We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #18 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed here during Christmas period where they had a "Christmas Special Offer". I guess it was because of the low numbers expected.

I think it is a good hotel, save for the price which I think is overpriced. One thing I noticed is that the price for wine on the menu was different from the one at the bar! I felt it was cheaper to buy wine by the bottle, and so I asked for it. The price at the menu was KES 1900. I did not have hard cash on me so I asked that the bill be attached to the room so that all bills will be cleared on checkout so that I use my credit card only once. The waiter kept insisting that they usually take cash for this.

So I asked to talk to his supervisor if there is a problem with me paying for it at the end of my stay. He immediately backed down and started speaking low tones asking me if I had even KES 200. I told him that that is not right and that was when he went away.

At the end of the stay, the bill for the wine incredibly came to KES 1400! Was that why the waiter wanted cash? Left me really wondering.

The hotel parking is also quite squeezed, tight and can only take so many cars. The reception is quite deep into the restaurant yet I'd expect it to be the first place that I find myself looking at.

The food was OK but I loved the breakfast more. The paintings and colours used are also very inviting

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    415
    171
    65
    51
See reviews for
117
218
60
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is a very odd hotel, neither fish nor fowl. It tries to be upmarket but is located in the midst of a smoke-belching industrial area, in-between 2 busy airports with constant traffic, and facing a rather dusty ‘gamepark’ where more people than game can be seen.
To end a 2-wk Kenya safari, we spent a couple of nights here (to see Nbi Park and visit Sheldrick’s elephant sanctuary). We’d booked a park-facing room ($400, industry-facing rooms are cheaper), believing it’d be quiet and would offer nice views of game, but no such luck. Instead we had disco noise from the 4th floor above, ‘waterhole’ [bar] noise from the terrace below, and corridor noise from other guests all night long. Maybe one should avoid the weekend?!
Our room was ok, not very large but clean and comfy, and we appreciated coffee-maker, safe and fridge. Alas, despite pretty bows, the towels were frayed. The AC was intermittent and had the tendency to suddenly cut out. Our double-bed was two singles pushed together, with separate sheets, but the mattresses were ok.
Food was ok too, especially the extensive breakfast buffet (starting at 6 a.m., convenient for early departures) that caters to all nationalities. The restaurant at dinner time is very busy, the waiters overworked and therefore slow, especially on weekends. Because, despite its odd location and high prices, this hotel is very popular with Nairobians who come out here for a meal, a drink, and a lively get-together.
I appreciated the unlimited, free internet access on the Business Centre’s 4 computers, their print-out facility and kind help-desk.
Another oddity is that this hotel does not allow normal city taxis anywhere near its remote location, and one is forced to use its VERY expensive hotel transport (US$50 to anywhere in town, normal rate c KSh1000). On the final morning we had booked an early taxi to the airport ($30, normal rate KSh1700), but at the appointed time no transport was in sight. The 6 hotel taxis, allegedly always on stand-by, had all gone. We had to wait ½ hr before one of them came back, and nearly missed our flight! Not good, not good at all!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cataractophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This hotel is coined one of the better ones in Nairobi. One of the main reasons that I chose to stay here is due to Ole Sereni checking out as one of the best when safety and security is taken into account. The hotel is located only about a 10min drive from the airport depending on the time of day and traffic congestion. The rooms are equipped with the basic amenities of a comfortable bed pillows and duvet, 29" television with a few english channels, a desk, telephone (in bathroom and on desk) and basic travel sized toiletries of shower gel, shampoo and body lotion. Some of the rooms overlook the stunning view of the game reserve where giraffe, wild boars and gazelles can be seen on occasions while others look onto a dusty road. The food and drinks are prepared fresh and to a high standard for an affordable price averaging £12- £20 for an evening meal. The staff are mostly pleasant and very accommodating and alway willing to teach you about Kenyan culture or Kiswahili. The highlight for me was the opportunity to get the most amazing full body deep tissue massage by therapist Joan for a mere £25 followed by the hospitality and friendly natured Jorim offering relaxation aromatherapy sessions in the spa and sauna. The facilities include a swimming pool and bar area that also overlook the safari game resort and hosts a customer appreciation evening every Thursday with free drinks and nibbles from the grill.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the safari reserve for more picturesque view to Nairobi Kenya. When booking airp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is convenient for the airport and uses its location next to a game reserve very well.

The rooms are a little narrow but fully functional with comfortable beds and pillows. I alas had a city view room but got to enjoy the views from the pool.

Breakfast was decent and the food menu covered a wide variety. Service is adequate for this part of the world, things get down in a leisurely pace.

Overall a good airport hotel but not a holiday destination.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fly_girl074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

For its pricing the quality of this hotel are pretty poor. In particular its service and room sizing let it down.
I was coming in on a transfer for only around 10 hours and booked a hotel driver to collect me from my flight, making sure to confirm by email. No-one came to fetch me and I had to call and wait 45 minutes for the driver, who when he did come, did not seem to be very apologetic. As a lone female traveller coming in at night, this was pretty disappointing.
The room was pretty cramped but clean and did a job.
Service in the restaurant was pretty slow and disinterested. The internet was quite slow. The fitness centre was small but servicable and had a great view. Leaving early for a morning flight, I struggled to get the bill made up and my driver organised - not ideal on such a short stay especially when both were requested in advance.
Overall I could not recommend it, especially at the price.

Room Tip: A non-park room has a view of the motorway and office buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCOSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here recently and found the staff friendly, hotel was spotlessly clean, modern and comfortable room with high speed wifi and lovely food.

I would recommend staying here to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
142 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel when it first opened, in 2009. Well, it's 2012, and it seems as if this place has not been cleaned since 2009.

It looks tired. People are lazy and rude. Food is awful. Everything happens very very slowly.

Asked to arrange transportation to the airport the night before departure. Yes Sir. Of course Sir. 5:30 am. Airport? What airport? Taxi? What taxi? Don't know nothing. Here's a hotel shuttle, which will cost you ONLY $30. Really? Only? It costs $10 to go to the airport. That is if I'm in a benevolent mood.

The unfortunate part is, Nairobi is not really a place with good hotels, these days. Every place is in a desperate need of being refresh. Rumour goes, the Intercontinental has a renovated wing, but since I wasn't there, I wouldn't know.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrSavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#46 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing