We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasant and convenient to airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
ithaca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant and convenient to airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

This was my second stay at the Ole-Sereni. I have chosen to stay there instead at my normal choice, the Intercontinental, because my trips to Nairobi are usually just a couple of days and it is very convenient to the airport. Getting downtown can often take an hour, but, it's 10-15 minutes from the Ole-Sereni. The hotel is clean, pleasant,in a nice setting, and with a good breakfast and buffet lunch. Rooms are pleasant, the beds are very firm (some may say hard), bathroom modern, good climate control, and have all the basic amenities. There is also free wireless, in contrast the other options in town. It is also far less expensive that the Intercontinental (or the Norfolk where I also sometimes stay). It is not as luxurious, and the service is not quite as good. But the staff is all very friendly and helpful. It is also quite a relaxed atmosphere. This is an ideal hotel for those taking a rest day prior to or after Safari, or those who are in Nairobi for a short business trip where airport access is important.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank des16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    450
    177
    70
    58
See reviews for
133
242
65
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Accra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Got greeted by lovely smiles from the Ole Sereni staff. My first visit to Kenya but very impressed with the level of professionalism by the hotel staff. A top notch hotel, with top class service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 25Survivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

When we first got here the hotel could not find our reservation which we had made on the hotels' website. I had actually even made two, one of which I wanted to cancel, but couldn't as the website was down (they couldn't find any of them). I had to forward them the e-mail whereupon they made a new reservation at the rate specified in the e-mail. They sorted all this out, so no problems really, but might have been more of a problem if the hotel was fully booked. Don't know if this is a recurring problem.

Anyway, the hotel is fantastic. Both the premises and our room were very, very clean and well maintained. Wi-fi in the room was somewhat unreliable, and as I am writing this my computer is blinking from the power coming and going. After calling housekeeping they promptly fixed what we had asked for. Breakfast is incredibly tastefully prepared with something for everyone, accompanied by a man playing the grand piano. Other seating areas are plentiful, with a variety of restaurants on the premises. Pool area looks nice, although it is too cold to use it now. The game park is no safari, but we've already seen giraffes and ostriches which seems more than one would expect in a big city.

Last, but not least the hotel is close to JKIA. There is no airport hotel in Nairobi, and this was the closest we could find. Although it is not an airport hotel, that was still what we were looking for, and therefore maybe partially expecting. And as far as airport hotels go, this one beats them all. A very nice place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldWide-EBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

was our final night of a great holiday - conveniant for the airport!!. Hotel itself is very nice although staff were efficient but not particularly friendly - perhaps that is the expectation from the large numbers of buisness guests.

Food was very nice and the view across the Nairobi national park was pleasant although easier to spot airplanes than animals when we were there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pog_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

My babe came back again early last month because apparently he cant keep away from his woman and the beautiful county Kenya....Anyway thistime round I didnt get any days off work and thought his visit was going to be a disaster since we wouldnt be able to go far.

Wechoose to stay atOlesereni located on Mombasa road and a few minutes away from the Airport,this turned out to be a great spot as it was also a few minutes away from my place of work.

The hotel has managed to brong together the feeling of being in the wildereness and city life together, They have a bar which doesnt have much activity, You have to love the live band which plays there on the weekends and you can also request a song and sing along!!

On the terrace they have beautiful girrafe carvings which bring out the Wild and at night you get to sit with a glass of wine, candles lit all around and see various animals pass you by, very romantic.

Their food is good, I especially loved pork chops and Chocolate fudge cake, ate it everyday.

The rooms are a bit small and there is no much space between the bed and the bathroom but all in all they were clean. What I loved most about the room is the fact that they all face the forest and through their ernonours windows one can see the wildlife at night.

The location was also convinient as I left work as usual and returned to my baby in the evening, We would go dancing at various nightclubs located not far from the hotel, I also got to take him to the famous Maasai Market to get some sourveniours to take back with him

We stayed there for 3 nights and would reccomend it for someone coming here for business.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgitndinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

The actual attitude of all the staff is very pleasant and can-do, but delivery is poor. In the week I stayed at the hotel, there were many instances of poor/no feedback and service.

WiFi in the rooms is weak and unreliable, which is not helped by numerous power failures.

The hotel is overpriced in every way, particularly food.

Attention to detail is poor and I experienced many examples - two small ones was that the price in the room service menu of the meal I ordered was different from the the price actually charged ( apparently as it came from a different source within the hotel - strange?) and the other that there was no TV guide. There were many small issues like this.

The design of the doors (slam shut) and the corridors, in conjunction with poor soundproofing from the corridors, makes it a very noisy night experience, especially if your room is close to the lift end of the floor

The location of the hotel is unfortunate for everything except if you are coming from or going to the airport. It is out of town ( higher taxi costs ) and horrific traffic congestion ( which is probably unavoidable anywhere you stay in Nairobi )

Room Tip: My room was well thought out and good. I believe they are all the same but ask one at the other end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GabrielaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

A recent solo trip through Africa landed me in Kenya, requiring a hotel overnight i ended up at the Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi. i say 6 STARS, perfect for business, pleasure, solo, romantic... it caters for all. the room are impeccable, the dinner and bar areas perfect for a vino to relax and take in a sun set, free good wifi, and a great gym to wake up the body ... the best surprise is the breakfast, brilliant buffet overlooking the national park.... with the eagle eye you will be able to enjoy some giraffe spotting as well.

Room Tip: be sure to ask for a room overlooking the national park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#13 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#46 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing