We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“RSC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #18 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Miami, Fl
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“RSC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great location for a hotel, right on the edge of Nairobi National Park. Although at this time of the year you will not see many animals roaming close by, the terrace outside is a great place to relax in the afternoons, having drinks or dinner or both.

The staff is very friendly and make you fell right at home. Great rooms, specially if you have a view of the park. Good menues for the restaurants and great breakfast included.

Now, for their one terrible issue, checkout. I did checkout ok, initally, then when it was time for me and colleagues to depart, we were asked to produce our credit card charge for the deposit we had been given when we initially check in. All three of us were asked the same thing, and frankly could not understand the reason for the asking. We were unable to produce said document so I still don't know why they needed it. In short, the front desk is VERY disorganized and unable to provide clear answer to our questions (three of us). Suggest you keep you credit card charge handy and do checkout well in advance of departure. This episode really spoiled the excellent track record they had had up to that moment. Otherwise I would have rated them excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAINPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    429
    177
    68
    54
See reviews for
120
229
62
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

After our 9 night safari in the Maasai Mara, we checked in with one day room for our daughter and son in law before their 10:30 pm flight back to the US and my DH and I stayed overnight to catch a very early (7:30 am) flight back to Angola. It took a bit longer to check in than it should have because the desk clerk tried to do a bit of multi tasking but we soon had our keys in hand for 2 different floors.

The rooms were adequately furnished and of decent size and the mattress sufficiently comfortable. We went for lunch in the restaurant and sat on the patio overlooking the game park. Service was slow but we had no where to be, so we just enjoyed the lovely weather and looked forward to our pizza.

The only problem we encountered was during the afternoon while we rested in the room, I heard the door open and went to check it out. There I met a man with his room key and immediately he knew that he had been given a room that was already full. It reminded me that the deadbolt lock should always be used when in your room! He apologized, left but we then later had problems reentering our room because the desk had voided all cards for our room. A very nice young man took care of it at the desk when we went to get it fixed and then walked with us to the room to make sure it worked.

Overall, it's a nice hotel close to the airport for one night stays and one that I would use again if we were to return to Nairobi. It's location would definitely have been better than the small country inn we stayed at in Karen when we arrived as it took 2 hours drive time on a Friday afternoon at 5:30 pm! I would have paid the extra money for the Ole Sereni just to not be in Nairobi traffic for 2 hours! lol

Room Tip: Room #225 is just above the business center and therefore can pick up the wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcianluanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great location, right between the two airports in Nairobi. Rooms are very clean and quiet. View towards the National Park is very nice, but those rooms are more expensive. The other rooms have a "city view" which is the pits. Food is average, service we received was good.

Room Tip: If you spend some time in your room, make sure you get one with the park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackheath2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed 1 night, in July, on our way from Belgium to Tanzania. Flying in pretty late at Nairobi International, this hotel is well located at about 15 minutes drive from the airport. Quick check in, average but decent room, good service in the bar and restaurant, friendly staff, good breakfast. It's a business hotel, but fits very well when as a tourist you are looking for a good sleep, shower and some food after a 10 hours flight.
Price is over the top, although recognizing the perfect location close to the airport, I understand why (some competition could help).
Look around before you book, but if you are just looking for a good sleep (as we did), perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entebbe, Uganda
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was a one-off for me because it was booked and paid by someone else.

Apparently it was previously the US Embassy building before being converted into a hotel but of course that's irrelevant for the purposes of a review.

I remember nothing particulary good or bad about the hotel except for:

a/ eating breakfast on the terrace overlooking Nairobi National Park with the expectation of seeing some wildlife. Sadly, the animals don't eat breakfast at the same time as me or they eat it somewhere they can't be seen.

b/ getting a taxi is a nightmare because none are allowed to "wait" for customers. Instead you're forced to take a "limousine" provided by the hotel at exhorbitant rates. If you're a regular visitor to Nairobi it's most likely you've already found a "car and driver" to rent privately and this won't be a problem, but for less frequent visitors the service provided by the hotel is a rip-off.

Overall a not very inspiring experience but a good hotel if you want to be close to the airport with nowhere to go and nothing to do except wonder where all the animals have gone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobUganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

It startet with 45 minuts just to get our key the rooms (and we book the room 5 month before). We are a family so we booked two rooms (but it was way to difficult to get it on the same floor). When we finely get our room (s) it was so small we could not open two suitcases on the same time, so we had to move around the furniture) and old. Even the towels was out washed. In the bar was everything very slow, it took forever to get something to drink. I will never book this hotel again even becaouse it neer the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Am in two minds about this hotel. While the service was top rate (asked the chef to make me a special meal of grilled fish and sauteed veggies, and he russtled up one of the most yummy dishes ever), the rooms where shabby and on the small side. The bedding (pillows, sheets)...hmmm...put it this way...couldn't wait to get back to my own bed!

But...service was wonderful. Please invest in updating your rooms and bedding, then you'd be a great hotel! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kolombina Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#44 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Jovago.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing