We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Expensive rate for average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ole Sereni
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expensive rate for average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This hotel is coined one of the better ones in Nairobi. One of the main reasons that I chose to stay here is due to Ole Sereni checking out as one of the best when safety and security is taken into account. The hotel is located only about a 10min drive from the airport depending on the time of day and traffic congestion. The rooms are equipped with the basic amenities of a comfortable bed pillows and duvet, 29" television with a few english channels, a desk, telephone (in bathroom and on desk) and basic travel sized toiletries of shower gel, shampoo and body lotion. Some of the rooms overlook the stunning view of the game reserve where giraffe, wild boars and gazelles can be seen on occasions while others look onto a dusty road. The food and drinks are prepared fresh and to a high standard for an affordable price averaging £12- £20 for an evening meal. The staff are mostly pleasant and very accommodating and alway willing to teach you about Kenyan culture or Kiswahili. The highlight for me was the opportunity to get the most amazing full body deep tissue massage by therapist Joan for a mere £25 followed by the hospitality and friendly natured Jorim offering relaxation aromatherapy sessions in the spa and sauna. The facilities include a swimming pool and bar area that also overlook the safari game resort and hosts a customer appreciation evening every Thursday with free drinks and nibbles from the grill.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the safari reserve for more picturesque view to Nairobi Kenya. When booking airp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    407
    165
    61
    50
See reviews for
110
211
58
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is convenient for the airport and uses its location next to a game reserve very well.

The rooms are a little narrow but fully functional with comfortable beds and pillows. I alas had a city view room but got to enjoy the views from the pool.

Breakfast was decent and the food menu covered a wide variety. Service is adequate for this part of the world, things get down in a leisurely pace.

Overall a good airport hotel but not a holiday destination.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fly_girl074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

For its pricing the quality of this hotel are pretty poor. In particular its service and room sizing let it down.
I was coming in on a transfer for only around 10 hours and booked a hotel driver to collect me from my flight, making sure to confirm by email. No-one came to fetch me and I had to call and wait 45 minutes for the driver, who when he did come, did not seem to be very apologetic. As a lone female traveller coming in at night, this was pretty disappointing.
The room was pretty cramped but clean and did a job.
Service in the restaurant was pretty slow and disinterested. The internet was quite slow. The fitness centre was small but servicable and had a great view. Leaving early for a morning flight, I struggled to get the bill made up and my driver organised - not ideal on such a short stay especially when both were requested in advance.
Overall I could not recommend it, especially at the price.

Room Tip: A non-park room has a view of the motorway and office buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCOSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here recently and found the staff friendly, hotel was spotlessly clean, modern and comfortable room with high speed wifi and lovely food.

I would recommend staying here to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
142 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel when it first opened, in 2009. Well, it's 2012, and it seems as if this place has not been cleaned since 2009.

It looks tired. People are lazy and rude. Food is awful. Everything happens very very slowly.

Asked to arrange transportation to the airport the night before departure. Yes Sir. Of course Sir. 5:30 am. Airport? What airport? Taxi? What taxi? Don't know nothing. Here's a hotel shuttle, which will cost you ONLY $30. Really? Only? It costs $10 to go to the airport. That is if I'm in a benevolent mood.

The unfortunate part is, Nairobi is not really a place with good hotels, these days. Every place is in a desperate need of being refresh. Rumour goes, the Intercontinental has a renovated wing, but since I wasn't there, I wouldn't know.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrSavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

After a hussle and stressfull time at the Nairobi International airport it is pure bliss to enter at Ole Sereni inNairobi.

Warm welcome, great reception staff who are very patient, well spoken and truly aim to make your stay a better one.

The views from the Safari park facing rooms is amazing. Seeing wildlife from the comfort of your room is truly relaxing and an absolute must when you visit this hotel. Ask to get a room facing the park. It is really worth it!

The food and service are very good making the overall experience a great one. I will most defenatly return to this hotel.

Early breakfast and courtesy van to the airport in the morning just gave the whole stay a very nice ending.

Room Tip: Try getting an upgrade to the safari facing rooms. Its defenatly worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We recently stayed one night at this hotel, booked because it was near the airport in Nairobi. The hotel looked grand as we pulled up and walked to the reception area. From there on things went downhill fast. The reception clerk had difficulty with our reservation and it took quite some time to get a room. The room was small and lacking in any sort of charm. As we left to go to eat, a guest service representative wanted to know what we thought of the hotel. I explained that we had just arrived and perhaps he should ask us later. However, he kept dancing around in front of us demanding an answer. The dining area was thick with staff, so we were surprised by the almost total lack of service. The menu arrived an hour after we did. We ordered drinks and after asking for them again three times, a single glass of wine arrived. Further enquiries elicited my husband's drink. We had also ordered a coffee. They brought the cup and my husband had to ask for some coffee to go with it. The coffee arrived much later and was stone cold. We finally persuaded a manger that we wanted to order food and some 20 minutes later the order was taken. A further 55 minutes elapsed and then 2 waiters tried to serve us with meals that we had not ordered. One of them was insistent that it was our order. The other just sighed and walked back to the kitchen. When our food did arrive it was cold and had to be sent back. Further drinks were ordered and did not appear. The bill contained charges for the drinks not received and for service charges on items not ordered and the bill had to be sent back as well. The manager told us that we had to pay service charges by law. My husband told them that it anyone was to receive a tip it would be his wife. (I had to set the table as none of the staff seemed to be willing to do it).
So no, we do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarionC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#43 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing