We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderfully peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #19 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderfully peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here recently and found the staff friendly, hotel was spotlessly clean, modern and comfortable room with high speed wifi and lovely food.

I would recommend staying here to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    429
    175
    68
    53
See reviews for
120
228
62
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
142 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel when it first opened, in 2009. Well, it's 2012, and it seems as if this place has not been cleaned since 2009.

It looks tired. People are lazy and rude. Food is awful. Everything happens very very slowly.

Asked to arrange transportation to the airport the night before departure. Yes Sir. Of course Sir. 5:30 am. Airport? What airport? Taxi? What taxi? Don't know nothing. Here's a hotel shuttle, which will cost you ONLY $30. Really? Only? It costs $10 to go to the airport. That is if I'm in a benevolent mood.

The unfortunate part is, Nairobi is not really a place with good hotels, these days. Every place is in a desperate need of being refresh. Rumour goes, the Intercontinental has a renovated wing, but since I wasn't there, I wouldn't know.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrSavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

After a hussle and stressfull time at the Nairobi International airport it is pure bliss to enter at Ole Sereni inNairobi.

Warm welcome, great reception staff who are very patient, well spoken and truly aim to make your stay a better one.

The views from the Safari park facing rooms is amazing. Seeing wildlife from the comfort of your room is truly relaxing and an absolute must when you visit this hotel. Ask to get a room facing the park. It is really worth it!

The food and service are very good making the overall experience a great one. I will most defenatly return to this hotel.

Early breakfast and courtesy van to the airport in the morning just gave the whole stay a very nice ending.

Room Tip: Try getting an upgrade to the safari facing rooms. Its defenatly worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We recently stayed one night at this hotel, booked because it was near the airport in Nairobi. The hotel looked grand as we pulled up and walked to the reception area. From there on things went downhill fast. The reception clerk had difficulty with our reservation and it took quite some time to get a room. The room was small and lacking in any sort of charm. As we left to go to eat, a guest service representative wanted to know what we thought of the hotel. I explained that we had just arrived and perhaps he should ask us later. However, he kept dancing around in front of us demanding an answer. The dining area was thick with staff, so we were surprised by the almost total lack of service. The menu arrived an hour after we did. We ordered drinks and after asking for them again three times, a single glass of wine arrived. Further enquiries elicited my husband's drink. We had also ordered a coffee. They brought the cup and my husband had to ask for some coffee to go with it. The coffee arrived much later and was stone cold. We finally persuaded a manger that we wanted to order food and some 20 minutes later the order was taken. A further 55 minutes elapsed and then 2 waiters tried to serve us with meals that we had not ordered. One of them was insistent that it was our order. The other just sighed and walked back to the kitchen. When our food did arrive it was cold and had to be sent back. Further drinks were ordered and did not appear. The bill contained charges for the drinks not received and for service charges on items not ordered and the bill had to be sent back as well. The manager told us that we had to pay service charges by law. My husband told them that it anyone was to receive a tip it would be his wife. (I had to set the table as none of the staff seemed to be willing to do it).
So no, we do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarionC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel several times as, unfortunately, I don't have a choice as my company puts me up here. locations is so and so, yes you can enjoy a view over the wildlife park, but that's about it. Interior decoration in public areas are ok but not exceptionally great, with kitchy statues. The staff is very unfriendly, even rude and sooooo unmotivated. It might have to do with the Indian management of the hotel who doesn't treat them well, although the prices for this hotel are way over priced..... The rooms I stayed in ( several different ones) are generally dirty, small and limited in comfort. the doors to the balcony are of very poor quality and o not open or lock the way they should. Your toilet is cramped next to your shower in some sort of cubicle. Hot water might be available but is certainly not on a constant flow with little pressure on the shower. the AC is of a very poor quality as well and not sufficient. Sheets were not too clean and there are a lot of dustflakes and hairs ( yekkie) in the corners and under the bed ( I don't think they replace the beds to clean...) the wifi is very weak in the rooms and disconnects on a regular basis. The hotel have limited facilities and a shuttle to downtown should be an added value. The food is not very good and pleasd do not have a look in the wet kitchen or other staff only areas, as you might not be hungry at all anymore..... I would not recommend this hotel at all... Stay away from here

Room Tip: No room is worth the price, avoid to be on the 4th floor on Thursdays as they have "functions&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
176 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The point of the Ole Sereni is that it is very close to the airport and therefore is used by airline crews or those with short stopovers.

For those it is a good choice. It is situated is outside of the CBD in a quiet location about 10 minutes drive from the airport. The public area are very nice with a large comfortable bar and massive terrace overlooking scrub land. The y say you can see wildlife from there but I did not.

The room was less impressive, a very hard bed and sparse furnishings. The sink was in the room and the toilet and shower (no bath) in a curious glass cubicle. Still an effort is made by the hotel, the towels are all presented with a hotel wrap around ribbon, a chocolate is on the bed, free wifi (not that quick), mini bar and decent bath amenities.

The breakfast was nice and started very early (5.30am).

The main problem for me was a bad night's sleep thanks to the rock hard beds and quite a lot of noise.

There are much better hotels in Nairobi (the Serena is a proper 5 star) but for a layover between flights the Ole Sereni is fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbgandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Don't be fooled by their own publicity about views of the Nairobi Game Park and suggestions that some royals have been pleased with the place. The view of the game park from the outer edge is of nothing very much - certainly no game, although local people walking along the path on the outer side of the fence may help to scare animals away.
The restaurant was overpriced and the food was very average.
The noise in the corridor outside our room in the middle of the night was a real nuisance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRALIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#44 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing