We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night in Nairobi”
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #17 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed at this property during an overnight while waiting on a flight. Room was well appointed and service was excellent. I was mt a the airport by hotel taff andwas transported efficiently to the hotel. Arrangement of transport back to the airport was effortless and handled professionally. The only shortcoming was that the hotel check-out was handled slowly and took almost 25 minutes to complete, depite there being just a few people checking out at the time. However, overall it was quite an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lowe210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
There are newer reviews for Ole Sereni
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

Only good things about this hotel are the proximity to Kenyatta airport and the buffet breakfast. Prices are exorbitant, staff was neither helpful nor friendly (other than Benson the bellman), rooms are small and beds are very, very uncomfortable. The "balconies" of the view rooms are tiny and sliding doors do not open. Given the number of better hotels in Nairobi, I won't stay here again"

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is my very first review ever and the only reason im writing this is because we were so dissapointed!!!!!!

We have checked in here for two days. On arrival they could not find our booking and it took over 1/2 hr to check in once we had finally checked in we were taken to our rooms which were nice although the beds are very hard, the small balcony is in fact just a window with no where to stand and the rooms are quite compact with very thin walls.

We ordered food from the restaurant which was not the best and even though we all left most of our food they didn't ask why and when we mentioned it they only removed one meal leaving the rest on our bill when we mentioned this to the waitress who wasn't very pleasant she just shrugged and said she wouldn't do it which was a shame as the service was also very slow and we kept having to get the staffs attention rather than them coming to check on us.

We had an extra guest on one of the nights and asked for them to provide us an extra bed in one of the two rooms however after much complication over if we really were staying in the rooms?even though they had all our details and we only checked in a few hrs before we were told we could not have an extra bed even though it states you can at an extra charge ( which we were happy to pay for) when we finally got the bed it was one in each room rather than one which they wanted to charge us for I had to ring reception 3 times and after 3/4 of an hr and being asked if we wanted yet another bed ( yes three instead of two it was finally sorted at nearly 1am)

The next morning my family went down for breakfast leaving me in bed as we had only paid for 4 people and there were 5 of us as I wanted a lye in. When they got to the breakfast room they were told they would have to pay extra as there was an extra person even though I was not there and there were only 4 of them And after the deliberation with the waitress who clearly couldn't count that there were only 4 instead of 5 my mum had to go and complain to reception and luckily the lady who checked us in yesterday was on reception and very helpful and only then were they allowed to eat breakfast.

We are on night 2 now so I will let you know how it goes but overall very unimpressed as the surroundings are beautiful it's just a shame the staff let it down so much I was meant to be coming back here with a big group next Christmas and when we first arrived we thought it was amazing however 24hrs later it's a completely different story a real shame!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loops123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Booking in seemed to take forever, but the staff did try to help.
The room, 322, had a good view over the National Park towards the water hole. However unlike Sweetwater this has no lighting so once it is dark there is little to see.
The room is above the terrace so some noise does drift up to you, but it's not too bad.
Second best room we had on our Safari, and better than the noisy one we stopped at originally, plus it is very handy for the airport.
Yes, as a stop-over it was good.

Room Tip: Room 322, was ok for us.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Hotel looking onto the National Park, some rooms overlook the national park ait far and you will be lucky to spot some wild animals.
The hotel is just about 15 minutes drive from the airport but a bit far from the city center.
The rooms are excellent, good amount of light and very comfortable.
The Room service is excellent with good food.
The Coffee shop/restaraunt is the place to spend some good quality time in the morning, it is right on the national park so one can keep sipping some amazing Kenyan coffee and look at the jungle.

A must stay place

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShekharSuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

..was there end of May for the first time, everything about it is awesome including the interiors, rooms, meals, the scenery is wonderful but no animals seemed to show up...however we waited for a long time before we were shown to our rooms...a few unpleasantries here and there but generally a good hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaac K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I have been in this hotel twice, the first time was a Marketers Night event and yesterday I was attending Pivoteast event. One thing that I like about Ole Sereni is their security & safety measures; When the event started we were taken through a safety drill.
Then I left behind my bag that had my stuff as we left for lunch, security team collected all paraphernalia left on seats and kept them safe - some people had actually abandoned their laptops. I found my bag safe at the security desk and was very pleased........I can't forget to mention that the meal was very delicious. Keep up!

Mkulima

Room Tip: ideal for meeting outside town and have ample space
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkulima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.2 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#12 of 167 in Nairobi
827 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Lazizi Premiere
The Lazizi Premiere
#30 of 167 in Nairobi
119 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 167 in Nairobi
654 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,285 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $185 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing