We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One fantastic night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #18 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Holland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One fantastic night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Spend our first night of our honeymoon in this hotel.
Its absolutely a first class hotel, clean corridors, nicely furbished bar and sitting area.
The room we had (214) was very nice aswell. It was covered from top till bottom with rose petals. Complimentary bottle of wine and a delicious chocolate cake and I almost forget the chocolate covered strawberries, absolutely wonderful.
The bed is nice and big and the shower, in the bathtub was very nice aswell.
Breakfast was plenty of choices.
We just stayed here one night but if I ever come back to Kenia this hotel is on the top of my list of places to stay at in Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    415
    172
    65
    51
See reviews for
117
218
60
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Clean, convenient location (near airport). Restaurant is OK. A little pricey for Africa. Not much to look out of the windows. Recommend if staying for overnight between the flights.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank InnAtSweetWaterFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Great location, 10 mn from airport. Food OK, nice buffet breakfast, for Dinner a various (african) menu.
Room: Superiour room a bit small for couples, ok for singles. View though of superiour room is lousy so please order deluxe room and have national park view!
Be sure to specificically order a room ready at your preferred arrival time becasue my room was ready at 1130 PM!!! Not nice, waiting 3 1/2 hours in the Hotel after an 8 hour flight!

Room Tip: Deluxe room has national park view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

The Ole Serini is perfect in many ways. the location, close to the airport is ideal-- and important for those who haven't visited Nairobi. In my view, it is better to fight the horrible traffic when you have to to go downtown, but it is much easier to reach the airport and more quint than the hotels I have stayed in downtown. The hotel itself is spectacular, and deluxe rooms, which face the game preserve (which was devoid of animals while I was there) are a better choice than those facing the Mombassa Road.
The problem is the service. While employees were often very pleasant, there are serious problems. For example, I went on safari one day, leaving at 7 am and returning after 8 pm, to find my room had not been made up. I had problems with the (free) wifi twice and was promised that help would come to my room, but they never appeared. I asked for bottled water, was promised it, and it didn't arrive until after two calls and 1.5 hours.
there are far better choices for service, but the location is very good. I would caution visitors to think very carefully about staying downtown given the traffic delays if they have to travel.
If they improve the service, this could be #1

Room Tip: Great for rest before onward travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonBeachGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed last week on a 4 day trip to Nairobi. As visiting near the airport didn't bother with downtown and with it being my first trip, didnt want to bother with the roads in and out every day. I'd say a 10-15 min drive from the airport.
Accomodation is good and pretty standard for the majority of trips I go on, Had a deluxe room facing the park and saw some antelope on one afternoon and a lone giraffe on another day. Room had a double bed, shower room , separate sink area safe, flat screen tv etc etc.
Security is noticable if not overbearing, checks on entrances to the hotel in your car and at the front entrance whilst room key also unlocks the doors to each of the room hallways.
Bar area is good, you can sit inside where there is usually sport on the telly or outside and view the park.
Restaurant for breakfast is good, plenty of choice fruit, cereals or cooked to order whilst the coffee will give you a good pick me up in the morning. In the evening its also a good standard I went for the Indian cuisine and it was very tasty. My only negative comment was the restaurant service leaved a little to be desired , once waiting an hour from sitting down to getting served but thats liveable especially with a large glass of Tuskers!!!.
Also tried the pool, certainly a little small but ok to get a workout or just a dip.
I'd recommend it if your here for a week or less and dont want to bother with downtown, you can always catch a cab and do that a couple of nights. Lastly, if your into taking gifts home there is a decent gift shop opposite the bar, i thought i'd do better at the airport but the shop is certainly competitively priced and I wished i'd sorted my take homes there than at the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the park are nicer to view than the other side (road) but you can be woken or kept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gully777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed here last year and was still finding its feet, missed the opportunity in Jan 2011 as they were full so stayed at a very grotty hotel in the centre. Glad to say booking early paid off and stayed for 1 night. The hotel is very well located for me as my customers are on the airport road into town also where the hotel is situated. The staff are generally friendly, the hotel is clean and is probably one of the more up to date with modern facilities, free wired/wifi, nice pool area, gym with good equipment, breakfast and tax included in my rate and an upgraded deluxe room with a view over the national park. Unfortunately no game when i was there apart from afew kudu and an osterich. I have already booked in for 2012 and would recommend it to any traveller. Another plus is it avoids the major traffic conjestion that you will experience during rush hour when staying in the centre.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have baths with shower over and views of national park, superior rooms have walk in sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

HOTEL AND ROOM- The hotel overall is very good and is located on the edge of a game park so many of the rooms have a very nice view. On several occasions I have seen some wild life, buffalo, giraffe etc. etc. The rooms are clean and fairly plain in design but things such as the curtains and upholstery could do with a good wash. The mattresses are fairly firm too which does not suite everyone. Many of the rooms only have a walk in shower and no bath. Each room has a kettle with tea and coffee on offer for free. All shower products are also avaliable in your room. The main problem with the rooms are the doors, they dont close, they all slam and this can wake you through the night and when cleaners are working during the day.

SERVICE AND STAFF- The food in the hotel is nice and not too expensive, it offers both European and more traditional African options. The main problem with this hotel is the service, its honestly the slowest service i have ever experienced, i don’t believe you should have to wait over 1 hour 30mins for a sandwich and this isn’t the case on just one occasion, the service is slow every time i stay here. Having said this, the staffs are mostly very friendly and helpful.

LOCATION AND EXCURSIONS- The hotel is located about 15mins from the airport, just off the main highway into Nairobi. They do have their own transport which you can pay for at the front desk and the driver will stay with you while you visit your attractions. There is a few tourist areas you can visit such are various Animal orphanages and I’m sure you can book Safaris though the hotel, but i have never done this myself.

Room Tip: Book a game park view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMember59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 557 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#46 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing