We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very OK Hotel”
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #18 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2012

They tried to make something "different" but it doesn't work always. We took a club room,thinking it might be big. Also the toilet is badly designed, the glass toilet door doesn't block the noise at all. Having the reception on the first floor is also a bad idea for tired travelers to climb up.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fhko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

I´ve been around the world in different hotels, but this one is definitely the worst hotel ever. The building used to be some type of office building that was adapted to be a hotel, so the dividing walls are so thin you can hear the TV from both rooms next to mine. There are power outages (not because of the city´s poor supply because all building around always have power), water outages, all the treadmills at the gym not working, A/C not working, bad food, etc. By far my worst experience in a hotel so far. The only "positive" aspect is that it is close to the airport, but the service was so bad we decided it was better to spend 60minutes in traffic than staying in this hotel. And to finish, while checking out they tried to charge my credit card with 500KES more than they´ve should (the money is not the issue, but they came up with the lousy excuse that "the system does not allow us to charge less than that". )

Room Tip: Looking at the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernando V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Not a bad hotel on the airport road. Given nairobi's traffic, that can be important for travellers and out is used by a lot of airlines for their staff. Generally pleasant and friendly on the edge of the game park with great view of ngong hills. But right under the flight paths of both JK.and Wilson airports.

By far my biggest gripe is the consistently awful service. 40 minutes fire a snack is not unusual.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwanafunzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Spent a night last week in this hotel. Nice building, very nice decoration, rooms Ok (a bit small), Wifi ok, TV channels choice OK. Very good restaurant, very close to airport. A very good value. Service is effective

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toubabadakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Sadly other than the gift shop, this hotel was a disappointment. For over US $350 a night my view should have been better than the parking lot and dirt road. I’m guessing if you had one of the rooms on the other side where it overlooks the park, it would be better. The room was clean, but tiny, I could barely fit between the end of the bed and the wall. The staff in all areas of the hotel was friendly and helpful to us, but service was slow in the bar. After staying at IL Moran, Giraffe Manor and Chui Lodge, this was a let down on our last night in Kenya.

If you are staying here, there isn’t anywhere around to walk to, or anything to see. My travel agent recommended it, and I chose it because it was close to the airport and didn’t want to deal with Nairobi traffic.

I try to write more informative reviews, but I just can’t for this hotel. I think if I didn’t pay so much for the room I would have been better about the place, but there is no way they should be charging that price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pj510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Whereas the hotel fulfills the standards of a 4 - 5 star hotel (somewhat expensive for Nairobi) and has a small swimming pool and a nice fitness, try to avoid eating at the restaurant.

We had diner and due to an extremely high amount of various types of moscitos, you will find live and dead ones during the diner in your various food. yak ...

The manager on duty was well aware of the problem, but could not care less. Although you have insects in your drink and your food plates, there only comment is: that is because there are many insects...

sad

Room Tip: all rooms ok, prefer side of national park (more peaceful)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geneva2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We recently stayed at the Ole Sereni for a weekend and consequently booked a small function there a few weeks later. All round the hotel has good facilities with a fantastic view of the Nairobi National Park but that is where it ends. The service is slow, the hotel supervisors/management don't really care about giving good service. The food is not fantastic, I ordered a chocolate milkshake and instead of them saying they didn't have it they put some cocoa into a vanilla milkshake and passed it on for a chocolate milkshake. For the cocktail we had they didn't provide adequate food for the guests, its almost as if they didn't want to serve it, despite us having paid for it in full and in advance...Ole Sereni needs to style up

Room Tip: The rooms facing the National Park have a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAULINE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 169 in Nairobi
884 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,073 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
1,189 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $158 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing