into contact with during our holiday). The food was delicious and quite reasonably priced considering the Ole - Sereni's appearance as a high quality hotel.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the hotel, only ate in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_hartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had some hours to kill while waiting for a flight and were delighted to spend them here....asleep. So, we didn't get to enjoy the dining. Staff was helpful and smiling. Rooms modest in size but nice quality. Baths the same. Worth a stay, wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor, as we were in and out. But it was okay, for sure. We faced the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crucian-high
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here due the close proximity of the hotel to the airport. We were in a club room which was the only room large enough to put an extra bed in. It had a very small balcony overlooking the national park. No animals, only one ostrich which was very far away.

The room was of reasonable size. Didn't like the bathroom too much with the glass walls and glass doors without locks. Large and comfortable beds. Decent tea and coffee making facilities.

We ordered room service and it arrived promptly and was very tasty. Breakfast downstairs was very good, a wide range of food items to choose from.

Check out took a bit of time. The lady at the front desk was more interested in talking on her mobile phone rather than speeding up the check out process.

A lovely hotel, very expensive and only worth it if you need to catch an early morning flight.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank HotspurUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendota heights
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel prior and after our safari trip. It's a nice, new hotel. Located right next to the park reserve, with great views and occasional animals. It's located near the airport, so no hassles with Nairobi traffic. Kid friendly with a pool.
Service did vary some - mostly very good, but some slow meal service. But food was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel twice, each time the service was exceptional. The restaurant overlooking the park is wonderful. There is no guarantee you will see animals each and every time, but none the less the view is incredible. Hotel is situated in close proximity to the airport- which is a definite plus in Nairobi considering traffic if you are doing a quick turn around. The entrance to the game park is not far either. We rented a SUV with a driver for the day- approx 220 USD, but that provides you with someone who can speak the language and knowledge of the area. The food was very good, and the staff friendly and warm. Definitely consider staying here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank thratko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#46 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing