We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for an airport hotel”
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #17 of 165 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Not bad for an airport hotel”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The point of the Ole Sereni is that it is very close to the airport and therefore is used by airline crews or those with short stopovers.

For those it is a good choice. It is situated is outside of the CBD in a quiet location about 10 minutes drive from the airport. The public area are very nice with a large comfortable bar and massive terrace overlooking scrub land. The y say you can see wildlife from there but I did not.

The room was less impressive, a very hard bed and sparse furnishings. The sink was in the room and the toilet and shower (no bath) in a curious glass cubicle. Still an effort is made by the hotel, the towels are all presented with a hotel wrap around ribbon, a chocolate is on the bed, free wifi (not that quick), mini bar and decent bath amenities.

The breakfast was nice and started very early (5.30am).

The main problem for me was a bad night's sleep thanks to the rock hard beds and quite a lot of noise.

There are much better hotels in Nairobi (the Serena is a proper 5 star) but for a layover between flights the Ole Sereni is fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbgandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    519
    201
    73
    67
See reviews for
162
281
77
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Don't be fooled by their own publicity about views of the Nairobi Game Park and suggestions that some royals have been pleased with the place. The view of the game park from the outer edge is of nothing very much - certainly no game, although local people walking along the path on the outer side of the fence may help to scare animals away.
The restaurant was overpriced and the food was very average.
The noise in the corridor outside our room in the middle of the night was a real nuisance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRALIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bromsgrove
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My family of 4 ,stayed at this hotel,for 2 nights at the start of our holiday, and 1 night at the end of a memorable 11day .adventure/ experience/ safari drives,/ also mombasa etc,
The staff ,all of them, Doorman, Reception, front desk, Restaurant, were very helpfull,pleasant, it was a pleasure to stay here,
The food was plentyfull, cooked as you wished, Try, Kenyan Tea it's a must when it's done properly,
Very clean rooms, & spacious

Room Tip: Try not to have rooms 202 / 212, these rooms are above the bars, and the music seeps thro the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raytaximan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2012

After reading some of the reviews I was note quite sure what to expect from this hotel but I was pleasantly surprised. Despite the reviews that said check in was extremely slow we were all checked in within no more than 5 minutes and found the staff to be exceptionally helpful and not rude in any way whatsoever. I do agree with the other reviews about the beds not being the most comfortable and, if you are staying in a park facing room there is a bit of noise as the restaurant is right below and, of course the would like patrons to have a nice view so very hard to please everyone. Overall I thought the hotel was very tastefully decorated and would not have liked a long journey into Nairobi for a different hotel as this one is very convenient to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hapicampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My wife and I are a bit bemused by the negative reviews of this hotel, as our stay was very very good. Be sure you get a room overlooking the park, although i think the chances of seeing wildlife are few. The location is great and as we arranged for our airport taxi driver to pick us up each day on a daily rate we had no problem getting to see the sights. We were quite surprised that the prices in the bar and restaurant were comparable to back home in NZ - good value. The staff were friendly and helpful, and we had no complaints about the room or the faciiities. I would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ergopro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

While it's a convenient and pretty place to be Ole Sereni is more of a hassle than it's worth. Try other places around the area before you come here. The service is lousy, even rude. The food could do better as well.

Room Tip: It's worth it to drive a bit more into city centre and select from the myriad of good hotels the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

A modern Hotel that has excellent service, well prepared food and is extremely handy to the Airport. It is not in the downtown Nairobi area which, depending on your travel plans, can be a good thing. (Traffic in Nairobi is brutal). The rooms are very clean, modern and equipped with AirCon. The business centre, including use of a computer and wireless access, are completely complimentary for Hotel guests. The only thing that could be improved is the pool area which could benefit from a few more amenities.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Augrabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.2 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#13 of 165 in Nairobi
795 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Lazizi Premiere
The Lazizi Premiere
#18 of 165 in Nairobi
93 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 165 in Nairobi
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#6 of 165 in Nairobi
638 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#5 of 165 in Nairobi
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing